We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to eat”

The Elephant Wrestler
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to eat”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been to the Elephant Wrestler several times, for dates with my partner or dinner with family members, and each time I've been very happy.

The food is always good, the lay out and atmosphere are great, and I've always found the waiters very friendly and helpful.

Can get quite busy later on in the evening, but if you turn up at a reasonable meal time it's great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcCruickshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    53
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“tasty food….but easy on the oil :(”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Popped in without a booking for a family sunday lunch.
I ordered the fish and chips which were fresh and a good portion size.
Some more salad as an accompaniment would have been great and another member of the group found a mezzo type sharer plate overly greasy with everything ordered arriving deep fried in a batter - they left half !
other food enjoyed was the thai salad and also the burgers with a cute side basket of chips.
The atmosphere was buzzy and the staff friendly.
However the flat whites need attention as they arrived slightly cold and overly milky….
A reasonable experience that with a few tweaks could be first class ...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dinner after work”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This place is much better than it looks from the outside! Staff are great. Does get too loud though but we were ready to leave anyway by then. The outdoor courtyard looks great for a group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Crowded, noisy, but a lot of fun with great food and wines”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went with some friends making a party of seven of us. It was obviously a very popular venue with quite a crowd there when we arrived. The service was very good, even though it was very busy, the food was also good and the NZ wine list was excellent in its coverage.
We'd certainly go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good meals and great venue”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I took a group of 14 from my work here for a farewell dinner. The food was good and the staff were brilliant. They catered for our needs really well and the venue accommodated us easily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K0neW0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant Wrestler also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Elephant Wrestler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing