We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Circa 1960”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Circa 1960”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great location.......this is a follow on from Narelle H .
Clearing up some of the owners response. We were initially refused a refund. He said policy is once it is paid in full NO refund. This was also said by lady on the desk. Fine ....but to make on line booking you must pay in full up front .......odd !
After calling owner again and quoting his website van despription he asked" how much do you want back ?" We got 50% refunded.
Now the website wording for what was "Ensuite Van" which indicated toilet in "Bathroom" has been reworded as "deluxe Van with toilet in Van" ....strange huh(if it isnt an issue why change it).
He was correct in saying our window was sticky taped shut to stop leaks. Other windows didnt open and some lights didnt work. The Cost ....it was cheaper to stay at Crowne Plaza in Auckland .
It you have a camper van....this is a fantastic location to stay.... beach at your door step. Shops up the road .
If you need a place to stay ..... try Crown Plaza and save some money. Auckland is a great city will be coming back but not back to Takapuna Beach holiday park.
Thumbs down !

Room Tip: dont pay for onsite van ...... sign in window rated 4 stars.....must be a rating out of 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    27
    19
    18
See reviews for
36
67
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We booked this accommodation online ourselves. We were VERY disappointed with the accommodation. When we booked online, we booked an ensuite caravan - nowhere on the site did it state that there would be no shower in the caravan and that you would need to share the bathroom facilities. I would not have booked if I had known this. It only states this for the 'onsite' vans, not the ensuite vans. We have two small children and this was not suitable for us. The van was very old, and run down. There were windows that would not open, light switches that did not work. The front window was taped down with sticky tape. The couches were dusty and dirty. The main bed was unstable and would move up in the air when you tried to get off it! In the reception area, there are dogs running in and out and jumping all over the guests and the children. There were also dirty dog toys lying around the reception area. The 'toilet' in the van was horrible, it barely washed away the toilet waste so this made it a very smelly part of the van. The laundry facilities were overpriced ($4 NZ for a wash, and $4 NZ for drying). When we commented to the owner that he is false advertising on the website (in regards to no shower in van) he couldn't really care less. He suggested we could leave but we would not receive any payment refund, we had paid for 4 nights at over $130 per night!!! We finally got 1/2 refunded. Would definitely not recommend this place. The location is great, but the service and facilities are not. It certainly needs a LOT of money spent on it. We ended up staying in a 4 and half star hotel in Central Auckland for the same price!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttoVanDevonport, Owner at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
How strange!!! The guests checked in and as per our normal procedure where advised of all our facilities etc. Also told them at check in that the caravan only has a toilet on board and not a shower and attached to the caravan key is also a key ot the ablution block. A couple of hours later the guests came to reception and asked to exchange coins for the laundry (has been the same price for the last 4 years :-) , and to look at the visitors brochures. At that stage they also gladly accepted sand bucket for the children to play with on the beach (amongst the so-called dirty toys for the dogs). The dogs are part of the holiday park and are enjoyd by 99% of our guests. They do not jump on guest.
After about 5 hours in the caravan at about 6 pm the guest came to the office and said that the caravan was not what they expected. I was called at home and talked to the guest. I agreed to a refund. As explained to the guest we had a heavy rainstorm and water leaked at the front window. We taped it up on the outside as we were waitng for new seals for the window. It is not a window that can open. It is unfortunate that our facilities was not what the guest expected as by far the great majority of our guest enjoy their stay with us as per the many many comments in our guestbook and word of mouth referrals we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Takapuna hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2011

After spending the past three days at the Takapuna Beach holiday park I couldnt help myself- but to write a review on this park. I was disgusted by some of the other reviews made on this park- i believe them to be very false and just plain rude. I found the campgrounds very beautifully and ideally located close to all the neccesities you need for a great holiday. The views from our waterfront site was pricelesss, not to mention the exceptional service received the front office staff. They went beyond their duties and even looked up tour details for us online. The facilities were spotless- i even had a chat with the cleaning staff who is contracted by the park- they enjoy working here very much
All in all- i would recommend this park to anyone that stays in Auckland, I mean even NZ :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friend and i stayed there in the weekend and we really enjoyed the campground :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mory_darbedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairarapa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have stayed at the holday park on three other occasions and have always enjoyed it. Sadly, this time, it was lacking in a number of areas which is such a shame as the position is perfect. We stay in one of the cabins which were fairly new the first time we stayed. Being Winter, one would expect that this is a time for cleaning and maintenance. The outside of the villas were unkept with green and black mould on the outer walls, the decks were also black and slimy. Our particular unit smelt unpleasant and although it looked tidy, there were things that needed cleaning and/or repairing and the bathroom floor could have done with a mop to get rid of the hairs left behind. The lamp shade on the bedside table was coming away from the frame, the bedspread had stains on it and the bed, quite frankly, needs replacing...it was THE most uncomfortable nights sleep we have had with a mattress well past it's use by date. On arising the following morning, we were greeted by a benchful of ants and a cockroach or two to boot! So, as much as we enjoy the position, we wont be going back any time soon. It would not take much to keep six chalets in tip top condition rather than letting them fall into disreapair.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OttoVanDevonport, Owner at Takapuna Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for the comment. The guest is correct - we do our waterblasing and maintenace during winter. The motel units were waterblasted when the units were not occupied. The matress in the unit is 5 years old and still in an excelent condition. We use the services of professional cleaning company with a very good prefomance rate and reputation. The lampshade was reported by the cleaning staff when the guest checked out and replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I cannot recommend this place enough. Helpful staff and clean facilities are the cherry on top for this incredibly located caravan park.

It's absolute beachfont on one of Aucklands nicest beaches, not to mention the abundance of restaurants, cafes and shopping opportunities at your doorstep. Not that you need to leave as the adjacent Takapuna Beach Cafe is the best in Auckland. Recommend +++

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mke040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in January. I booked online and was advised to contact them to confirm my booking. I telephoned (i finally got an answer on the 3rd attempt) and spoke to a lady to confirm that i would proceed with our booking and was all set to arrive in a few days time. When we arrived reception did not know anything about my booking. They then spent 15 minutes trying to find a spare caravan. We stayed in one of the onsite caravans without ensuite facilities. I was advised to park next to the caravan in a parking space too small to fit any car.
The caravan was very basic, paint peeling off, the bed looked like it would collapse. wallpaper was hanging off. there wad 2 sets of taps on the sink, one set didnt work. he whole place needs to be refurbished. This holiday camp has a great location but just needs money and time to do it up. Its also very cramped. They also need to put a sign at the entrance as I'm sure im not the only person to drive past the entrance and have to go round the beach car park and back to the place.
I wouldnt stay here again. Its overpriced for the facilities we paid for.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.6 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
0.1 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takapuna Beach Holiday Park

Property: Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Address: 22 The Promenade, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takapuna Beach Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing