We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian Food”
Review of Al Forno

Al Forno
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We live locally so this has become a bit of a habit (a good one). There are a few other Italian restaurants in the area but this one is by far the best. The staff are very friendly the older gentleman is Italian and is quite funny and very interesting to chat to. The food is great my favourite is the prawn linguine with garlic and lemon, delicious. The pizzas are also great and have a good variety. The other meals come with a generous serve of vegetables.
Deserts are also good if you can fit one in, really good Tirimisu. Overall it is a nice friendly atmosphere they have a good wine selection local and Italian. I advise you book it does get very busy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swimmer797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    45
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I are regular travelers to Italy - we love the people, food, culture and everything about this fantastic country so it is always good to try Italian restaurants in New Zealand to see how they measure up with the real thing.

Al Forno was recommended to us and it certainly delivered. It is a charming small restaurant that was fully booked the night we were there. The atmosphere is great and the people working there mainly seemed to be Italians and they provided a fantastic service with lots of smiles and friendly banter.

The food was as good as anything we have had in Italy with all the usual breads, pasta, pizza, steak and chicken. We were in a large group with a variety of tastes but no-one left anything on their plate - a reflection of how good it all was.

We had a great night and were the last to go. No hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Grant196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Al Forno Takapuna is fantastic. Food is great, fresh and has awesome flavours.

The people are so friendly and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3ofusAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Takapuna”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Maria and Emillio make this place hum. Very welcoming, all the staff are friendly and great. We have taken many friends here over the last two years and everyone has enjoyed their meal. Highly recommend

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickib113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Nz
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We've eaten 3-4 times in this restaurant lately and each time have had a very satisfying meal. Portions are good sized, the fillet steak was one of the best I've ever eaten, and the pizzas are wonderful - with a nice thin base and cooked perfectly in the wood-fired oven. We have always struck excellent wines on the menu/specials board as well. Desserts are all home made by the owners (who incidentally are not Italian, but from the former Yugoslavia - it's not easy to find an Italian restaurant in Auckland run by 'real' Italians). However, there is a great atmosphere and it seems to be always busy - even at lunchtime although we haven't tried their lunch menu - yet!
Will certainly be returning.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Forno also viewed

Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 
Takapuna, Auckland Region
Takapuna, Auckland Region
 

Been to Al Forno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing