We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family night out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Star Takapuna

Lone Star Takapuna
Ranked #33 of 79 Restaurants in Takapuna
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: New Zealand, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This stunning vista provides a most relaxing and pleasurable experience in our upstairs bar area. ‘Hauraki’ means “Wind from the North’, but even on the outdoor deck upstairs you are well sheltered from any draughty squall or gentle zephyr. If there is a slight chill however the deck has its own fireplace to warm up your hands and feet. With luxurious booths for that seductive drink away from prying eyes, we also offer a private function spaces where you can celebrate that special occasion. A full bar service is available, as is a menu to suit your requirements be it a birthday, work function, or weekend celebration. We also have a plasma screen to view the current sporting event(s) and all you have to do is e-mail or phone us, tell us what you require and we’ll take care of the rest. You can find us by travelling through Takapuna toward Devonport on Lake Road, and now you can access Esmonde road from offramps from both the South and the North on SH1 and from the West over SH1, opening up Lone Star to all of the North Shore. Children and families, you are most welcome, and don’t forget to tell us if it’s your birthday!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great family night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Took my family and grandchildren out for an evening meal. Great food, friendly staff great atmosphere. Advise booking a place.

The same problem occurred as in any popular eating place , you needed some earmuffs because of the noise of the patrons, probably because it seems so popular.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reliable Chain Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visiting friends in Auckland we dined here on a week night and the staff and food were excellent. We had young children and my daughter who is celiac and all were catered for accordingly. A great night out and although tipping not normally the kiwi way I did tip generously.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boardboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I like the menu here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Give that the food was delivered to the table then after a while they must have seen the kids eating with handset, better get those people some utensils, service was slow more so the time they took to get the next coarse orders, once ordered food was delived to the table timely, overall good food not a place to go if you are pushed for time

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved my meal at Lone Star! Went in with my partner for his birthday & enjoyed our meal. The setting was warm and inviting - and warm. A nice spot for a quiet dinner or with a group of friends. The staff were kind and professional and we were given a free dessert for my partners birthday which was very nice of them. Our second time here and will not be our last :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraAmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worst Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This restaurant needs more staff, those that are there are trying but just can't cope with the numbers coming in the door. After waiting 45 minutes and not having even ordered our mains we had to leave to go and find somewhere else to eat. We have been to other Lone Star restaurants around NZ and have had great experiences but not in Takapuna.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Takapuna also viewed

Albany, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Lone Star Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing