We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town...Big Taste!”

Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Field
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 13 room post and beam family run lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park in Field, BC. Truffle Pigs Lodge is freshly renovated and prides itself on offering families and couples relaxing, clean and affordable accommodations. Truffle Pigs Bistro is an award winning Bistro and Lounge that serves fresh, local and hand made foods, BC wines, beer and a great selection of spirits. Truffle Pig food is simply scrumptious , made by real people, in real time with real food ingredients. Our menu offers a wide range of gluten free options and we welcome children and families in the restaurant. Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lodge has been described as the "jewel" of Yoho National Park, "unpretentious" & one of the most relaxed and tasteful properties in the Canadian Rockies. You won't find a concierge, corporate uniform or chandelier on property but you will find the concierge and staff from other properties eating and hanging out.. Full of locals, local lore and local charm.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small Town...Big Taste!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our final day of vacation in the Banff area, after a day of ziplines and ATVs, we stopped in Field for dinner. Hungry, wet from a rainstorm and more than a little dirty from our ATV tour, we were quite glad that this small & casual eatery was on our way back to the hotel. We had read a few reviews and were expecting good food, but were more than blown away by our meals that evening. I had the special that night, steamed scallops, and they were cooked to perfection. The restaurant is small and charming, no frills...just excellent food. Thumbs up all around!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    207
    65
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stopped in field on our way back from Emerald Lake - what a lovely little town it is. Although I had read reviews on this bistro before we went, the fact we ended up there was an accident. I'm glad we did though, although a very popular and busy place the service was very good and the food very tasty.

Certainly worth a visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way to go!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile


You have found the best restaurant in the area! What a great place between the lack of other proper diners. We stayed at the Emerald Lake lodge, this took us 15 mins of driving to the restaurant. Nice plating and proper flavours, all for a reasonable price. Also the portioning is ok, this prevents us europeans to only order a entree, so this time we could enjoy all three courses. Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank MeneerOoievaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“hidden gem!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went to this restaurant after a day of white water rafting down the road at wild water adventures. The guides recommended this restaurant to us.

Truffle Pigs is in the town of Field, which apparently has between 100-250 residents depending on the season. It was both hard, and easy to find. Hard, because it is in the bottom level of a hotel and the signage was not clear. Easy because, hey, in a town of 200 people, you'll run across it eventually after a couple of minutes of driving.

The restaurant was described to us as serving "fusion cuisine" which is a fair enough synopsis.

We had a large party of 6 (large considering the small size of the restaurant), and no reservation on a Friday night. But even still we were able to be seated in about a half an hour. The time was spent at the bar conversing with the charming bartender, and having drinks. The bartender created many of the cocktails on the menu, and I can attest that the "B Sharp" at least is out of this world. The wine list was great as well (according to those of the party who know wine). Also a great beer selection, both bottles and draught.

The food was inventive and tasty. The ingredients were fresh. The service was friendly and professional.

I had soup, which came with outstanding bread, crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. For main course I had salmon wrapped with bacon served with broccoli and gnocchi. For dessert my wife and I shared a raspberry parfait type of thing. Our fellow diners had steak, the fish special of the day, and all loved their experience. No stinkers in the bunch. If I had to criticize anything, maybe the soup was a little over salted. But this is a minor minor issue compared to all of the positives.

Not being a professional food critic, I don't know what else to say. This restaurant would do well if plopped in any large city hip foodie neighborhood. They punch far, far, beyond their weight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must do if staying at Emerald Lake Lodge”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had one of the best meals of our 10 day Rockies vacation here! I had the most delicious tortellini and my son loved his steak. My daughter has a lot of food allergies and they were so accommodating and brought her pizza out early because they were getting a lot of shellfish order through the kitchen. What great people!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth46905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge also viewed

Field, Yoho National Park
Field, Yoho National Park
 
Field, Yoho National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing