We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute as a button!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge for three nights, as part of a Rockies adventure. What a fabulous place, located on the icey blue river, it's a stunning location, I loved the 'Christmas Tree forest' to the front of the main lodge! For the first two nights we had a twin room, number 19, which was lovely, great accents and large wrap around veranda, and the smell of wood thoughout the room is part of the charm. For the last night we had a queen room, number 26, this was tucked away at the rear of the development. The rooms have a small fridge, with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was in the main lodge with the fire crackling and a stunning view over the river. They laid out fresh fruits, amazing yoghurt and granola, as well as bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs, great start to the day! Amazingly we didn't miss the lack of TV or Wifi, which are normal staples in our life, it was a real get away. Just in case you cant tell from this review, we loved it!!!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gecko7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 501 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. We were so happy when we arrived and were shown to our very cozy and comfortable cabin. It was so much nicer than we had expected. The scenery around the resort was beautiful and it was so nice to be able to walk down to the river (the resort is right on the Kicking Horse River). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I liked the remote feeling of the location and the fact that there was no TV, internet, or phone. But it actually wasn’t all that remote as we were only 13 miles from Lake Louise and an even shorter drive to some of the best hikes in the area – Lake O’Hara, Emerald Lake, and Takakaw Falls. I was so happy to come back to our cabin every evening to relax on the porch swing or the cozy couch, with my wife and my dog. I forgot to mention that they welcomed our dog with a nice dog bed and a bowl full of biscuits. Little touches like that really mean a lot. I would definitely stay here again and would even more definitely recommend it.

The only improvement I would like to see with this lodge is, due to their relatively remote location, that they either offer laundry facilities or, even better, provide a laundry service (or even contract out for a laundry service). We had been travelling for a week before arriving here and were a bit disappointed to have to drive over to Field to do laundry – according to my travel book Field is a place that is best avoided as it basically has nothing to offer. However, serendipitously I suppose, we found Field to be delightful and would never have discovered it if not for the laundry thing.

It was a bit rainy when we went there, a quaint little town mostly consisting of some old homes that had been converted to B&B type accommodations and the Kicking Horse hotel, where they had 2 sets of coin operated laundry machines. Since we were doing our laundry there we figured we would have dinner at their restaurant, the Truffle Pig, while we waited for our laundry. While waiting for a machine, the weather cleared and we were treated to the most beautiful scene of scattered stringy clouds, mist hovering amongst the surrounding rocky peaks, and the setting sun painting the mountains all different shades of orange and red. I was a bit frustrated that the food was relatively expensive, again, but we sat down for dinner anyway, and wow! Some of the best food I’ve ever had and worth ever penny of the $20 to $30 price tag for the entrees. You would not expect it, the restaurant is rustic and relaxed in feel, almost bohemian, but the food is gourmet. I am not a “foody” and rarely complain or rave about a meal. But the dishes here are excellent – memorable. Even the simple stuff – like bread – was special, like the chefs spent hours on every little detail and ingredient in their recipes. They want their customers to enjoy their food as much as they obviously enjoy making it. We loved it so much we came back the following night as well, and they recognized us! We had 6 different entrees in those two days and every one was either the best we’ve had or a close #2. So if you stay at Cathedral Mountain, I recommend making the short drive over to Field for one of the cutest and quaintest little towns you’ll find in the area, and possibly the best food for miles and miles – well at least the best you’ll find for under $50 per person and you don’t have to wear a suit to dine in. It might be difficult to find enough to do in Field to occupy an entire day, but after some hiking at Takakaw or Emerald Lake, it’s a quick little jaunt over to Field and the Truffle Pig.

Room Tip: In my opinion, all of the cabins looked great. We had the most basic one they offer and we were more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Recently we had the opportunity to stay at Cathedral Mountain Lodge and were so impressed with the hospitality offered. From the manager, James, who greeted us with a smile each morning and who spent time explaining the history and hiking opportunities in the area to Nancy and Frances our servers, and the many others whose names are unknown, you all made our stay most memorable for without the hospitality piece, a room is a room. As with Moraine Lake, the sister property, the decor of the rooms is excellent, the bed amazing, and the attention to comfort most award winning. Some have expressed concern about the road and train noise. We found neither bothersome. It is rare to stay anywhere these days without the sound of traffic, and the train had historical charm. Moraine obviously has the amazing lake, but also thousands of tourists. Cathedral Lodge was delightfully calm. Dining selections were delicious and the free breakfast more than enough to make anyone ready to start their day of hiking or sightseeing. Cathedral is a wonderful destination to use as a base to explore many of the area's attractions. Field is a charming tiny village for an afternoon's stroll. And one of the most treasured delights.....no cell phone, no internet, no TV....a chance to centre oneself again. Thank you, Cathedral Mountain Lodge! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a great stay here, even though the weather was uncooperative. The room was very cozy, the bed was dreamy :) and the staff were excellent. Loved roasting marshmellows and really enjoyed the afternoon tea. They had the wine and cheese 'tea' on the first afternoon we were there - loved it! Celebrated my husband's 50th birthday in the restaurant and were treated to a delicious dessert - on them! Small little details made the trip even more enjoyable. Would not hesitate to stay again. Perhaps a little pricey, however, for a special weekend away, it was worth it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a perfect place to take a lover or have a honeymoon. It is a quiet place without much to do. It is on the river- but also just off the highway. The rooms are small but quaint. We stayed at the sister property, Lake Moraine Lodge, about 30 min away and liked it much better. While we were in this area we visited Emerald Lake Lodge and I really wished I had considered this property. It is beautifully located on the lake and very remote. I thought Cathedral was OKAY- a bit overpriced for what you get. Lake Moraine Lodge is well worth the price in my opinion.
The bed at both places was super comfy and we had a porch/balcony to enjoy the mountain air. We did like the town of field- away from the crowds of Lake Louise!! We loved the Truffle Pig restaurant and the restaurant at Cathedral was great too. The breakfast every morning was much more than we expected considering it was included in the price- it was delicious and came with many choices. We stayed here because we purchased the package that included two nights at Cathedral and two nights at Moraine Lake. Glad we did it overall but loved Moraine Lake much more. Whatever you do- do not pay the prices at the Chateau on Lake Louise... it is an absolute ZOO and you pay a fortune. We are so glad we read reviews and decided to stay at the smaller WELL appointed lodges over the the Disney crowds! Things we loved about this Lodge: breakfast, roasting marsh mellows each night, tea in the afternoon and the bed!

Room Tip: one with a fireplace- we did not have one :( one facing the river opposed to facing the back of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AukaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet place in the Rocky Mountains that is "over the top", this is the place for you.
Very comfortable and beautifully decorated log cabins and a very pleasing Lounge and dining room right on the river. Outdoor fireplace overlooking the river and dining either indoor or outside.
Very personable and knowledgeable concierge and staff.
Absolutely superb fine dining at a very fair price.
Complimentary afternoon tea and great cookies and wine and cheese several days of the week-complimentary.
Adirondack chairs at the riverside best enjoyed with a glass of wine.
Short drive (within 50 k) to unbelievable mountain hiking in all directions.
No internet or cell phone reception and no TV.

Room Tip: All cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Had a wonderful 3 night stay in a cozy and very comfortable updated cabin. As it was cool in the evening the heating provided by the gas "log burner" was very welcome. The service was excellent and the staff are very helpful. We had a great meal in the restaurant. The location is right on the river and the trip to the nearby Takkakaw falls and the hiking trails from there were memorable. We made use of the complimentary voucher for canoeing on Moraine Lake which was well worth it ! Highly reccommended!!

Room Tip: One nearest the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerbyshireAnnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,430 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,755 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range: $283 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing