We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant, great room views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, great room views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed on a business trip and found it very comfortable and pleasant. Be sure to ask for a room with a view towards Takupuna Bay for some pretty sunrise views. The gym was well equipped and not crowded even had a personal trainer if you needed to book one for your workout (for a fee). The room was spacious and comfortable. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room o the igher levels (although be warned the wind does howl through a bit) and facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Spencer. We are blessed with some fantastic views, particularly on a brilliant sunny day! I do hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    293
    117
    41
    20
See reviews for
124
249
48
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

When I booked on line i could not choose the family unit and I needed an early check in as going to a wedding. I called the hotel to discus by requirements and they were very accommodating. when we arrived they 12.30 they had our rooms ready and we got the adjoining rooms as requested. secure parking, great view and only a few hundred meters to shopping. will stay again. outdoor pool on the 2 floor gives you that holiday feeling and at 28deg nice and warm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we really aim to please every guest and your review makes me feel very proud! Please do come back and see us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a pleasant hotel in a nice area on the north side of Auckland. I'm not sure how a high rise was approved in this area as the building looks quite out of place. The major negative for some travelers is the outrageous price charged for Internet access. If you are on a budget you can head to the Coffee Club on the Strand and get free Internet access courtesy of Telecom NZ via the phone box opposite. Hopefully we won't be having discussions about Internet access in hotels in the near future as operators will understand that this is an essential service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, I very much appreciate your time. I certainly appreciate your comments about our internet charges. We now have WIFI available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests and we aim to charge less than our competitors based in the CBD. Perhaps one day it will be included in the room rates as you suggest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was fortunate to spend 5 days at this hotel in May 2013, could not fault the service. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Location was great even if the weather wasn't. Quiet location and lots of great restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HumbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Takapuna and The Spencer on Byron Hotel again in the future - the weather is improving - Spring is finally here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

As a group of four we booked interconnecting rooms which worked very well for us. We were all comfortable and the rooms were well presented. The location is very close to everything we needed for our stay, beach, shops, eating and venue. We found the kitchen a little under stocked with utensils but asked for what was missing without a problem. The fridge was rather overstocked with the minibar so we had to empty that out to use the fridge. I think plunger coffee could be included with the complimentary teas. All in all however would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My bad experience began the minute I booked in. I booked and had confirmed 6 months prior a guaranteed harbour view suite and was notified that a SMALL amount would
be frozen on my credit card.I
Proceeded to book in only to be told that the entire cost of 12 nights at $199 per night plus $100 per night for incidentals would be frozen. This amounted to over $4000. After raising my voice and threatening to stay elsewhere the amount frozen was dropped to $1000. We then went to our room to discover no harbour view. I rang reception, who stated... you can see the harbour bridge...this is not a harbour view I argued. I was told the manager would ring me. This never happened. 4 calls to reception later we were moved and given a view I paid for. In the 12 days we stayed the bed linen was not changed. 2 days prior to leaving, I paid for the entire stay in cash and received a receipt showing a
Balance owing of $0 , so on checkout day I handed in my keys only to be told. I owed $199 . More arguing and I had to prove I had paid. Come on guys sort yourselves out. Give your staff some customer service training. Will I be back or recommend this Hotel.NOT EVER.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bastions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our first time in Auckland and we have booked two different hotels for our 2 weeks stay. One of them is The Spencer on Byron at Takapuna where my family and I stayed for our first 7 nights after arriving in Auckland City from Sydney.
The room is clean and the balcony is overlooking the beautiful Rangitoto Volcanic Island and also Auckland City Sky Tower. It is also very peaceful and quiet at night and great views. Kitchenette was more than adequate with microwave, hob, oven, fridge, washing machine and dryer and they even provide sachets of washing powder. We got the daily paper each morning.
There is also a bus stop nearby where we can catch a bus to Auckland City and also to Devonport where we can catch a ferry to one of the many other islands.
It was good value and exceeded our expectations. We really enjoyed our stay at The Spencer on Byron and hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haizah_Haron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we appreciate your kind words. We hope you have an opportunity to return to New Zealand and that you will return to Takapuna and The Spencer on Byron Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: The Spencer 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing