We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a lot to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a lot to do”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2007

My husband and I made our reservations 5 months in advance and requested a quiet cabin away from others since it was for our honeymoon. We were SUPER excited to get to it after our stressful wedding planning. When we arrived, they booked us a room adjacent to another couple and we were really upset. We had specifically requested a single cabin. They did lower our rate a little but that did not do much for the extremely small room. The neighbours to us were noisy and you can hear everything in the room beside you. If you go, request a single cabin. The small (emphasis on small) gas fireplace didn't work properly and since it got down to less than zero degrees celsius, it was very cold in our room. Our room also smelled of propane which is used to heat the entire lodge. They also didn't clean the rooms until 3pm so we often came back from sightseeing to an unclean room and had to wait around outside while they finished it. Overall, it was not a good experience. Stay somewhere else if you want activities to do as there really isn't anything to do around the lodge. Also, you have to eat lunch somewhere else (we went to Lake Louise a lot) or eat at the ridiculously overpriced restaurant (over 200$ for two people). You can also hear the train at night as well as the highway. It is a very
beautiful setting next to the mountain but for the price of one night, I'd rather be in the Fairmont!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Very small
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinksummer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    127
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
292
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pa.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

Cathedral Mountain Lodge was a beautiful lodge. The cabins, though close together, are lovely and cozy. We stayed in cabin number 5 located on the river. The view was mostly obscured by the beautiful trees but still nice. It had a wood burning fireplace, very comfortable couch, chair, unbelievably comfortable bed, and an awesome bathroom. It was cozy, clean, and beautifully decorated. We spent three nights. On the fourth night we went to Moraine Lake Lodge but returned because we had no heat in our room, and we were put up in Cabin 25. A smaller, less expensive cabin. This was a Wapta cabin in the back and just as beautiful and actually gave more privacy. Smaller. And a gas stove instead of the fireplace. It was attached to another cabin so we had to be a bit quieter for the other guests sake. But we still loved it.! The staff was young and sweet and very helpful. Especially Kelly. I can't beleive the other reveiws complaining about the food. My husband and I both cook up a storm at home and their food was AWESOME. Pricey. But well worth a splurge. We didn't have appetizers or dessert but the you did not need it with the size of the portion. We ate dinner on two seperate nights, both getting someting different each night, and loving ALL of it. The chef is amazing.
As far as the complaints we read about the traffic noise and trains...we have to laugh. The trains were soothing, not loud at all. The traffic you can barely hear. We both slept like rocks.
Yes, it is a bit out of the way. But well worth the drive back home at night!! A+++++

  • Liked — The cabins
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Moosinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Ill.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

We wanted to love this place. The hotel's website made it look fantastic and we booked a cabin for two on the river. It was pricey - $416 a night - but it was my wife's birthday and it looked so wonderful. Until we got there. I can say without reservation that this was the most egregiously overpriced place we have stayed in any of the 17 countries we have visited. The cabin for two was really a shared cabin separated by a wall in the center. With the hardwood floors, you could hear every step next door and every word spoken. The site looked like an army bivouac in that the cabins are built on top of each other so that people behind you can watch you shower if you don't close the windows. The cabins were no more than 10-15 feet from each other like a YMCA camp. The river was over 200 feet from our cabin and obscured by brush, weeds and trees. We could not hear nor see it unless we walked through the jungle. The website does not show the TransCanada highway which runs along the property, meaning trucks downshifting and braking to get up and down the hills next to cabins all night long. Nor does the website show the train tracks for the Canada Pacific which regularly sends trains chugging up and down the mountain. There are absolutely no amenities in the rooms or what passes for the lodge. No television, no telephone, no pool, spa, exercise area, no common grounds and the lodge, such as it is, closes at 10 p.m. The cabins are tiny with a half refrigerator as the only thing resembling an addition. We could have lived with all this, if it weren't for the fact that we paid $416 a night and received essentially a bed in a tiny shared cabin with no view, lots of noise and surrounded by cabins and other miserable people. Unless you hate money and love crowded, noisy living, stay away from this @$%*& place!

  • Liked — The day I left and saw it in the rearview mirror
  • Disliked — THe price and the cramped, noisy and amenity-less property
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank RalphKramden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of the Rockies but I wish we had stayed longer! We were in a Wapta Queen Mountain View cabin which was extremely comfortable and had a private veranda with chairs which was lovely for early evenings. The view of the mountains was stunning and we could also see the river. The only downside is whilst the location is amazing it is quite close to Route 1 and the train line and you can hear both albeit faintly and not at all whilst inside with the windows shut.
The breakfast was generous and tasty - wonderful coffee. We did not eat in the restaurant at night, the food is very expensive and having read previous reviews, we did not want to risk it! We ate at the Kicking Horse Lodge in Field and can heartily recommend this instead.

  • Liked — Comfortable cabin and stunning views
  • Disliked — Some road/train noise
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

This was our second stay at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge and although not as enjoyable as the first, it was still a decent place for a few nights accommodation when exploring this stunning part of the world. The cabins are all well-appointed and cozy. Certainly not the biggest, but having stayed in other more basic units, there is no denying the comfort.

Since our previous trip in 2005, the Lodge has been completed and they serve a good buffet breakfast, in addition to offering lunch and evening dining. A useful option given the relative remoteness of the area.

The cabins are well maintained, of good standard and comfortable, but as with all accommodation in the Rockies, it's the scenery and landscape that really matters.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank merchants24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

Cathedral Mountain Lodge aims to be one of the trendiest cabin-style hotel in the Yoho-Lake louise area. The cabins and the main lodge are beautifully appointed and decorated and the staff are courteous and willing to help. This said, however, we found that this property had some serious drawbacks.

To begin with, its location is bad. Some of the cabins are right in front of the parking lot and too close to an electrical generator. At night it was unbearably NOISY. We needed earplugs to sleep. I always sleep like a log and on our first night was awaken several times by the constant brooooom from the highway, the trains and the continuous noise of the generator, which was simply unacceptable for a hotel that aims to have a selected clientèle (and charges accordingly).

We found the property was rather small for the quantity of cabins and that they were too close to each other. This property is sandwiched between the mountain, the road and the river and it felt a bit cramped.

We missed the peace and quietness (and the privacy) we were looking forward to and would have checked out for this reason if it wasn't that they charge $75 for each night you cancel if you check out earlier once you have checked in (we were not informed of this before doing the reservation)

We did eat at the restaurant several times and would recommend it if you want to splurge The food was delicious and well presented.

All in all, we would go back to the restaurant but would not stay in any of the cabins again and would definetly NOT recommend it as a hotel.

  • Liked — the décor
  • Disliked — it was plain LOUD!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

the cabins are very nice inside, very well decorated and comfortable beds. but the location is a bit lacking. what they dont say or show in the pictures is that it is right across from a highway, so you can hear the traffic in the background even at night. not exactly what you come to the middle of a national park for, hearing 18 wheeler trucks wheeze by at 2 am. if had to do it again, I would explore staying at the emerald lake lodge instead. it was nearby, but set on one of the most gorgeous lakes I have seen.

Places to eat in area : Cilantro at emerald lake lodge, and truffle pigs in the town of Field. both were excellent. the food at cathedral lodge was good, but overly-expensive.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerArlington_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
12.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing