We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Takapuna”
Review of Thyme Restaurant

Thyme Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $61
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Thyme we offer just the right service for your occasion - we're quick and discrete when you're busy working and give you lots of attention when you're out to celebrate. Choose freshly cooked food from our seasonal menu If you're joining us for dinner, you'll be eating from the varied A La Carte Menu offering in-season, fresh local dishes. The menu also caters for a range of diets and includes vegetarian, gluten-free, dairy-free and low-carb options. As well as the A La Carte Menu, Thyme also offers a set-price Lunch Menu and the restaurant is open for Breakfast every morning. All of our restaurant staff are friendly, attentive and work hard to make your meal enjoyable. With live music 7 nights a week from 6.30Pm, Thyme Restaurant is the perfect place to celebrate special occasions.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Takapuna”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Thyme has an excellent chef and the food is very good. However, at 7 pm at night the advertised 'specials' had only one serving left which is appalling. White tablecloths , carpet on the floor and a pianist playing. Quite expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fanatastic lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Used a special deal voucher for my wife and I this week.
This restaurant is on the 1st floor of the Spencer & Byron Hotel.

Genuinely one of the best meals ever had in my life.
Starter:
Prawn and Avocado Cocktail with Tomato and Brandy Cream.
Perfect.

Main Courses:
Char grilled Sirloin Steak, Potato Mash, sautéed Cabbage and Red Wine.
Perfect, tasty and cooked as ordered.
Seared Fish of the Day, Spicy Lentils, Balsamic Wine Tomatoes and Virgin Olive Oil.
Very very nice.

Dessert:
Lemon Tart with Lemon Compote and Vanilla Cream.
This was sensational- as good as any dessert I have ever had - Truly sensational.

Food was genuinely fantastic - maybe we got lucky with the chef on the day - who knows. Food was so tasty, well prepared and presented impeccably. It was not over elaborate and decent portions to eat.
Service attentive, pleasant and efficient.
We will be back for supper and would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to others.

This is a genuine review from a simple customer. After the meal we actually went to the manager of the hotel to inform & complement such a fabulous meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Si D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, General Manager at Thyme Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hello Si D and thank you so very much for your wonderful review, I am so very pleased that you enjoyed your meal so much.

Come back again some time soon.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Attentive service & atmosphere is not enough”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Food was poor. May have been unlucky with the choices I made however the food was 'over -prepared' and the approach appeared to be trying too hard to be fifferent. (Eg. Gluggy weird sauce on prawns didn't work.)
Service was friendly and helpful ... atmosphere nice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I attended a business meeting at Thyme Restaurant last week and was extremely impressed
The service was very good (including a most knowledgeable and helpful waitress who made informed wine matchings.)
Most importantly the food was outstanding with my selection of the scallop entree followed by a the honey braised Mahurangi Duck Leg as a main being superbly cooked and delicious

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Deserves its high rating.....”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went to "Thyme" for our son's 50th birthday on February 1st. Our evening was a huge success, from the free parking at the door right through.We were greeted by maitre d' Yelena with a "happy birthday", shown to our table and introduced to our waitress Megan very promptly. We were given complimentary glasses of a decent bubbly to start us off, and the dinner was superb from start to finish, The menu was excellent, as was the wine list,and we all said we could have happily ordered anything, but our choices led us to believe that any order would have been great, the food was perfect in every way. Megan went out of her way to get a special fettucine made up for our 9 year old granddaughter, and was knowledgeable, attentive and friendly throughout. All in all, we were sure we had made the right choice and would certainly return any time, especially for a special occasion; its not a hotel "dining room" as some might think, but a great restaurant in its own right and a credit to all the staff . Takapuna is lucky to have such a restaurant in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme Restaurant also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Thyme Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing