We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed may years; no more!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Great Divide Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stayed may years; no more!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2007

We have stayed at West Louise Lodge one night a year for over 20 years on the way into the park. The price is very modest for the area, and nobody should expect upscale acommodations.
But... it is sad to watch the level to which it has declined. No longer well prepared meals. Dinner is limited. Breakfast is down to a meager continental offering with week old bagels.
The topper(this is true!) they had coffee, but no pot to make it in!
"We only have one, we can't both make regular and decaf"
The pool- forget it. Long since ignored. The beds? Think boards.
The linens- not fit to be rags.
A positive- first time the showers worked well in years! The staff tries, but they aren't given much to work with.
A modest investment from caring management would make this the value it has always been. Until then, eat at Subway and sleep on the ground. Better food, softer bed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of maintenance, investment
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acepdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    51
    42
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
83
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2007

The West Louise Lodge is not a destination, rather a place to sleep between adventures. Beter than a tent in the middle of the bush, it does have running water that's sometimes hot (bonus!) and an amazing breakfast to fuel up your next hike in some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. Thats worth about $100 bucks to me. The suites are actually pretty decent, nice fire place, and if you need more than a crackling fire at the end of the day to make for a romantic night, I guess there really is no pleasing some people.

  • Liked — Great location, no pesty tourists just taking pictures of everything
  • Disliked — Staff housing is pretty funny, if you get to take a look do because people live in those conditions because its real cheap, and real beauty!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beautyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

Stayed at the West Louise Lodge in early August - we chose the West Louise Lodge because it seemed relatively cheap compared to most other Lake Louise area lodgings - we paid about $140 for a night's stay. However, what we realised was that this was really not worth the money we spent. The front desk did not have our reservations when we checked in, our bathroom was dirty (short and curlies *ugh*), the shower was an amazing thing - once turned on the water went from scalding hot to freezing cold without us ever having to touch the hot or cold taps, and worse of all the bathroom door wouldn't close - a bit of an embarassment when you are travelling with your husband's brother. The closest accommodation I have ever stayed in similar to this was a backpackers in Christchurch, NZ but of course we paid about $30 for that room so I didn't mind. The lodge staff are mostly young people travelling through Canada on working holidays, they are not the most motivated or the best trained so do not expect good service. I chatted with one and he told me that they are told by the hotel that they will be given accommodation while they work there - they arrive to find the accommodation are actually unrenovated cabins from the beginning of the 20th century that was almost unlivable - his word "gross" but what could he do... I felt quite lucky with my room after he described it. And of course I felt terribly sorry for him and the other staff who get given such miserable conditions - I guess there is a reason why I didn't notice any Canadians working there - in my opinion the hotel management is not very nice to take advantage of people like that - young, travelling through a foreign country on a budget and hence unlikely to complain or walk away. I ordered the pasta from the restaurant thinking noone can mess up pasta but I was wrong - it was tasteless. The burger was good. Their breakfast was good - reasonable variety, etc. From the front of the hotel and the restaurant you have a beautiful view of the mountains and a lake across the main highway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Not value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else - unless you get a really good deal
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gathering_No_Moss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Field hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2006

I was at West Louise last summer and I will say just this, IT IS A HOTEL, not a $700 a night resort, What do you expect?

It's serves it's purpose and we had a great nights sleep, even a swim in there pool (which was empty and we loved that!) as well as the suana!

I'll take a free breakfast anyday, especially when it's not just a single crappy stale muffin, I had a great omelette Mmmmmmm

Okay, so sometimes things break down, but um, has anyone else bothered to notice that this is IN THE MIDDLE OF THE MOUNTAINS?? literally, not in a major city.

Some people just complain all there lives, don't be one of them! This is not a 5 star resort, it's a simple hotel, that is all, but if you do get the front of the building it's got a great view of the mountains and lake across the street.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank halcyon_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

We had reservations and arrived at the establishment in the late afternoon. At check-in, we were informed that the hot water heater had gone out, consequently no hot water. However, there was a room in the chalet (up behind the lodge) that had hot water. We could stay there for a 20% discount or we could stay in our original reserved room for $79.95. We decided we wanted hot water and chose the chalet. What a disappointment! The access was up a wooden staircase that looked like it could break with little effort. There was a plug-in air freshener, which should have been a clue about the air in the room. The bed was hard as a rock! The sidewalk would have been as comfortable. When we showered in the morning there was none of the promised hot water.

A breakfast voucher was included with the reservation. The selection seemed varied enough, but the waffle breakfast we chose tasted suspiciously like Eggo's, straight out of the freezer.

Upon checkout, I had to ask to see the manager to get the 20% discount promised on checkin. Overall, the accommodations were considerably less than what we expected. We will never stay there again and will not recommend the West Louise Lodge to any of our friends/acquaintances. A very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2005

We stayed in this hotel last week - we had selected it from the (otherwise excellent) National Parks Guide given for free with the Parks pass.

Advertised at $89 when we called they said that there were only triple rooms available at $119 - this was still well within our budget and seemed to be a good deal so we booked for that night.

When we got there that evening and checked in we were given room number 7. Upon arrival we managed to force open the stuck door to have access to a boiling hot room overlooking a power generator, above the bar and next to the kitchen's ventilation system. As a result there was a variety of loud humming noises which almost covered the neighbours television.

My wife went to reception to ask if we could change rooms - she was told that no other rooms were available and that maybe we could change late at night if some people did not turn up... At the same time the motel still had its "Vacancy" sign outside - this was changed about an hour and a half later while we were at dinner.

After dinner we wanted to have a shower as we had been travelling all day - no hot water. After complaining to the reception we were told that Oops, yes, it was switched off and would be back in 20 minutes. Half an hour later, no hot water - complained again to reception, told another 20 Minutes. another 45 minutes later still no hot water this time we were informed that the room had not been occupied in a long time so it might take a while. Also every time - we had to go to the reception as the room did not even have a telephone... so we tried to go to sleep above the Generator and Kitchen extraction noise (the neighbour had finished watching TV by then).

In the morning there was hot water! And we needed it as we hadn't had any sleep (and nor I suspect had anybody else on our side of the building as the power generator is in front of several rooms).

So to sum up- a motel where the staff lied to us, we couldn't sleep and we couldn't wash when we wanted to! They did give us a 10% discount (big deal), but we probably would have been almost as comfortable spending the night in the car...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
7.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
6.4 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
3.8 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
8.1 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Property: The Great Divide Lodge
Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing