We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale Hotel in an Trendy Community” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsville, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Upscale Hotel in an Trendy Community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

A great hotel to spend time in the Auckland area, just to the north of downtown Auckland. Beautiful rooms with views of the bay and beaches. Rooms very spacious and clean, comfortable beds, quiet. Very close to great pubs, restaurants and shops. Also close to very nice beach. Underground parking makes it convenient. Unlimited fast internet.
Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for room on a higher floor with water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie499270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    293
    117
    41
    20
See reviews for
124
249
48
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent only one night at the Hotel, but it was very peasant stay. First of all, the staff was excellent. We stayed in a city view room on 17th floor.... and what a view it was! The room has 2 queen beds, a kitchenette and a balcony. Room was very well kept. There is nothing bad I can say about our stay at The Spencer on Byron Hotel. Next time, we are staying there again, and not for just one night. Much Aloha from Hawaii!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Aloha and Kia Ora! Thank you also for choosing to stay with us, it gives me great pleasure to read and share your comments with our team.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Aloha!

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Spencer seems to be just managing to hold on to 4 stars than striving for 5.
There are some aspects which make the Spencer appear as if it may be the classy establishment is thinks it is - there are nice granite bench tops in the kitchen, the wooden furniture is of good quality, the outward appearance of the building is very nice and the location in Takapuna is excellent.
However ... it is certainly not without its faults. As many others have noted there is definitely a parking problem - of an evening it is with nothing but luck that you will find a parking space. The hotel is beginning to show its age - it would appear that since the hotel was built there have been no renovations to the rooms so they seem to have the best part of 20 years wear and tear on them.
The carpets are buckled and torn (there has been no underlay used), the sofa fabric is wearing through and the mattresses are likely the cheapest they felt they could get away with (they guessed wrong).
The bathrooms require the most attention - it does not take much money or effort to have grout cleaned or re-grouted - which really should be done, it is positively filthy. Our bathroom had some manner of smear on the walls - not a terribly conspicuous smear, but enough that you would wonder why it had not been cleaned.
The television in the bedroom was an old fashioned CRT TV (the big old cube shaped ones) that had an irritating flicker - not that we were there to watch TV, but really, flat screens really are quite cheap these days.

I think the long and short of it is this - this hotel serves a purpose for which it is probably turning a profit and will therefore likely continue on its same path - it is endeavouring to pitch itself as a semi-luxury hotel for busloads of Chinese tourists but its brand is likely being damaged by this short selling of itself. It could be much more - it has the location, it is in a very nice looking building - it probably needs to be better managed, Castle Resorts doesn't seem up to the job and seems to have neglected this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review.

I agree that parking at times is at a premium, particularly when we have many local guests who travel by car. This January was certainly one of those times. We have added additional signage which will help our guests and we do valet park cars when needed.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy our beds which have all been replaced over the past 3 years and are manufactured locally.

You will be pleased to know that all of our televisions in the bedroom area of our one bedroom suites will be replaced this year.

We do enjoy business from all over the globe including many visitors from Australia we do hope to be of service to many more to come.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again and show you how we have improved.

Thank you once again for your time.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We only spent one night here. It was a wonderful stay. Big living room, kitchen, with washer/dryer and a separate bedroom with balcony, and a nice bathroom. The pool looks out over the sky line of Auckland. You have to bring a room towel to the pool. Hotel was advertised with free wifi, but it was not available. 2 computers downstairs were free of charge. Breakfast, included in our room price, was wonderful, but at $32 pp normally, it would a bit pricey. Great selection of food though, with lots of healthy options. Car park was a bit confusing as not many spaces were available for hotel guest. Check in was easy and people very helpful.

Room Tip: We chose the cheapest room and had a beautiful view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maloofmieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel has all the right ingredients & facilities but I can't help noticing that a few things have slipped. On my last visit I didn't use the pool but a beautiful warm & sunny afternoon drew us down for a swim. I remember when the hotel opened, the gym, change room and pool facilities were a lot like an upmarket gym in the city but today you have to go back and get your room towels because there are none in the change room, everything is a little tired, some broken gear sits behind the deserted gym reception area and out at the pool the once immaculate shrubs and hedges in the pool garden have died, the pool cover has long gone and it all looks just a bit tatty and uncared for.

Too bad because we still love the elevated 360 degree views of the city and being so central and we hope that things at least stay the same.

Our stay was the day after New Years and the place was probably packed for the Sky City fireworks show the previous night. Still the staff are tops with welcoming reception and "hellos" around the building.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andybags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi andybags, Thank you for coming to stay with us once again and for leaving your comments. We aim to provide the best product and service we can but I understand and appreciate your feedback and we will work harder to improve our facility.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the views, they are very special indeed and I am very pleased to hear how friendly and welcoming our team were.

I do hope you will come back again and that you notice some improvements.

Thanks again.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were very impressed with the service , from Reception, Restaurant ,Bar staff all very obliging and helpful, and with the room /view on the 19th floor. We did ask for a room with a view on booking , but the view was breathtaking. A good experience and will stay again. Also great to have a good hotel which is not in Auckland central, but in the suburbs.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view, you wont be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hello Cher99 and thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am so pleased to read how much you enjoyed yourselves and you are right about the view....it is quite stunning.

Happy Anniversary to you both!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great location so close to Takapuna beach shops and great restaurants all in walking distance. We had a one bedroom suite on the 12th floor with 180 degree views of the sea. We really enjoyed our stay as room was great staff excellent and quiet even though we were central to everything. Will definitley be staying there again. Fabulous time away whether it be family romance or friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: The Spencer 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing