We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family spot close to beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emerald Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic family spot close to beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked one of the "villas" for a week of work/holiday with the family. The villa is quaint, very clean and tidy, and everything you need is provided. 50 metres to the beach, 30 metres to the Takapuna beach cafe and an easy walk to all the shops. Service was friendly, efficient and attentive. Facilities like the pool are getting a little tired, but that didn't effect our family enjoyment at all. We will definitely stay here again in one of the villas.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
34
33
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

great atmosphere and facilities. interesting room layout with the kitchenette, bed and spa bathe all in the same room. Unfortunatelty there was an unpleasant odour in the room each time we return from various activities. having said that it was still a good place to base oneself for restaurants and walks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Only stayed one night but found the room to be clean and comfortable and reasonably well laid out. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Inn is close to the Takapuna shops and the beach. Overall a nice motel like room with cooking facilities and tea and coffee making facilities. The only drawback is that the heating is not sufficient for the size of the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 4 weeks. We found staff and management first class, helpful and friendly, the rooms were well equipped very clean and in an excellent location for both down town Auckland (15 minute bus ride).and the centre of tankapunta. If your after a nice quite comfortable and relaxing time the emerald inn is ideal. 2minute walk from the beach

Room Tip: Started our stay in the appartments which were great but booked a villa and found that even better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifera49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Best selling point is the proximity to Takapuna beach. However, if you are bringing a big luggage, do remember to ask for a room at ground floor as there is no lift at all. The room comes with an electric heater and frankly during winter time it seems to be less promising to withstand the cold. Shower room is not designed for user-friendliness as there is no place to hang your clothes nor put toiletries. Wireless internet is charged based on usage and the room rate is a bit pricey, maybe due to its location. The Inn is near to shopping and dining areas however i tried out a few restaurants and the quality of food is so-so. If you are a die-hard beach fan this is the inn for you. Otherwise there are other better choices around.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KlIpaduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We found the unit to be extremely over priced not at all value for money. Our unit was very tiny tucked away by the garden shed. We would associate this with a 1970s style motel.
The shower provided no where to put your clothes or any where dry to stand and get dressed.
Ourselves and other family members would not stay there again.
Staff were polite and friendly and the unit clean.

Room Tip: Check out other motels first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank north5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was astonished when I took two American tourists, arrived on an early morning flight, to this establishment, only to find that it does not make any provision whatsoever for guests arriving before 7.30am. I had to leave them at a nearby coffee shop. I later phoned the management to discuss the matter and was told "So what - they knew about it..." Hospitality indeed

Room Tip: Try a more hospitable establishment
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Upon confirmation of all reservations details of guests arrival times are requested. Our check in time is midday. If guests are expected to arrive prior to this we would offer to look after their luggage for them at reception until their room becomes available. Check out time for guests is 10am and we always make it a priority to have rooms made up for guests who are waiting to check in. If they choose to take a walk to one of the nearby cafes we would request their mobile number to call them as soon as the room is available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
0.6 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.5 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn

Property: Emerald Inn
Address: 16 The Promenade | Takapuna, Takapuna 1309, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top quality beachside accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. 39 superbly appointed suites and motel units with kitchen facilities nestled amongst sub tropical gardens. Wireless internet, BBQ area, guest laundry, swimming pool and spa. Breakfasts available Mon-Fri. Takapuna, on Auckland's North Shore, is only 10 minutes from the CBD via the Harbour Bridge. The beach is recognized as one of Auckland's finest with safe swimming, sail boat hire and miles of glorious sand for walking or jogging. We also offer a luxury, 3 bedroom self contained holiday home (min stay 3 nights) and two bedroom villas (min stay 5 nights) - ideal holiday letting and short term rental accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Takapuna
Emerald Hotel Auckland
Emerald Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing