We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Food Served Japanese Style!”
Review of Daikoku Takapuna

Daikoku Takapuna
Ranked #36 of 85 Restaurants in Takapuna
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Stewart Island, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic Food Served Japanese Style!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I'm Canadian, and I've never been to a Tepanyaki restaurant. Daikoku definitely impressed! The chefs were very nice and skilled, and were able to serve very well and entertain! Unfortunately, there was leftover oil dripping from the vents, however this did not affect our food as the chef cleaned it up.
The price was a little high, but it was worth it.
5 stars, and will certainly go again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iJessicaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food for regular visitor”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

As usual, Daikoku Takapuna turns up to provide a lovely night. Even though I have been a number of times, the Daikoku Delight (Chicken and Prawns) was as good as always! Entertainment with the Teppanyaki chefs is always good and some display the same tricks, they still can surprise you. A great night out with good food with a bit of entertainment on the side. Prawns and Yum Yum sauce a must!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I visited quite some time ago, in May. But i remember this place very well, because having the chefs cooking the food in front of you, it is an experience of its own. And also, it is very good value, plus it was all very tasty too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TR182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Also an experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Love this restaurant. Great for family outings. Lunch or dinner, both have good value for money options. Will continue to dine here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bottles15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good fun”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group of 6 for a family birthday, we had a great time, very entertaining, the food was nice enough, not the best food I've ever had but we all enjoyed it. The only thing to bear in mind is the tables are for 8 people so you may end up sharing, we had 2 others at our table and the must have felt quite left out. Would recommend it for a group. Personally I wouldn't go as a couple.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daikoku Takapuna also viewed

 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
North Shore City, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Daikoku Takapuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing