We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot, but bit pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emerald Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, but bit pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

Location was good for Devonport although noisy (Saturday night).
The units were surrounded by greenery which was fantastic, as you could sit out in the bushes on your own veranda.
Microwave,oven, hob, crockery and cutlery provided etc.
Thought it was a bit pricey but not much choice in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    19
    8
    7
See reviews for
34
33
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was a last-minute booking and we had no expectations, just looking for a bed for the night on our way through Auckland. We chose a room with a big spa bath and it was great - lovely comfortable bed, very clean and quiet (our room was tucked away from the road). The location is good, close to some nice places to eat, and a minute's walk from the beach and walkways. The only complaint I could possibly come up with was that we could hear staff talking loudly near the laundry in the morning, but when I walked past them later they were so friendly and all greeted me cheerily so I couldn't hold it against them!

Room Tip: Our room faced the beach away from road, so was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marianBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for 3 nts on each of 2 consecutive weekends for the Rugby World Cup Semis & Final. The place was full & there were many French people staying.

Our welcome from the receptionist was very warm & as we had previously requested a quiet room away from the road, were delighted with our room on the 1st floor overlooking the courtyard. The only noise we encountered was from the French. They were in the neighbouring house as well as next door to us. They had no conception of the time of day, at 4am I eventually opened our door & asked for quiet. It worked.

We had many conversations with Janice, to find her exceptionally helpful & find it difficult to understand the previous reviews.

The rooms are very comfortable, recently refurbished to a very high standard. We had a studio with basic self catering facilities, perfectly adequate to make hot drinks & breakfast. We will return as Takapuna is delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as the road goes to the beach & can be busy, particularly at w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

It's an OK place, good location. But you won't get much sleep because there is a yapping dog on an adjacent property. It barks all day and all night, and hotel management -- appropriately lambasted in other reviews -- is disinclined to show any initiative to take care of the problem/confront the owner. Shop elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Very nice location does make up for the less than friendly management. The receptionists are friendly and helpful, provided its not one of the owner/managers.
If you don't plan on dealing with the management, the location is great and the rooms are nice and kept very clean. Everyone in the area, visitors and locals, was very friendly and laid back. I tried avoiding any dealings with the sourpusses at the front office. I found that if you come across an employee at this, nicely located, motel who is over 50yo, don't expect much in terms of people skills. I actually thought the owner had a dislike for me, after reading some of the other reviews, I find I'm not unique. They are just not very happy people. Ignore them and you will love the area and the people.
The continental breakfast is $10/day and the lousy wifi connection is not included in the price of the rooms and a bit pricey. Very good selection of restaurant at a short walk. The town is not as touristy as I had feared, except the price of stuff. There are a couple of washing machines and dryers free for motel guest use, as of this writing. The Westfield mall is within a walking distance.
This was a business trip, but when I bring my family on my return trip, I'm not sure I would want them exposed to the management of this motel.

Room Tip: Location, location, location -- less than friendly owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErolYesin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the location of The Emerald Inn.
Your derogatory comments about "the management and sourpusses" are not consistant with our recent comments in our visitors book. In fact, over the past two months we have had nothing but positive feedback . One guest in particular told us on departure that he had travelled the world, stayed in a lot of places and seen a lot of things but never has he been made to feel as welcome as he was at The Emerald Inn. We have recent similar comments to this in our visitors book that will be posted on our website at the end of the month. I feel sure anyone taking the time to read these will be left in no doubt that this particular review is "out of the ordinary".
I am sorry this reviewer feels he has not had the same experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I politely pointed out to the unhappy people on reception that I had not had one smile from any one of them in my three day stay. The very deliberate rude response was the woman started sarcastically flashing fake smiles at me; while the man said "it must be you! because we have never had a complaint in 20 years".

However I can see that there are many other reviews about the same unfriendly reception. The point is he said this to me as handed over a pile of cash to pay them!....which makes me the customer. They are all so miserable and not sorry about it!

I just wanted to offer some feedback as whole of Takapuna was beaming with friendly kiwi people, with the exception of this place, and in return I copped sarcasm and insults.

I hope nobody comes to you because we have internet reviews to warn us about people like you now. It was over priced, and I was charged more than I was verbally quoted over the phone. I hope you go broke because of your terrible service!

Room Tip: Free for rude service right here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
I note this review was first posted on the internet in December 2009 - I am pleased to note this is not a recent review, however, I regret that your stay at The Emerald Inn did not meet your expectations. We have a number of very bright, pleasant staff both in reception, and housekeeping, who welcome our guests and are willing to assist them all during their stay with us.

On a regular basis we are congratulated on The Emerald Inn and the friendly helpful staff we have. I will post some of the latest comments from our visitors' book to our website to show that we are providing a service, may people enjoy and return to on a regular basis. We are not permitted to post these comments to this review forum.

Once again, I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Emerald Inn in January 2011 and we arrived at the motel late on a Sunday and were welcomed by the reception staff and shown to our upstairs room. The room had full cooking facilities and was very clean, well equipped with a balcony over looking the road. We could just see the beach 200 metres down the road.
The motel had an inner courtyard for parking, a swimming pool and small restaurant for breakfast. This was our first experience of self catering in New Zealand at the start of our holiday and it was to prove one of the best places we stayed.
It was ideally placed across the harbour from Auckland which can be reached by ferry from Devonport, a short drive down the road. There were excellent restaurants just a short walk up the road and an all night supermarket just 5 minutes drive away.
We thoroughly recommend the Emerald Inn and would return again if ever we come back to New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKL186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand has left you with many happy memories to take back home with you. We would love to see you again if your travels bring you back to Auckland.
Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
0.5 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.5 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
3.5 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn

Property: Emerald Inn
Address: 16 The Promenade | Takapuna, Takapuna 1309, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top quality beachside accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. 39 superbly appointed suites and motel units with kitchen facilities nestled amongst sub tropical gardens. Wireless internet, BBQ area, guest laundry, swimming pool and spa. Breakfasts available Mon-Fri. Takapuna, on Auckland's North Shore, is only 10 minutes from the CBD via the Harbour Bridge. The beach is recognized as one of Auckland's finest with safe swimming, sail boat hire and miles of glorious sand for walking or jogging. We also offer a luxury, 3 bedroom self contained holiday home (min stay 3 nights) and two bedroom villas (min stay 5 nights) - ideal holiday letting and short term rental accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Emerald Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Takapuna
Emerald Hotel Auckland
Emerald Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing