We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A safe bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Northland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A safe bet”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in a studio room, having previously stayed in a 1 bed suite. The room was large with 2 queen beds and spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I didn't hear a thing from elsewhere all the time I was there (room 1302). The room was also well away from the lifts. The bathroom did not have a bath but the shower was roomy and had great pressure. The view was looking out over to Auckland CBD and the marina and quite spectacular at night. I did not have transport (car in for service) for the full day I was there but there was plenty to do in and around Takapuna within walking distance. Recommended if you need to be on the North Shore. Transport links excellent, although the Auckland traffic was horrendous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    302
    121
    41
    20
See reviews for
126
257
50
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Back again and nothing has changed - it is still a great place to say welcome to Takapuna, Auckland, North Harbour.

The rooms are well appointed, the rooms clean and spacious, the small kitchenette well appointed and the views are brilliant. Views you can never get sick of.

Easy walk to down town Takapuna and the restaurant offers a good selection of various dinners all well prepared by the chefs, and bar are well stocked and offer great service.

Yep, great to be home away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustardeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We really appreciate your honesty, your time and your repeat business and I am very pleased to read that we are your home away from home and I look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Love the location close to beach and shops and Sunday markets. I am a local but occasionally have a mother and daughters getaway. I was a bit disappointed this time as I had paid the extra per day to have a rooms with Rangitoto views etc but was looking straight into the AIA building with a little bit of sea on either side. Parking in the basement carpark is very difficult and at times no parking for customers staying at hotel. Unfortunately this stay turned out to be a very expensive one as I did a considerable amount of damage to my car while turning around one of the concrete pillars in carpark that had a low metal unmarked surround !!. I was offered a free breakfast as I was leaving but could not accept at that time because I had to get away. Maybe a free breakfast voucher for 2 to be used later would be nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Sue and thank you for your repeat business, we enjoy many repeat customers and you are most important to our business.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not as impressed as you have been in the past and would very much like to talk with your directly so that we can learn and improve.

Thank you Sue, I look forward to talking with you and to welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

On the positive side, this is a good hotel with some great views and is located near Takapuna beach. Although away from the city it is not far to travel in outside of rush hours. The rooms were a good size and the staff friendly. My room had a kitchenette with a microwave and a toaster which could be useful.

Takapuna has some good shops, bars and restaurants and is only a couple of minutes walk.

On the negative side the hotel was fairly expensive, the ran out of the choice of food at breakfast if you came down after 8 and the room decoration is average rather than great.

Room Tip: High city views are good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

House Keeping. Standards not my cup of tea. on discovering the state of this room at almost midnite after a very long day, To be greeted with a musky damp smell in the room. then to sit on the bed before getting some sleep, looking directly into the bathroom at the level I was sitting seeing the filthy toilet that made me feel sick. being so tired at this stage, just shut the door .. For a 4 Star Hotel. Ponders the cleaning standards. Great location, enjoyed the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello Linda and thank you for your feedback. I am very disappointed to read that our cleaning standards did not meet your expectations, particularly as this is so important and top of our priority list. We have reviewed the situation and put plans in place to address this.

I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and our restaurant.

If you are returning I would encourage you to contact me (Terry Holt) personally so that I can look after you.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed two nights and had an amazing, relaxing time. The service was great and nothing was a problem. The price was really affordable and breakfast was thrown in as an extra. Close to excellent restaurants, movies, markets and the beach. We can't wait to come back when we get the chance! We have 5 small children so probably won't be any time soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leifbeau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lovely hotel foyer, bar and restaurant, however the rooms do not reflect the standard that is seen on entry and when dining. Lovely views from higher level floors. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired for a 4 star hotel; bed not made properly, toiletries not restocked, breakfast room order form not left in the room!! Internet connection is just too expensive! Restaurant food was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room at a high level (above 10) facing the Auckland harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer on Byron Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer on Byron Hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing