We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad front counter service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fairmont Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the 2nd time visit, and the 2nd time the front counter guy screwed up our booking!
We visited in November for the first time, booked through Hotels.com and paid in full, when we arrived, the front counter(shinny young guy dark hair with beard) told us they didn't get any booking from us, even we showed them the comfirmation letter, his comment was"sorry, I know you have the booking confirmation from Hotels.com but in our system you are not there, so you don't have a room, and if you need a room you need to pay again", so we were shocked by his comment, and told him to speak with his manager in the office, then he came back and apologized that he did screwed up, and didn't check well enough and he did find our confirmation.

So, this time, we visited again, guess what, same guy, same screw up! After 10 mins he finally "found" our booking, we asked him if the hotel was full, he said it was empty, so we requested a free upgrade room, and he said:"I would give you free upgrade if you booked through us at the reception, but since you booked through Hotels.com, I won't give you upgrade unless you pay for it"
Such terrible experience at the front counter of Fairmont hot spring resort! If I ever go back, I hope I would never see this guy again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DivingTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comment. Guest service is top priority to all staff at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, so we take your concern seriously and will ensure communication to our front desk team and management. Our partnerships with third party providers are important to the Resort and to many guests that arrive, so your comments will be passed along to ensure a better arrival experience next time. Looking forward to having you visit the Resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We did not stay here- just paid to lounge in the pools. But we did talk to guests, who corroborated our overall impressions.

First, the positives. Nice location with views up and down the Rocky Mountain trench, with massifs rising almost directly behind the resort.

The waters are hot in the 'hot tub' area, not sulfurous, as is often the case with hot springs. There is a lap pool, set to 88 degrees F, which is a heavenly temperature in which to swim leisurely.

There were lots of people there on a late Friday afternoon, all enjoying themselves, it seemed.

I heard tales of ski/sleep/soak packages, and of legendary prime rib. But I suspect none of it really delivers. The ski area is a bit of a joke for all but beginners, lacking much terrain and an elevation drop of under 1000 feet.

The pool, which is so relaxing, also has peeling finishes, and actual loose chunks of concrete are to be found on the pool bottom.

The change rooms remind of a middle school washroom from the 1960's, with communal showers, quirky shower heads. Nice swimsuit centrifuge dryer though...

The ticket attendant had the enthusiasm of someone facing a long imprisonment.

The towels, rented out at $3 a pop, were actually threadbare and disintegrating.

The walkway from parking lot to entry gate was muddy and unkempt.

All of this is a pity, because it could be SO nice with a little extra attention to detail, and the infusion of some renewal capital.

With a name like Fairmont, it is easy to think there is a connection with Fairmont Hotels. Not so, it becomes patently obvious.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Fairmont Hot Springs and thanks for your feedback. We continually strive to make improvements to all facilities of the Resort to make it a great experience for everyone. The family ski area is a great destination for those learning or looking for an enjoyable way to spend the day, the many restaurants offer a variety of food to suit everyone and the natural mineral springs with the beautiful views are a great spot to relax. Your concerns mentioned will be passed along to the management team as we continue to better the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you back at the Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I wanted to visit some hot springs and stay overnight somewhere with easy access from the hotel. Fairmont Hot Springs resort fits the bill as on top of the public hot pools next to the hotel there is also a private hot springs and spa area for guests only that you can easily walk to from one of the hotel lodge rooms. Warm dressing gowns are provided for walking around the resort though I was surprised there were no slippers provided for walking out to the spa (so many people bring their own). The price is arond 200 dollars a night and basically you are paying for the easy access to the spa and a good sized room. We did love the private hot spring. The Mountain view isn't quite as good as from the public spring but it is less crowded so more romantic. It is also much hotter than the springs at Radium. There are massage facilities you can book too.
But despite the spa we were very disappointed in the hotel dining facilities. There are mixed reviews on Tripadvisor about this. The dining room is extremely plain and looks quite dated. We did think of going there but we were told that despite there being empty tables there was an hour wait for food. They seemed unprepared for the hotel to be busy despite the long holiday weekend in Alberta with people coming over to BC. For 200 dollars a night you would expect the hotel to have a quality dining room. The pub section looked ok if you want something like pizza or burger. There was also a queue there (probably understaffed) so we drove 5 minutes to Hoodoo restaurant instead which was very good.
Before I booked the hotel I had asked about breakfast. I was told there is the buffet service but if you don't want the full buffet (which looked a bit expensive for what it was) you can order from the breakfast menu. However when we arrived the staff told us they don't allow orders from the breakfast menu when they are offering buffet! So instead we got something from the little cafe which was fine.
Overall very good spa but the service and dining facilities should be much improved.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your visit to the Resort and comments. We are glad you enjoyed your hotel room, the Natural Springs Spa and the mineral hot springs. The amenities of the Resort and the dining options are core to the guest experience, so we will ensure your feedback is passed along to management and options are addressed. We look forward to your return visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here in January 2013 for a birthday treat. We went mid-week and the resort was very quiet. We were actually looking for that and were happy about it. We made use of the outdoor hot pool for guests and walked around the lovely grounds. The Lodge (where we stayed) is in the mountains and the views really are spectacular. Our room was large and comfortable. Clean too.

I really appreciated the little things at the Lodge. For example, when we arrived I found a champagne glass full of fresh strawberries dipped in dark chocolate in the room. A card was attached wishing me a happy birthday. The after our evening meal, a beautiful cheesecake arrived with a sparkler atop. Again, birthday wishes from staff. At reception, too the staff made note of my birthday and wished me the best. Very nice.

The food at this hotel is superb. Try the Rocky Mountain Salad in particular!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pools rather than the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Happy belated birthday and glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort! We look forward to celebrating next year's birthday with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

my wife and our 16 year old spent 2 nights at fairmont. took advantage of an offseason promotion and got a $200 room for $100. very nice room. just steps from the soaking pools. lots of interesting short walks/hikes in the area (hot spring waterfalls, the indian hot springs, the hoodoos, etc). the pools were not crowded at all. i don't think it would be quite as nice when they were but we had a great time. no complaints

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarr0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A friend and I spent one night here in the fall, and it was absolutely beautiful. The service was superb, and the room was very quaint (cabin feel). The private hot pool was a nice treat for resort guests, although the main hot poool and diving pool were a lot of fun too. There is also a sauna and hot tub area inside for hotel guests which is very very relaxing.
I will say that the main pool gets very crowded, especially in the summer time, and it can be a little draining.

The restaurant service, however, was very bad. We had breakfast there and it was slow, and they didn't get our order right.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lovely view of the mountains and a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The setting is spectacular. The hotel staff is efficient and working hard. It is clean, nicely designed. Good food - a variety of options in the lounge, coffee shop or restaurant. But the pools are the star - if you want to swim lengths, tread water or soak in a hot mineral spa it is all there in a fantastic mountain setting. A short walk up a path to the natural 'baths' is fantastic! I want to move there!

Room Tip: 'Mountain-view' is really a view of the parking lot and large trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggypickerell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
140 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
440 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
112 reviews
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: $85 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing