We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location for brunch”
Review of Cafe Melba

Cafe Melba
Ranked #23 of 83 Restaurants in Takapuna
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Top location for brunch”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited mid morning after team NZ were robbed by a time limit in the America's Cup! We were met and seated immediately and offered drinks. These came very quickly and looked (and tasted) fantastic! The food order was also taken quickly and food was delivered at breakneck speed. It was very good; well cooked and expertly presented. If I had a criticism it would be up selling. Our plates were cleared rapidly by the attentive staff team but no-one offered another coffee. It was a missed trick. Apart from that its a definite on the "will go back" list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Coffee, Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Cafe Melba in Takapuna always has great coffee, the barista makes interesting coffee art too! Their food is always cooked fresh and you get real value for money.
Would highly recommend a coffee and meal there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatP361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent lunches. I had battered Fish & Chips with salad. Three good sized pieces of snapper, more than enough good chips & very attractive salad. My wife had the special of the day; Smoked Salmon Salad, a very large heaped salad with many pieces of salmon. All very good in a nice airy position in the middle of the Takapuna Shopping center Very helpful staff and reasonably prompt service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food, service, coffee all perfect! You will be surprised by the gorgeous latte art!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my favorite lunch and coffee hangout! The staff are so welcoming. I've never had such a good tasting and fresh salad with meat. I got the dressing on the side in case it wasn't to my taste. Well, I would have licked the dressing container if no one was looking! YUM! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greatestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Melba also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Melba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing