We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hostel but bring earplugs.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireweed Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fireweed Hostel
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous hostel but bring earplugs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hostel is fantastic. It is extremely clean and has the best kitchen I have ever seen in a hostel.

Pros:
The kitchen had everything. Even things like plastic wrap.
The rooms are clean.
The owner is very helpful.
Location is good for Yoho park and also Lake Louise.
Prices are good and dont require membership cards.
You can bring your own alcohol ect (not typical in other hostels like HI).

Cons:
Located along the train tracks that are very active so you get alot of noise.
The wifi signal is not good for skype calls. (this is all of the town of Field because the system is via satellite.) It is fine for email ect (albeit slow).
The dorm beds have very little room between the beds.

Things to know before:
Field only has one restaurant opened for all three meals (until 9PM). It is good but expensive. Stop in Jasper, Banff, Canmore, or Golden to get enough food to cook for your entire stay.
Gas is very expensive as well.
The town is tiny so dont expect a night life.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
20
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I spent time in both the Rockies and BC/Vancouver Island, and both are in firm agreement that our five nights in Field were the best (we extended our stay, we loved it so much!). The hostel is beautiful and well designed. It is more expensive than other hostels, but it is well worth the money. Everything is spotless, the lounge/kitchen area is a great place to chill out and meet other people. The owner was fantastic, interested in what you were up to and gave great tips about what to do in the area.
FIeld itself is a small village, with not a lot going on, but that makes not a lot of difference if you are in a lively hostel with a social area. Overall, fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borntotramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I believe that the owner must put many thoughts when designing the hostel. It is very considerate to make it simple and economic while in the meantime secure, convenient and comfortable. As lots wrote, this is very likely one of the best hostel in the country. Everything is neat, clean and well-managed. There might be only one issue: with such a convenient location in a popular National Park, the place can hardly avoid the noise of trafic passing along highway and railway. But it is minor and overall it is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed at the two-bedroom private suite. Very nice and impressive. If you go with family or a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was a lovely hostel. The bedroom, bathrooms and kitchen were clean, modern and comfortable. There is a large common room with a nice fireplace and tons of boardgames. The kitchen is stocked with all the appliances and tableware you would ever need and they even offer complimentary milk, coffee, condiments and some other foods for guests. The bedroom we stayed in had two large bunk beds, even though there were only two of us. The room was a little small, but the bed was super comfortable and my boyfriend couldn't get over how nice the duvet was.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, my only complaint is that the hostel is quite close to the train tracks so if you are a sensitive sleeper this is something to take into consideration. It didn't bother me or my boyfriend, but we are rather heavy sleepers. However, the entire town of Field is right beside the train tracks, so I would think no matter where you stay in town, you will hear the train...

I would definitely recommend the Fireweed Hostel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarisse27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We only stayed here for one night in a room with two sets of bunks. The place is spotless and nicely decorated and furnished--a step up from the usual hostel. The kitchen is excellent and even has children's crockery and cutlery, coffee presses and anything else you could want! It is a small and very friendly hostel run by very welcoming people. The only problem was from the train noise in the night. It only woke one of us and could be dealt with by earplugs. The room was also very small meaning that we struggled to find space for baggage for all of our family. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Of all the parks in Canada my favorite was Yoho, and one of the best experiences was spending the evening in the town of Field. Great dinner at the pub and then a great evening in the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I've ever been in the world. In fact, I think it is much better than most of the hotels I've ever stayed. It's so clean you could eat from the floor.
Excellent stay! Very convenient for families who look for quiet, cozy places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Warm, friendly home away from home. This place is not your average hostel. Owners Craig and Kim have put a heap of effort into making this place a fantastic place to stay in the rockies. Craig is extremely understanding of a hikers needs. He offered a place to dry off tents and hiking gear before we even asked. The Kitchen is well appointed and the lounge area is the perfect place to chill out and unwind from your day hikes or a multi-day hikes. HIGHLY recommended for hikers and non-hikers alike.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
13.4 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
13.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Hostel

Property: Fireweed Hostel
Address: 313 Stephen Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style hostel, new in February 2007. High quality accommodation in the Canadian Rockies, hostel is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. Private and shared accommodation, living room with wood burning fireplace, self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing