We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of The Apothecary

The Apothecary
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Howick
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great staff”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I treat this restaurant like our "local". Good mix of friendly staff and great food. The wine list is good, but could have a few more aromatics. The outdoor setting is nice on a summers night. Their recent menu change meant we could taste a few more things.

Helpful?
Thank MelMaplesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    14
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Auckland New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“$2 refund was insulting”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went there for lunch on Monday. I ordered the Chef salad and fries for $26. The salad was chicken and prawns. When it arrived it was nicely presented and the fries very nice. The salad had thousand island dressing for the prawns, but no prawns. I thought this was an oversight but instead I got given a $2 coin on a napkin and told that's what the prawns would be worth but they had run out. Perhaps offering a coffee or cake would have been less insulting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mariaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Abit different”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have had drinks a few times at the Apothecary and staff are always cheerful and service good. I recently had a late lunch there with a friend and sat outside while it is quite a busy road there's always something to see and we enjoyed being outside. The food was very nice and we had a nice chilled glass of wine to go with it. It's nice to have something abit different from all the other cafés and restaurants around and you can pick up a antique at the same time. I have also been on a Friday night here for drinks and it gets quite busy and has a nice atmosphere .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Apothecary has been tastefully furnished. It has wholesome food and salads and other snacks are available. The service is a bit slow because there often seems to be only one person taking the order and the money so try and go when they are not too busy.

This has become a favourite morning or afternoon coffee place for me and my friends and I am sure will continue to be so. We haven't tried the new wine bar next door yet but that will be our next stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedAuckland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Local cafe with good food & great dining room”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Motorcycle ride led me to eastern beaches. This cafe on Main Street Howick presented as popular, full of antiques (it is owned by the dealer next door) and the order of savoury mince, poached egg on rye toast was well made. Good local offering.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Apothecary also viewed

Howick, Auckland Region
Howick, Auckland Region
 
Howick, Auckland Region
Howick, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Apothecary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing