We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, NZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Spencer on Byron recently and was very impressed with the staff service. Every part of the hotel that we went to - reception, restaurant, gym, cleaning staff - we had engagement with awesome staff. They were all accommodating, and willing to help in every which way.
Had a bit of a problem with the booking - booked a suite and got a studio - but the compensation given by the hotel was more than worth while. Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very proud of our team and will be passing your comments on to our team at our next staff meeting. 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    294
    117
    40
    20
See reviews for
124
250
48
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night in a studio room on 17th floor with excellent view. Very good bathroom, best breakfast we had during our New Zealand trip with 15 hotels.
Excellent service by front office department, Mr. Anton Buenaventura.

Room Tip: Our studio was twin bedded according to our request. As both beds were queen size beds, there was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 644Walter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review during your stay with us at The Spencer. We hope you have an opportunity to return to New Zealand and visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'm very surprised to read so many negative reviews of this hotel on this site. I stayed for a week in January, to relax after a tour of New Zealand. I had a fantastic room with spectacular views over to the city from one window, and towards Rangitoto Island on the other - lovely both during the daylight and at night. My room was clean, spacious and comfortable, and thoroughly serviced each day. The one tiny thing that could have been better was the glass on the balcony windows needed a clean, but I can't say it spoiled my enjoyment at all. Everything I needed was in good working order, and I liked the range of pay-as-you-go films. All the staff I met could not have been more helpful. I did have a problem at checkout which was actually my own fault for not checking the conditions of the website I booked through more carefully, but the staff were extremely patient and courteous with me until the difficulty was resolved to my satisfaction. I thought the location couldn't be beaten. Takapuna Beach is gorgeous, and the range of cafes and restaurants nearby is excellent. I booked somewhere that looked close enough to get into the CBD easily, which it is, with lots of buses if you're not driving (or bus down to Devenport and then the ferry which I did on the way home) but in the end I stayed in Takapuna the entire week as the weather was good so the beach was the place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyFlower535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we hope if you return to New Zealand that you will stay with us again in Takapuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Spencer on Byron is a great option if you want to get out of the city, but are still only about 10minutes from Auckland CBD by car. There were wonderful seaviews from the room we were in and the apartment was spacious. I attended a conference here and thought the conference rooms were great, the service and food was excellent too.
Would highly recommend the hotel, it would of been nice to have stayed longer to relax a bit more, it is just a short walk to the beach too which is really nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynDeL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our accommodation and conference facilities - we hope you can return and enjoy Takapuna and our facilities again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night to attend a seminar.
The room we stayed in was quiet,clean and comfortable we had a great view of the skytower. We had a problem with the movies so I called reception and they sent and man named guy and he was awesome!! He was a Very nice guy (pardon the pun)
The only downside to this review was the Internet price was a bit steep and we couldn't find a price menu for the mini bar on the plus side the service here was very friendly and the room service was delivered very fast everytime!!

I would defenantly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review - we are very proud of our team, and Guy will also be recognised at our next Employee Meeting. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent a few days with family on a vacation this Feb, we booked a 2 bedroom suite which was very huge with one king bed and two double beds with kitchen and living room. The bed linens were very nice and the toilet clean with ample amenities. We had problems with the air-conditioning and the maintenance man had to open the duct to switch on the thing for it to run, the air-conditioning in the double room had a strange noise especially after running for quite a while ( its usually in the middle of the night), the noise definitely interrupted our sleep but we did not bother to call maintenance since they could not even fix the other zircon after fixing it.... I suggest they have to di serious assessment of their air-conditioning which I think are outdated and need to change their sofa in the living room, which looked old and dirty, but overall, they are centrally located and very near Auckland.

Room Tip: Good location, comfy bed, clean toilets.... Need to fix aircon and change upholstery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, and sorry to hear that we had problems with the air conditioning within your room. Our Maintenance team will be checking the room you stayed in thoroughly, and will ensure that this issue is rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel located within close proximity of auckland CBD. Great spacious rooms with amazing views. Service of the staff was impeccable throughout our stay, both on front desk as well as in the restaurant.. Food at the Thyme restaurant was divine, I had the goat cheese and beetroot ravioli and my husband had the duo of steak. Both were superbly cooked with amazing flavours and easily the measure of dining we've had elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EandBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spenceronbyron, Guest Relations Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel and our Thyme Restaurant. We are very proud of our team. I will pass your comments on to all our staff at our next Employee Meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: The Spencer 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest Auckland hotels - ocean views, sea-scented air and a sunny outlook... Auckland's Spencer on Byron Hotel uses its beautiful environment to great advantage. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. Various types of rooms from studios to fully equipped family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing