We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Shore Winner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stay here recently very good. Well placed apartment style accommodation on the North Shore, near Takapuna shopping centre ( 5 min. walk) to bars, restaurants , shopping, easy access off motorway . Good parking undercover /secure. Pleasant staff both helpful and efficient. Had a one bedroom suite - seperate bedroom with good sized en-suite. . Good small kitchenette enough to eat in if doing so. .Above average furnishings , comfortable bed - cleanliness also very good and a bonus if you are on the upper floors (10+) with great views of Rangitoto Island the harbour and the City skyline. Got a good wotif deal , would certainly stay again .

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views of course - city views the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccdzyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hello mccdzyne,

I enjoyed reading your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us!

I do hope you can find time to come back some day.

Best wishes
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 781 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

I attended a conference at the Spencer on Byron in July 2014 and stayed 2 nights. I booked a one bedroom suite on the 17th floor-the view was lovely looking across to Rangitoto Island. It was a lovely room with a great view, it had a full kitchen too. The room was spacious and I would definitely recommend it.
The bath was well needed at the end of a busy day and they gave you plenty of towels and toiletries, usually it's the lack of towels that annoy me.
The only negative was the shower screen was very poorly designed as the water leaked down the side and all over the floor.
We ate at the restaurant one night and had breakfast one morning, the standard was good.
The hotel staff were very attentive and the conference staff were exceptional. All round a very good experience.

Room Tip: Better view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed at the Spencer for two nights on business. What a lovely relaxing time!! The views are fantastic, the service outstanding and the breakfast buffet incredibly full. The gym and the pool are great amenities and the pianist at Thyme restaurant during the evening sets a beautiful atmosphere.

Room Tip: This is one of two tall towers in Takapuna every room seems to have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aleisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi Aleisha B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. We enjoy many visitors from the UK, who like you seem to really appreciate our location and environment.

I hope you get to return sometime soon, you would be most welcome.

Thanks again
Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights was in a good location and was very happy with the room we had. The room was very clean and was a good size. Heated pool was great in the cold weather. Our room had a great view of Auckland city at night was very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01Aussie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Well placed for my business commitments, although might seem a fair way from the airport for some. Room well appointed with all usual features. Bed comfortable, good TV coverage (watching Commonwealth Games). Room service (panini) was surprisingly good and promptly and professionally delivered. Full buffet breakfast included all you could possibly want - had some muesli, eggs and crispy bacon, washed down with a very acceptable cup of coffee. Nice surprise to have brekkie with the All Blacks !! (a good sign that the hotel is set up to attend to detail and meet customer requirements). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay while in country for business. Food was great, staff was very helpful and flexible. Front desk staff was more than accommodating when I had problems with my printer. I would recommend Spenser on Byron for anyone traveling to Auckland.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

For those looking for a professional and relaxing hotel and neighbouring surrounds when in Auckland you just can't beat the Spencer on Byron. It's a fantastic alternative to central city hotels because it's only 5 mins away, but in an area where there are beaches, a lake, cafés and shops. In addition, the rooms are large and include kitchen facilities, so it has hotel services with the flexibility for guests to prepare their own meals if they wish. The gym is well equipped and the heated pool and spa were top rate.

I've stayed here a few times now and truly believe that central city hotels just can't match the location of the Spencer on Byron. This is my first review of the hotel, as I still can believe how relaxed I feel when staying here and felt it was time to spread the word! To access the city, you can take the bus or a taxi across the harbour bridge ... It's as easy as that! But it's real advantage is that you just feel so relaxed in a hotel that's adjacent to Takapuna beach. So it's perfect for couples, families, holidayers and business travellers. We have witnessed people from all travel classes while we have stayed here, including the All Blacks rugby team.

We also took our 2 children this time around, using 2 rooms with a connecting door. It felt like a spacious apartment with kitchen, lounge, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. So families can also feel well accommodated.

Did I mention the views? Because you're not totally surrounded by buildings (as in the central city), you get wonderful views of either the sea and harbour islands, or the city.

Even though I have never travelled directly from the airport (I live in the greater Auckland region), outside of peak times I imagine it's easy (only slightly further than the central city). During peak times I'd check with the hotel as to what the best options are.

Truly superb and definitely recommended by this author. If you visit Auckland regularly and have never stayed here, it's well worth your consideration.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large kitchen and lounge if you wish to prepare some of your own meals. Sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
4.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,545 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Address: 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna, Auckland 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range: $124 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer on Byron Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer on Byron Hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing