We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town, Great Location, Very good Guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Stephen Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small town, Great Location, Very good Guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Field is a very nice small town located at a wonderfull location close to many of the interesting points in the canadian Rockies. The suite very nice, clean and equiped well. It is just what you need for a stay of number of days. Kim and Craig Chapman were very kind, flexible and gave good advices with regard to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OfferWeiss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here in August and used it as a base for hiking. My brother and his wife had the second suite. The accommodation consists of two basement suites each with a kitchen. This makes breakfast very easy. For dinner you can cook in or visit the Truffle Pigs Restaurant which is just down the street.

The couple who run the inn are friendly and offered great advice about hikes. One hike we would commend is to see the Burgess Shale Fossil Bed which can be booked through parks Canada.

All in all our stay at the guesthouse was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingfamily287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here three nights in mid Sept. 2012. We had the basement room closest to the road. Very nice , comfy bed, nice satilite TV, good kitchen and quite. We met the host once at check in. Paid up then and never saw them again. Got some advice at checkin on things to do. Buy your food supplies ahead of time though. Used this location to visit sites in Yoho. Went to Lake O'Hara one day, highlite of entire trip. Ate at the Truffle Pig, most expensive steak I ever ordered. $38 bucks but it was good. One note on the exchanging US dollars for Canadian. Go to any casino, they don't charge any exchange fee. Don't gamble but exchange your money and leave on your journey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNoffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Mount Stephen is spot on. Lovely basement apartment with comfy bed full kitchen fully equipped and a pleasant lounge. Can't think of any way to improve it. Just felt a bit strange not seeing the owners, let ourselves in and left payment after our 3 night stay. Field itself is a delightful village in a wonderful setting and very handy for Yoho park sights.
Whatever you do bring everything with you for all your meals. Only shop closed on our October visit. Tried the one restaurant once. Some like it some don't. We didn't most expensive and worst meal of our entire trip. However some people obviously like "gourmet" food and will enjoy it. Everyone's different. Back to the apartment, great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We loved this place, a great alternative to expensive Lake Louise. There are two apartments, private, spacious and clean. Ours had a big room with full kitchen, big-screen TV, table, chairs, and couch, plus a separate bedroom with a comfortable queen bed and a nice bathroom. Kim and Craig are friendly, helpful hosts. We brought lots of food with us from the Canmore Safeway – no big market here. Road crews are presently (August 2012) widening the TCH Rt. 1 highway in the Lake Louise area, but traffic was always moving. From here you go over a mountain pass to Field, which you hardly notice as the road is so well-built and wide. From Field, Yoho Park sights are minutes away, Lake Louise is 20 minutes, Moraine Lake is 35 minutes, and the area of the Icefields Parkway where you find Num-Ti-Yah Lodge/ Bow Glacier Falls/ Peyto Lake/ Helen Lake is 50-60 minutes away. Rafting on the Kicking Horse River is nearby. We stayed five nights and had plenty to do every day. We paid $140/night, with no taxes, a great summer bargain for the Rockies. We were surprised that we could not hear the trains or the highway traffic at all in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Friendly hosts, simple and spacious accommodation offering great value for money - Just have to know that the apartment located at the basement.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights on the final leg of our trip between Vancouver and Calgary. We couldn't believe how big the apartment was considering the price and it's a great location as a base to explore. It was clean and cosy, with all the basic home comforts we wanted. I agree with previous posts, stock up on food before you arrive as there's no big stores in Field. If you have food, the kitchen is well equipped with the basic tools you'll need for all you meals. If not, there's always Truffle Pigs just down the road!

Overall, warm and friendly hosts, simple and spacious accommodation offering great value for money - we'd definitely stay again if we were in the region.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 19Kat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
12.1 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stephen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stephen Guesthouse

Property: Mount Stephen Guesthouse
Address: 304 Kicking Horse Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse offering two spacious, attractive fully self-contained suites with private entrances, and all the comforts of home. Guesthouse is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing