We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

building had wood rot and poorly maintained. mold in rooms. beds were very uncomfortable and had lumpy pillows. we requested newer ones but they were no better. it is obvious the resort is not putting any money into the place to keep it up. we did get a nice view of golf course from room. i would not recommend this place to anyone. if you go you've been warned.

Room Tip: read several comments about the place..research research research
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jackedh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
76
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Ut.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were told we would have a corner unit which was larger than most - not true - I hope! I'm afraid we were very disappointed in our unit. Was dark and with no view ( except for parking lot) did not want to be in unit very much. Maybe that was the plan - go out and spend money? It really was to bad as the area around was very inviting but when you have a "cave" to go back to
its just not something we will do again. We seen where there were some of the units looked very nice with a balcony and more open interior. i guess it was our loss to be placed in one of the "B" units which we would give an "F". As described in other reviews the units are tired and in need of upgrading. The employees were sympathic but not willing to move us when we told them that we were not happy with our accommodation. Said they were at near full capacity and could not change our assigned unit. I really don't think that was the case -they just didn't want to have to
tidy up another unit. Unforunately it put a damper on an otherwise great get away and visit to our
friends to the north.

Room Tip: Don't accept a 1-bd "B" unit facing parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chewySTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Hillside unit 8011B (2nd floor) thru a RCI exchange with a Saturday checkin. I would have preferred a unit with a view of the golf course and a sunny deck for evening BBQs, but instead I had a view of the mountains, highway, parking lot, and morning sunshine with my coffee on the deck (not so bad). The keys I was given at check in would not open the unit. I drove back to the Rec Centre and was given 2 different keys, but only one key worked. The CD player didn't work and I could not get radio reception in the unit. The WiFi was very slow during the day, but worked okay at 3 a.m. I was happy with the full kitchen and brought all my groceries from Calgary. There was a toddler thumping around in the unit above me - drove me a little nuts! We took day trips to Cranbrook, Kimberley, and Invermere. I walked and walked around Fairmont - a great area for walking and hiking.

Room Tip: In building 8000 you do not want a ground floor unit facing the parking lot - no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with our kids and grandkids for a week in August. Resort is nice but tired and beginning to look neglected. Pool heater gave out on day two so we had a cold pool for the rest of the week. Also, if you do need to connect on the internet for any reason don't count on the wireless in the visitors center. Extremely slow and needs to be rebooted constantly. Go to Bishop's Coffee shop and bookstore up the hill - great Cappucino and fast internet. That's where you will see all of the Riverside folks checking their email.

Room Tip: try to get a view side room - otherwise you are looking at a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite with another couple for a week in late June. There was a pretty significant difference between the master suite with King bed, walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub and private deck vs. the junior suite which was a queen bed with private access to the main bath (shower only). We drew the short straw. Kitchen was reasonably well equipped and the LR & DR furnishings were nice. Overall the suite was quite roomy. Between the four of us we had golf clubs, mountain bikes and all our gear stashed in all corners and there was still plenty of room to move about on the rainly days we elected to stay in.
The Riverside course was closed for part of our stay due to high water, but the Mountainside course was open and was very enjoyable. The rooms are in a good location. Short walk up to the Hot Springs and the couple of restaurants & market near there., Plenty of wildlife to see. A good spot from which to venture out into the wilds, do some biking, golfing or other recreating.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor facing the 10th fairway. Hillside suites. South facing deck. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hewie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked our 1 bedroom suite in March for a one week vacation in August. Since that time, my husband had a medical condition and we found ourselves way more "home bound" in August than we thought we would and so we knew that seeing a lot of the sites around the area would not happen but we could still sit out on the deck, have coffee, enjoy reading, etc, so we decided we would still go ahead with the holiday. When we arrived, the front desk apologized right off saying we were in this suite for six nights and they would have to move us for the last night up two floors. We were also on the "B" side (ie no view). So we went off to find our suite. It not only had no view but it faced a large parking lot (largest one there say some 75 cars) and the cars were parked butted up to our patio which was dirty and stained. When we went inside, it was like a dark cave and we could not open our blinds very much to let light in because of the constant stream of traffic going past our Villa. The carpet was dirty, it had the "yuck factor". When we asked if we could change, they referred us to RCI and when we called they referred us back to the Villas saying they could not guarantee what kind of room we got. No one followed up with us until the last day when they said they "were still trying to see if we could stay in our same Villa for the last night". Because we had been clear with them 6 nights before that we did not want to stay in that particular suite, we realized they did not remember who we were and had not registered our concerns over the suite on the Sunday we arrived. However, they did move us that last night at our further request, and to a much newer Villa with a balcony we could use and a beautifully appointed room. We did so much enjoy the last day but really had to swallow our disappointment every other day of that week when we entered our "cave" so that we could still enjoy the holiday and much needed break. I'm sure the complication was that it was summer but never in our wildest imaginations would we have thought Sunchasers would even offer a room to its guests in that condition. Because it is such a lovely area and there are many amenities that Sunchasers offers, I would suggest being extremely clear on what room you are getting (Side A for sure, not lower level, for sure...)good luck.

Room Tip: As above, side A, not on lower level, in Riverside rather than Hillside (unless you can pick it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom B-side unit in building 5 on the third floor (no elevators). I mention this because all B-side units are not created equal (A-side units are larger and have a view of the golf course). We requested an A-side unit in advance, but upon check in were told there was not one available. There were only two of us, so the B unit worked fine. With building 5, we actually had a nice view of the mountains, but did face the parking lot. If you are on the ground floor in a B unit, you would be looking straight out at cars and don't have a very private area for sitting outside/barbecuing due to people coming and going from cars. We loved being on the upper floor since the view was nice and it felt private. We had a gas barbecue on the deck as well which was nice for cooking since the kitchen is tiny. There are two electric burners, a small sink, a dorm-sized fridge with a shoebox sized freezer (won't fit a litre from the duty free) and a 15 inch ledge across on the opposite wall with two stools beneath for sitting in lieu of a table. If you had more than two people staying, it would be very tight for meals.
The bathroom was large and came with a whirlpool tub, the bed was pretty uncomfortable but they do rent mattress pads that make them more comfortable - we didn't bother. The pillows are too thick and firm, so maybe bring your own if you don't like that. There are two washers and dryers in the rec center that can be used for doing laundry since B units don't have these (A-units do).
There is a playground outside of the rec center in the middle of the parking lot and a few tables and barbecues there as well. We did enjoy the stay, but were not wow-ed by the accommodations. It did make a nice base camp for activities like river rafting, hiking and golf that are all closeby. Lots of families vacation here, but we didn't mind having kids around since we were gone a lot during the day.

Room Tip: B units all overlook the parking lot, but up on the third floor the mountain view is nice from build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscany885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
13.9 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
22.2 mi away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#1 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Property: Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing