We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Rustic lodge feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic lodge feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent two nights at the Cathedral Lodge and found it to be small, but well appointed and quite cozy. The staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating and the restaurant is excellent. Breakfast was included and it was varied and quite tasty. We were within a few miles of some pretty amazing hikes! The drawback for some is the Cathedral Lodge is pretty isolated...lake Louise Village is about 20 minutes away. The natural beauty of the area and the opportunity to relax, more than made up for the location. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kansasconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    122
    47
    18
    7
See reviews for
84
271
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were disappointed by Cathedral Mountain Lodge. However, having looked around some of the other options with a future stay in mind, I still think it is one of the best options in the area. The lodges are really quite close together and there is no sense of privacy. The lodges themselves are very clean and nicely decorated. The bath was really quite small but what astounded us most was the lack of storage space. We were there for 6 nights and were on a long trip so we had a lot of luggage. There was nowhere to unpack or store suitcases. It was really quite inconvenient for a long stay. Also I didn't find the place particularly relaxing - as you wouldn't really want to sit out on your balcony given the proximity of the other cabins and there were only a couple of chairs by the river. The seats outside the main lodge always seemed too dirty to sit on. Most days we made it to breakfast very early so didn't have a problem but on the two occasions we arrived later (but by no means late), they had run out of various things. There is also no wifi and the communal computer is a dial-up connection. In my opinion, I think this place is best suited to a brief stay of maybe one or two nights.

I would go back but only because the hiking was so outstanding that it more than made up for any negatives of the accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H, Manager at Cathedral Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your review and comments on Trip Advisor! Feedback and suggestions from our guests are integral to our efforts in improving the experience we offer and we continuously utilize this information in our ongoing development plan.

We are happy to hear you consider us to be one of the best options in our area. Sorry to hear you did not have enough storage space for your extended stay with us. Typically for an extended stay we will recommend our Premier Cabin room type. Our Premier, “stand-alone”, log cabins offer more living space including an expanded living area with sofa and armchair adjacent to a river-rock wood-burning fireplace, additionally they contain a large armoire and storage chest. If you decide to return with us I hope we can find accommodation that better suits your needs.

Our breakfast team works hard to keep the food on the buffet fresh and fully stocked. As the buffet is self-service we do experience waves of guests, which can lead to depletion. I am sorry that we were not ready for you on those two mornings you arrived a little later and hope our team worked to resole this expediently.

Unfortunately high-speed internet is still not available in our remote location. In the future we are hoping an improved broadband might allow us the opportunity to provide a wireless connection, but this is still a challenge and a dial-up internet station the most reliable service we are able to offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012. we felt welcomed and were escorted via a buggy to our lodge promptly and given a run down of where things were and timings for meals etc. The layout is lovely and there are wild grasses and flowers along the pathways and between the lodges which give a natural feel to the place.
The lodge itself was clean and cosy and nicely decorated. the veranda was great, neighbours were quiet, I can imagine that this could be a bit of a problem if they weren't! It is all a bit close particularly if you have a semi detatched lodge.
There is a lovely area down by the Kicking Horse River with seating to relax on, lovely views and so peaceful.
We ate in the restaurant on two nights and the food was excellent as was the service and atmosphere. we particularly enjoyed the "Butchers block"
The complimentary breakfast was superb and well presented. Other reviewers have mentioned railway noise, yes there is the ocaisional atmospheric whistle, this is Canada after all and I loved the sound, it was not at all disturbing.I would highly recommend the Cathedral Mountain Lodge and you will also see plenty of wild life around the lodge environs as well.

Room Tip: Have a detached lodge if you go in high season as I can imagine you will be aware of the neighbours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Puma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just outside Field ( small village of 250 people) the Lodge is situated in quiet surroundings, but rather isolated. You will need your car to visit the nice attractions in the surroundings.
The private lodge we stayed in comprised of sitting area , queen size bed and a nice bathroom.
There is just a small wardrobe. Airco and fireplace make this lodge comfortable.
No cellular telephone ( you have to drive to Golden-40 km.) and no internet. Staff very friendly and professional. This is a relaxed and luxury place to stay and to enjoy the scenic highlights nearby.
In the restaurant one can enjoy a buffet-breakfast which is quite simple.
It was a pity that the grass and the green between the cabins was unkept.
A nice gesture was the free canoe-rental for one hour at Moraine Lake, but as the rain was pouring down we did not make use of this free offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hans15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights in September. The room was great, staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is in a fairly remote location and field town was only small. Luckily the hotel restaurant was great, fairly priced and a great atmosphere. Free afternoon coffee and cookies were a nice treat as was the free breakfast.

Probably the nicest hotel we stayed in 3 weeks in the Rockies

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Booboo_bear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tucked away just a couple of kilometres off the Trans-Canada highway, this is an ideal mountain lodge in quiet setting of the Canadian Rockies. Gorgeous cabins with fireplaces and an outstanding restaurant make this a great weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Choice of wood burning or electric fireplace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After my last stay in the sister lodge (Moraine Lake Lodge), I have decided to try the Cathedral Mountain Lodge.
Plus:
+ Quite
+ Nice Cabins
+ Good restaurant
+ Friendly staff

Minus
- No cellular network (but it can be a plus if you want, just like me, to disconnect from work)
- No internet (same as above)
- Road and Train noise might be a bit disturbing if you are sensitive to that kind of noise

Overall, 5 nights in this hotel, 6 days of great pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.0 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
11.1 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing