We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Tauranga
Level Contributor
1 review
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

All of the cabins were full so we booked a caravan. We were told they were of a great standard so thought they would be...this was the first time staying in a caravan for us at a campground but we have stayed in camping grounds and hotles all around the world. When we turned up the girl in reception was quite rude. Showed us our caravan and then left. To be honest when we went inside the caravan it was unbelievable that it was still being used at all. Apart from the new curtains, it was apalling! Very old, run down, not well maintained,locks on the windows were broken, not good enough. We ended up having to upgrade to a deluxe caravan which was nicer then the first one but also could have used a good clean. Needed alot of maintenance done on it as most of the lights were blowen. Exposed wires coming out of the light socket on the door, ANTS ANTS ANTS! Needs alot of work over all. Grounds were neglected, parking all muddy and soggy, messy. The fact that it was on the beach front was the best thing about it but it stops there. Really is no reason why we would go back or recommend it to ANYONE!!! Overpriced and not worth it! DONT BOTHER! Ended up paying $130 for a crappy night in a crappy camping ground!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackaywhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    38
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
33
66
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We chose to stay overnight in a small self contained cabin in the holiday park because of its location, right beside the sea, at one end of Takapuna Beach. As well as having easy, direct access to the beach, the park is within 3 minutes walk of a street with lots of restaurants. The 5 self contained units are small and fairly basic, and ours had a slight but noticeable tobacco odour, in spite of being a non-smoking unit. Furniture consisted of a bed, a small table and two kitchen chairs. The kitchen included a refrigerator, a 2 burner gas stove, a toaster and a kettle. There was an effective, quiet, wall mounted electric heater. The cabins are at the back of the park and furthest from the sea, but they are up a metre or so on a terrace, have small patios which get the morning sun, and have a nice sea view. The price is on the high side based on what you get, but is justified by the great location. I don’t know of any other motel or cabin accommodation in Auckland this close to a beach, and to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Friendly, helpful service but the self contained units leave a little to be desired in value for money. Musty smell, very basic. They are pretty clean except for cobwebs. Microwave could use an update. TV is tiny and not mounted on a wall comfortably viewed from bed. Also had to get help tuning it. Bed not that comfortable but it's the musty smell that spoils it.
Great view of beach and enjoy the sound of the waves.
I have stayed here before in a camper van on the beachfront side in the middle of Summer and did enjoy that immensely. Good facilities for campers and everything within walking distance for shopping, restaurants & cafes and entertainment.

Room Tip: May be more enjoyable in the middle of Summer when you can keep everything open and enjoy the fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location in Takapuna is probably the only thing going for this place, sat 100m from a street full of restaurants. The campsite itself is abysmal. For $42, you're paying Top 10 Holiday Park prices and getting a fraction of the amenities. No TV lounge. Grass sites that turn to mud when you park your campervan, meaning you have to dig out the van the next morning.. A kitchen that has a broken kettle and a broken toaster. A $10 key deposit to use any of the "facilities". I heard from a local that the council wants to buy the site and turn it into a boat park, and the owners are holding off fixing anything in the site because of it, as they try to get a good deal. Do yourself a favour and avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttoVanDevonport, Owner at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for the response - however i just want to clarify a few things.
1. We had non stop rain for weeks and some sites are very wet and we avoid to put campervans on those - however if it rains when there is someone already on the site some vans do get stuck - we do assist stuck vans to get out with mats at the office - there has been nobody in this park that had to be dug out. (i personally visited a top ten park last weekend and they had the same problem)
2.our prices compare with holday parks in the area.
3.We do not have a TV room because there is no demand for it - 99% of our guests advised that they would not use it as there is enough entertainment in Takapuna and the city.
4.All the equipment in the kitchen is in working order.
5.The information form the locals are wrong - in fact we are waiting on the council to renew the lease in order to invest some capital into facilities. - We and thousands of supporters are trying to convince the council not to turn this into a car/boatpark. No business can invest capital if there is no a secure tenancy. (perhaps facts should be verified before it is posted)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Takapuna hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Really nice spot for a beachfront camper site in the middle of the North Shore. You can watch the kids play on the beach from your camper windows while you cook the tea. Amenities were clean and in good condition. Friendly welcome at reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

We just arrived in NZ from the UK an picked up our camper van. Our first camp site to stop at was, Takapuna Beach Holiday Park! Recommended to us by some family friends who live 2min away in a gorgeous apartment overlooking the Ocean. We pay $5 extra for a waterfront spot, the spot overlooks Auckland skyline and is worth every penny! Trust me do it! We unpack and just take in the view through our glass-fronted lounge at the back of the camper! You would pay a fortune for a view like that in a Hotel! It makes having a camper even more worthwhile!

We get up for the sunrise at 6am and it is awesome! The Sun slowly peaks over the horizon and the sunlight flickers across the ocean and the skyline in the distance! My boyfriend takes some great pictures so make sure you check them out and take in the amazing view! We go for a run down the beach, which I actually really enjoy! This place is worth staying at, the facilities are good and the owner was so friendly and helpful! We loved it!

If you are going to NewZealand and would like to check out the adventure of two foodies and winos, who love life and adventure sports around the North and South Island for 3 weeks in a camper van then take a look at www.carpediem-life.com ! Feel free to contact me and to comment for more info :). We are also travelling around Australia and South East Asia, if you have a second check it out!

Room Tip: Pay $5 extra for waterfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiem-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Fab location, great price and friendly, helpful staff.
We stay here each year as it is handy to Bruce Mason centre and can accommodate our family in the family cabin at the end of the camping ground. This sleeps 6 people and has a kitchenette and dining area. The cabins are really nice and have their own toilet/ shower.
Perfect location and so handy to everything.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.6 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
0.1 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takapuna Beach Holiday Park

Property: Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Address: 22 The Promenade, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takapuna Beach Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing