We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but ......”

Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Field
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: Canadian, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 13 room post and beam family run lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park in Field, BC. Truffle Pigs Lodge is freshly renovated and prides itself on offering families and couples relaxing, clean and affordable accommodations. Truffle Pigs Bistro is an award winning Bistro and Lounge that serves fresh, local and hand made foods, BC wines, beer and a great selection of spirits. Truffle Pig food is simply scrumptious , made by real people, in real time with real food ingredients. Our menu offers a wide range of gluten free options and we welcome children and families in the restaurant. Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lodge has been described as the "jewel" of Yoho National Park, "unpretentious" & one of the most relaxed and tasteful properties in the Canadian Rockies. You won't find a concierge, corporate uniform or chandelier on property but you will find the concierge and staff from other properties eating and hanging out.. Full of locals, local lore and local charm.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
709 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Very good but ......”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Truffle Pigs has been recommended by many friends so we stopped by today on the way past field and were very impressed. Menu is interesting and every dish was tasty and well presented, service was a bit slow and a couple of mistakes on the bill meant it dropped a star in my books but really great food in a lovely setting - highly recommend.

Rob

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    207
    66
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
189 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Worth a side trip from Emerald Lake”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Small, cozy, superb. There is not much to Field, but this place is really fun. Surprisingly gourmet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I wasn't traveling very far (came from Calgary), but spent a night in Field in order to ski for two days. Normally I would have gone into Lake Louise for dinner, but after reading the reviews of truffle Pigs I decided to give it a try. Wow, what a little hidden gem! I was so not expecting food of this quality in a small place like Field. I had a ribeye steak and it must seriously have been one of the best pieces of meat I've had in my life. It was made to perfection - soft, tender, and some sauce drizzled over. The veggies were delicious and it was all served on a bed of spinach. Service was quick and efficient, and the waiter was very friendly too. Will definitely return when I'm looking for a meal in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 478BarbaraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a Special Trip”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Truffle Pig is an oddity, an epicurean delight in an obscure town of only a few hundred souls along a lonely stretch of Highway 1 (the town's only gas station seems closed more than open). But, if you appreciate novelty in the dining and originality in cuisine then make the effort to find this, somewhat hidden, gem in Field.

The Truffle Pig is not going to be for everyone. If your dining criteria based on massive portions of predictability for low cost or if your dining criteria is based on how fast you can eat... you probably be more satisfied elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in Field”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It's worth a side trip into Field for lunch or dinner at this lovely, cosy little Bistro. We stopped for lunch and were treated to probably the most delicious Mac & Cheese I've ever had. The decor is very cute and the service was efficient and excellent. We will not pass by Field again without planning to stop at Truffle Pigs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge also viewed

Field, Yoho National Park
Field, Yoho National Park
 
Field, Yoho National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Truffle Pigs Bistro & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing