We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Emerald Inn(Takapuna)
$210
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$107
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spencer on Byron Hotel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
$264
$228
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Poenamo Hotel(Takapuna)
$66
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anzac Court Motel(Takapuna)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Inn Motel(Northcote)
$80
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
VR Takapuna(Bayswater)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aristotles North Shore(Wairau Valley)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
27
43
33
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
43
33
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstakapuna beachamenities blockself contained cabincafes and barsfantastic cafecatch the busmillion milespre booknice beachgreat place to stayfirst stoprangitoto islandnorth shorea bit tiredwithin easy walking distancedouble bedstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 146 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in January. I booked online and was advised to contact them to confirm my booking. I telephoned (i finally got an answer on the 3rd attempt) and spoke to a lady to confirm that i would proceed with our booking and was all set to arrive in a few days time. When we arrived reception did not know anything about my booking. They then spent 15 minutes trying to find a spare caravan. We stayed in one of the onsite caravans without ensuite facilities. I was advised to park next to the caravan in a parking space too small to fit any car.
The caravan was very basic, paint peeling off, the bed looked like it would collapse. wallpaper was hanging off. there wad 2 sets of taps on the sink, one set didnt work. he whole place needs to be refurbished. This holiday camp has a great location but just needs money and time to do it up. Its also very cramped. They also need to put a sign at the entrance as I'm sure im not the only person to drive past the entrance and have to go round the beach car park and back to the place.
I wouldnt stay here again. Its overpriced for the facilities we paid for.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We turned up in a Large Camper and got a great pitch by the beach, we found the bathroom facilities clean and large, the clothes washing area was small but functional, and the cafe by the entrance to the park did a great breakfast. The staff were helpfull, however we could not get our wifi to work. Yes we would stop again, The site is what you make it, very basic but great views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the site in an-onsite caravan and a few friends booked waterfront sites.

The on-site caravans had great character- not like the typical commercial things u find at most camping grounds, these were colour themed, each renovated recently (looking quite unique)- the people at the front desk were really helpfull and really went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable.

With stunning views,CLEAN facilities, friendly service and the perfect central location in Auckland- I would recommend this camping ground to all my fellow travellers

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caspian_digital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed here as our last stop on a three month tour of New Zealand - out of the 45 camp sites we stayed in around the country this one would be the most disappointing, and also the most expensive. The location is great, but the facilities are cramped and horribly dated and, in comparison to other holiday parks, not kept particularly clean. Also the only camp site with 'summer' rates at the start of September - at $40 per night (more if you want a sea view) we found this highly overpriced

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben_and_Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We live in Auckland and thought it would be good to experience another part of our fantastic city. We sort of wish we had stayed at home or in a hotel.

The location is great, right on the beach. Close to the shops cafes, bars and the sunday markets.

We booked a powered tent site for a large tent, which we did not get. The men that run it were very arrogant and although there were alot of free sites they had a problem with our car being slightly outside our site even though there were no markings. (our tent and small car couldn't fit onto the site)

I think this would suit travelers with their own campervans. The bathroom facilities are dated and not kept clean. with spider webs everywhere it was not a good experience.

We stayed the weekend that there was a tsunami warning and we were shocked to find out as there was absolutely no note up on the office windows or anywhere in the camp ground. we were not told when walking in from being at the markets at around the time it should be hitting. (We were told by a worried friend phoning to warn us about it)
This is total disregard for their guests safety as we were only 20 odd metres from the beach. I know the tsunami didn't come to anything but these things DO take lives and should be taken seriously or at least given us the choice to stay or go.

We spent every 2nd weekend camping at different campsites over the NZ summer and found this to be the most expensive and definitely not one we would return to.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zekenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews