We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a wonderful time we had in February 2012. We had a suite as well as a room with a double bed and a twin bed. Family and friends and in all seven in our party. We mixed it up and while we did not all ski/snowboard everyday nor eat at the lodge everyday, we were able to pay for just the services we used at discount prices. The food was outstanding and staff very friendly and pleasant. They even had a pig roast and bonfire on the Saturday night! The rooms were very basic and no frills but clean and confy. No hairdryer, clock or phones. We managed just great. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Great Divide Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 187 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Some friends and I booked a room for the stay and ski deal, and while the rooms were decent enough for what we were paying, we had nothing but trouble with the service and management. We were misinformed about the number of beds in our room when we booked, and our shuttle ride back from the ski hill left about 20 minutes early and so we were stuck without a way back. The hotel management refused to help us out in any way, they basically blew us off when we talked to them about this.

Long story short, if you're under 30 don't bother staying here, because you will not receive any respect here. If you don't mind a lack of service however, the price is pretty good for the stay and ski deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked this because of an advertisement we saw at the Lake Louise Ski hill. It was for a stay and ski for $89. When we called we were told they had sold out of the $89 rooms and could only give us a $99 room. When we got there, only one other couple was staying at the lodge and checked out the following morning.
When we came back from skiing we asked what the difference was between the $89 rooms and the $99 rooms and was told that the more expensive one had hardwood floors and a bigger tv, the cheaper room had carpet but everything else was the same. We were told the bathrooms were renovated, but it looked like it was from the 1970's and there were chips in everything. So we asked if we could have the $89 package because no one else was there and we were told that the $89 rooms were unavailable because they were being renovated.

We asked to have the difference of the money back from the room for our stay and they agreed to do it for one night and then said they would move us to the cheaper room which was apparently available now. They gave us a new key and told us we could move after dinner. While we were having dinner they came and told us they would let us stay in the room we were in and just give our money back for one night.

While at dinner the manager was in and our talking to staff about signing for something and the staff were talking about how it was unfair and they were being ripped off, which i thought it was unprofessional for the manager to be discussing this and creating arguments in front of paying guests.

One of the staff was very unfriendly and rude, and one was very apologetic and trying to do everything she could to help us. There were staff complaining about other staff and it was a very unwelcoming environment.

While it is good value to stay for about $20 per person per night as buying a lift ticket is $80 on the hill, i feel like i got screwed over by this place and would much prefer to spend the extra money to stay in a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penpen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This lodge is a good compromise if you are looking for a budget accommodation located about 15 km on the highway from extremely touristic (and expensive) Lake Louise. Rooms are no frills and very basic, but clean; bathroom had "pea green" washbasin and bath tub (somewhat 70's fashioned!) but water was hot. We did not eat at the lodge restaurant as we preferred to have breakfast on our room balcony overlooking the mountain and the lake on the parking/highway opposite side. Staff was friendly and helpful when we had a problem with our key. In the reception area there are two computers with internet connection you can use for free. On the whole, a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is the perfect ski lodge. Within a couple of hours drive of 6 major ski clubs.
It is located in the remote Yoho National Park. The beauty and tranquility of the mountains surround you. Sandy and Cathy are the perfect hosts, ensuring your stay is friendly and comfortable.

Room Tip: Request a suite
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This lodge has received some very negative reviews over time, which I think is absolute rubbish. If I am paying $99 for a ski and stay package, I am not expecting a 4 star hotel with all the amenities. yes, this the rooms are basic...but they are perfect for those who are on a budget and want to get out of the city, enjoy a night in the mountains and hit the slopes. This place is affordable, located in a beautiful setting and is beyond perfect for those looking for budget accommodations. As a bonus, the staff, management and owners are all fabulous people willing to go the extra mile to ensure your stay is memorable, relaxed and fun. I recommend the Great Divide Lodge to anyone, and in fact....we are booking our next stay very soon!

Don't worry Great Divide...hopefully we can set the record straight and cure these "Trip Advisor Blues"

You get what you pay for

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitem82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We received ski passess and two nights stay at the great divide lodge as a xmas gift but were definately skeptical about the place after reading these reviews. When we arrived we were given our mountain view room. It was a basic room, what I would expect from a hostel, it was clean, quiet, one queen sized bed, old school bathroom and a small tv. That was it, on hardwood floors. After seeing it I thought this isn't ideal, perhaps they have an upgrade. So I asked the very friendly staff if they had any suites, and they did and he said do you want to take a look, and I took a look and it was wayyyy nicer. They are $17 more per person/night, but they are like 10 times the room. They were a nice rustic room, that you would expect to stay in out in the mountains. It had a nice flatscreen tv, leather couch(that also pulls out) a cool fireplace, and a loft where the queen sized bed was. We managed to negotiate a couple of our dinner passes(that we knew we wouldn't use) for the upgrade and the staff were more than accomodating. We stayed there two nights and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, clean, comfortable, the couch was comfy, nice sheets on the bed. it was a really great experience. We also had breakfast there, it was good and cheap($6 for a hot breakfast with eggs, sausages, hashbrowns and toast) and we had dinner there one night and it was surprisingly delicious,and there is a bar with some decent beer on tap. Honestly, the staff were friendly, and if you stay in a suite you will really enjoy your stay. I would recommend this for the ski package, but not the regular rate. We would go back. They only have about 6 suites, so try and book ahead those if you can:)

Room Tip: Do not stay in a basic room for the price(at least not in ski season) in summer it might be more rea...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,723 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,397 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,933 reviews
8.1 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
7.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#5 of 10 in Lake Louise
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing