We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Takapuna Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Wilrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stay at Takapuna Beach”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel, with a good and friendly service. The fact of having a laundry machine and dryer makes it easy for a longer stay. The rooms are quite large, with different rooms and a small kitchen.
Dinner in the restaurant is very good quality, but pricing wise it is quite expensive, so I'd prefer to go out for dinner. In the neighbourhood there are some good restaurants too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanVanAlsenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we hope if you return to NZ to welcome you back to The Spencer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    302
    121
    41
    20
See reviews for
126
257
50
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed one night in a twin suite. Prompt and high level of attention from booking, to reception. Staf were very welcoming and helpful. Room quality was good. Clean, tidy. Well appointed. Exceptionally good value. I will most definately stay again.

Room Tip: Not sure. Staed on 10thfloor.saturday nigght. No traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Spencer again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a terrable hotel.I'll certainly be looking for another option on the North Shore.Unhelpful staff when trying to get a newspaper.No free wifi,this is 2013 not 2003.Rather stay in a local motel with free wifi,newspapers and friendly staff at half the price.Wont be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 44NZTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Spencer - I am shocked and saddened to read of your disappointing stay, and would be keen to find out more, so that I can speak to the staff involved. If you have a moment, and are happy to do so, I would really appreciate you contacting me. Debbie Barnett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The gym is very very good for a hotel. It even had a pull sled, foam rollers, straight bar, ab ball, spin bike and treadmill. Hard to get a good workout in while traveling but this made it easy. Hotel itself was mediocre but well worth the price which was not bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshallwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at The Spencer, and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with hubby 2 months ago. Great hotel. Our 1st impression wasn't so good. Had problems at check in (Evan) and we were given dirty room. Spoke to Manager (Gary), he gave us complimentary upgrade to suite (ocean view) he even escorted us to our new room. Later we received very nice box of chocolate and phone call from The manger asking if we were happy with our room. A+ service, if you ask me. The room was pleasant, very comfy bed and breath taking views. We ate in restaurant twice and food was great, lovely staff special thanks to Fred.

Overall very nice hotel, great location and friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your great review on your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again. Incidentally, the staff member in question has now left our employ. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Takapuna in the future and we can welcome you back to The Spencer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My colleague and I had an excellent stay in this hotel, we were looked after by excellent service staff both at reception and in the restaurant / bar which makes all the difference.
If we need to return to the shore this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Get a room up high, the views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngaire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Top rate location, excellent service, very accommodating and a clean, large room with a view. I was particularly impressed with the service of the staff. They accommodated an early check in after a early flight from Tonga and then arranged transportation for my departure. All with a smile.

The suite was large and spacious. I appreciated the washer and dryer which allowed me to clean up before the trip home.

I did not eat there so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennislphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer on Byron Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer on Byron Hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing