We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Kakanui, null, New Zealand
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and i stay in a lot of hotels/motels for business. I have been so impressed with this hotel over the past 3 days. The room is big and comfortable, with a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer included. The bed is massive and comfy and the staff have been so kind. We also have a 9 month old who has been very welcomed by all the staff. Really enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    301
    121
    41
    20
See reviews for
126
257
50
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Walking into the room your view is fantastic. You have a kitchenette, separate lounge bedroom and bathroom. Who ever designed the kitchenette did not believe in lights and the lounge was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever sat on. The combined kitchenette and lounge was a fairly large space so you had plenty of room. The bathroom was also a good size but the combined shower/bathtub was very small. With all the space in the bathroom the shower/bath tub could have been wider. I have stayed in other hotels with smaller bathrooms but bigger showers. The water pressure was great however, which meant I enjoyed the showers even if it was a bit tight. Plenty of cupboard space to hang up your clothes, though the bed and pillows were passed their use by date. Staff were brilliant and helpful. Have enjoyed staying at the Spencer since it first opened because of its location and facilities. Currently the rooms are now showing their age. A new lounge and bed is all it really needs to make the stay totally relaxing. The off street parking is a real bonus staying in Auckland however $50 for wireless use is a bit over the top. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Handy location and good price would appreciate that our instructions be considered when we book, also failed to respond to room service need
Have stayed before good location
Will come back but would appreciate better service level next time

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Owner at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Steve, thank you for your comments, I would very much like to talk with you to learn more about your experience so that we can improve. I will be in touch. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have stayed at this property before and went back again this last weekend.
Hotel staff were friendly and approachable. Had a separate lounge and bedroom which was better than the studio I had previously stayed in. Stayed on the 17th floor and the views were totally outstanding. Enjoyed everything about my stay and would go back again in a heart beat. Thanks for making my weekend so lovely

Room Tip: Choose a One bedroom and ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Debby, so nice of you to take some time to post a review about our hotel, we very much appreciate your repeat business and your comments. We hope to see you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband normally stays here for business but it was my first time here. The rooms are huge and well appointed, although a little dated. We had a separate sitting room, kitchen and bedroom, although the couch was very uncomfortable. The view from our 16th level room was amazing. Breakfast was stock-standard for a hotel. 2% for paying by credit card was steep so you're better off paying cash or eftpos.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Perthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice place great views. Needs little bit of updating but was clean and tidy. Room service was quick and of high standard, the steak was one of the best we've had. The only problem we had was the cot had no floor in it and the mattress sagged waking the baby hence not a good sleep. Our bed was good and we were happy overall.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Brett and thank you for your comments, much appreciated. I will review the situation with the cot immediately. Having two children myself I know how important a good sleep is! I do hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snells Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Gorgeous views, comfortable room (although a few cushions on the straight up and down couches wouldn't go astray), easy to find and parking available.

LOVED the gym and spa. Loved being about to walk to the mall, market and other shops.

Great location to get to a lot of places. Recommended.

Room Tip: Really glad we went for a 1 bedroom (rather than studio) as it comes with a full kitchen for those w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Brenda, hello and thank you for your review. We are blessed with a great Gym, pool and tennis court onsite for all guests to use so I am pleased to read that you enjoyed it! I have made a note about the cushions for the couch. Thank you for taking some time out to tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer on Byron Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer on Byron Hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing