We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
43
9
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
9
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carter suite tom wilson full kitchen takakkaw falls perfect hosts wonderful stay avoid crowds burgess shale small town friendly hosts lake louise perfect location living room truffle pigs thoroughly enjoyed our stay yoho national park spectacular setting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was very surprised at the large size of the Rangers Roost and both my adult daughters voted this the best place we stayed on our Rockies adventure. Lots of spots to relax and oversized windows and skylights provide for lots of natural light and views of mountains. Fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms and bathrooms. Very knowledgeable and friendly hosts available for any requests.
Will definitely book again.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Steviebeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBurgessGuesthouse, Owner at Mt. Burgess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the sunny review and thanks for the votes! It was lovely to find the cozy nest built out of pillows on the window box. A lovely view and a splendid spot to relax. Its the best seeing that guests have enjoyed the place. So thanks for that!

It will be wonderful to see you again Steviebee - look forward to your return. Very best, Jules & Gregoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Our guesthouse has everything we could hope for. Comfortable and spacious with incredibly helpful and congenial owners. The place was quiet and the location perfect. We will return! Thank you Greg and Jules for your kindness and hospitality!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mcjude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBurgessGuesthouse, Owner at Mt. Burgess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Fabulous title McJude! Thanks so much for an excellent review. We look forward to seeing you when you return to this enchanted land. Very best, Jules & Gregoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Mt. Burgess Guest House in the Wilf Carter Suite in August, 2019 while in Field for hikes to the Mt.Stephen trilobite site and the Walcott Quarry / Burgess Shale.
The guest house is located very conveniently near the services in Field (restaurant, cafe, pottery studio, laundry facility) and is an immaculately clean, very comfortable choice. Hosts Julia and Greg went out of their way to assist with advice and ideas. WiFi works well, and the kitchen is very thoroughly equipped for full meal prep.
I would stay there again, and recommend it to anybody planning a visit to the Field / Yoho area.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank sandy1313TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBurgessGuesthouse, Owner at Mt. Burgess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the stars and splendid review Sandy. Congratulations for conquering two rather challenging hikes. It was super exhilaration to share in your excitement. You are our Edmund Hillary! Very best, Jules & Gregoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

We stayed in The Wilf Carter Suite, it was clean and well equipped. We hiked with Parks Canada on the Saturday, which was a 7am start, so self catering suited us. We enjoyed the Burgess Shale hike, it was a unique opportunity to see fossils, the trail is steep though. The hot showers at the end of the day were appreciated. The guesthouse is very close to the Truffle Pigs Bistro which we went to on Saturday night, their food is consistently good. It was a very enjoyable long weekend.

Room tip: My husband is allergic to Down, Jules had kindly arranged all the bedding to suit us.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tedstrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBurgessGuesthouse, Owner at Mt. Burgess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a weekend! Thanks for your review Ted. Many travellers to Yoho National Park are not aware that the Burgess Shale is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It's a complete wow to learn that this site, 7,662 feet (2336 metres) above sea level, was under water 500 million years ago. Its fossils are a record of one of the earliest marine ecosystems that existed well before the Rocky Mountains were formed. A day of breathtaking scenery and fascinating science. What a hike! Thanks for sharing your weekend Ted. Perhaps the mountains will lure you back for more adventures. Until then, keep discovering. Very best, Jules & Gregoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

My family of 3 stayed here for 4 nights. We used this as our home-base while we did day trips to Emerald Lake, Lake Louise, etc. The suite upstairs is so spacious and has all the comforts of home with amazing views of the mountains and passing trains. The couple that runs the guest house are absolutely wonderful. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank maxibim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtBurgessGuesthouse, Owner at Mt. Burgess Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Thank you so much for your 5 Star review Maxibim! Your succinct description of the Ranger’s Roost is perfect. And we are glad you mentioned your length of stay. Guests stay an average of 3 to 8 days in Yoho National Park, with some staying up to 20 odd days. And some never leave. For Outdoor Adventurers there’s lots to do any time of year. Looking forward to the return of the absolutely fabulous Maxibims. Very best, Jules & Gregoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews