We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed April 28, 2013

stayed on 27th April for one night. It was a great weekend getaway. Rooms were clean, front desk staff is friendly. Beds are very comfortable. Hotel itself is overall clean.
Guest only hot tub is great. its only steps away from one of the wings.
On the other hand, public pool is 5 min walk(its inconvenient in cold). Also, public pool needs some serious attention. We brought our son floating tube, Pool staff didn't allow us to use it and there weren't enough life jackets for kids to wear.
Then, there was one life guard telling a older lady she can't sit in hot tub(public) in street cloths. She was wearing a t-shirt. He was loud enough that everybody heard him.
Beside,rudeness of staff at pool area, its a great hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pathfinderfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort. The safety of our guests is very important to us and abiding by policies is something our staff takes very seriously. We will forward your comment to the appropriate manager regarding the life jackets. Thank you for choosing Fairmont Hot Springs Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 574 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

did not appreciate beeing billed on my visa for the whole stay .... 7 days in advance.
dont forget the 20% on booking
and the tip machine defaults to 20%
the place looks run down now , needs some furniture polish on the wood .
very casual staff and no 5 star dinning ... not a table cloth in site. So if your in a the mood for a bit of a laid back , need a bed they will provide it. The spa was ok but nothing to write home about. Lacked the eligant touches of a fine spa. Price was high for the service provided.
The pools are old and in need of painting and cleaning .
The spring water was lovely and warm.

Room Tip: 565 has a washing machine above it that will keep you awake , stay in the 200 rooms away from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayBonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingManagerFHSR, Marketing Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Guest feedback is very important to us as we continually improve the experience, so we thank you for your comments. Our policy for advance charging on reservations is currently as you have stated; however, this is something that we are assessing in order to come up with a solution that's best for our guests and works efficiently for our Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the natural spring water and our facilities, which will undergo annual maintenance early May for painting and cleaning.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having you back for a visit at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend with friends, in a loft room and it was beautiful. The best are hands-down the best I've been in for a long time at a hotel/resort.

We ate in the Bear Paws restaurant throughout the weekend and the food was delicious. Sometimes a bit too much seasoning on things - but generally, excellent portion sizes and great value. The service in the restaurants wasn't the greatest, but we aren't too picky. Service throughout the resort was fabulous.

The Hot Springs and gym, sauna facilities were phenomenal. Usually I expect these features to cost more, as they do with other resorts, but this place- had it included. With all the other activities you can do, combined with the extensive spa - it just seemed great all around.

I had a wonderful weekend and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for the comment. We've been improving our Tracking Studio and Yoga Flow Studio to create a better guest experience, so we are glad you enjoyed the complimentary services. We will forward your comments about Bear's Paw Bar & Grill to the appropriate management.

Thank you very much for staying at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for a hockey tournament. Our room had a kitchenette and was an easy walk to the amazing hot pools. We were extremely pleased with our stay. The beds were wonderful, the room was a bit small, and the place felt a bit dated. The service was tremendous and they bent over backwards to ensure our team had a great experience. This is a great place for a midwinter getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralABFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex C, Marketing at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort. The guest experience is very important to us, so we are happy to see that you were pleased with the service, beds, and overall stay. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you and your family again very soon.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the 2nd time visit, and the 2nd time the front counter guy screwed up our booking!
We visited in November for the first time, booked through Hotels.com and paid in full, when we arrived, the front counter(shinny young guy dark hair with beard) told us they didn't get any booking from us, even we showed them the comfirmation letter, his comment was"sorry, I know you have the booking confirmation from Hotels.com but in our system you are not there, so you don't have a room, and if you need a room you need to pay again", so we were shocked by his comment, and told him to speak with his manager in the office, then he came back and apologized that he did screwed up, and didn't check well enough and he did find our confirmation.

So, this time, we visited again, guess what, same guy, same screw up! After 10 mins he finally "found" our booking, we asked him if the hotel was full, he said it was empty, so we requested a free upgrade room, and he said:"I would give you free upgrade if you booked through us at the reception, but since you booked through Hotels.com, I won't give you upgrade unless you pay for it"
Such terrible experience at the front counter of Fairmont hot spring resort! If I ever go back, I hope I would never see this guy again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DivingTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comment. Guest service is top priority to all staff at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, so we take your concern seriously and will ensure communication to our front desk team and management. Our partnerships with third party providers are important to the Resort and to many guests that arrive, so your comments will be passed along to ensure a better arrival experience next time. Looking forward to having you visit the Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We did not stay here- just paid to lounge in the pools. But we did talk to guests, who corroborated our overall impressions.

First, the positives. Nice location with views up and down the Rocky Mountain trench, with massifs rising almost directly behind the resort.

The waters are hot in the 'hot tub' area, not sulfurous, as is often the case with hot springs. There is a lap pool, set to 88 degrees F, which is a heavenly temperature in which to swim leisurely.

There were lots of people there on a late Friday afternoon, all enjoying themselves, it seemed.

I heard tales of ski/sleep/soak packages, and of legendary prime rib. But I suspect none of it really delivers. The ski area is a bit of a joke for all but beginners, lacking much terrain and an elevation drop of under 1000 feet.

The pool, which is so relaxing, also has peeling finishes, and actual loose chunks of concrete are to be found on the pool bottom.

The change rooms remind of a middle school washroom from the 1960's, with communal showers, quirky shower heads. Nice swimsuit centrifuge dryer though...

The ticket attendant had the enthusiasm of someone facing a long imprisonment.

The towels, rented out at $3 a pop, were actually threadbare and disintegrating.

The walkway from parking lot to entry gate was muddy and unkempt.

All of this is a pity, because it could be SO nice with a little extra attention to detail, and the infusion of some renewal capital.

With a name like Fairmont, it is easy to think there is a connection with Fairmont Hotels. Not so, it becomes patently obvious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Fairmont Hot Springs and thanks for your feedback. We continually strive to make improvements to all facilities of the Resort to make it a great experience for everyone. The family ski area is a great destination for those learning or looking for an enjoyable way to spend the day, the many restaurants offer a variety of food to suit everyone and the natural mineral springs with the beautiful views are a great spot to relax. Your concerns mentioned will be passed along to the management team as we continue to better the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you back at the Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I wanted to visit some hot springs and stay overnight somewhere with easy access from the hotel. Fairmont Hot Springs resort fits the bill as on top of the public hot pools next to the hotel there is also a private hot springs and spa area for guests only that you can easily walk to from one of the hotel lodge rooms. Warm dressing gowns are provided for walking around the resort though I was surprised there were no slippers provided for walking out to the spa (so many people bring their own). The price is arond 200 dollars a night and basically you are paying for the easy access to the spa and a good sized room. We did love the private hot spring. The Mountain view isn't quite as good as from the public spring but it is less crowded so more romantic. It is also much hotter than the springs at Radium. There are massage facilities you can book too.
But despite the spa we were very disappointed in the hotel dining facilities. There are mixed reviews on Tripadvisor about this. The dining room is extremely plain and looks quite dated. We did think of going there but we were told that despite there being empty tables there was an hour wait for food. They seemed unprepared for the hotel to be busy despite the long holiday weekend in Alberta with people coming over to BC. For 200 dollars a night you would expect the hotel to have a quality dining room. The pub section looked ok if you want something like pizza or burger. There was also a queue there (probably understaffed) so we drove 5 minutes to Hoodoo restaurant instead which was very good.
Before I booked the hotel I had asked about breakfast. I was told there is the buffet service but if you don't want the full buffet (which looked a bit expensive for what it was) you can order from the breakfast menu. However when we arrived the staff told us they don't allow orders from the breakfast menu when they are offering buffet! So instead we got something from the little cafe which was fine.
Overall very good spa but the service and dining facilities should be much improved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your visit to the Resort and comments. We are glad you enjoyed your hotel room, the Natural Springs Spa and the mineral hot springs. The amenities of the Resort and the dining options are core to the guest experience, so we will ensure your feedback is passed along to management and options are addressed. We look forward to your return visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
138 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
430 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
111 reviews
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: $87 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing