We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed one night. What a mistake. All the hotel staff had a party in the room below us till at least 2:30am. (all 10 of them). We finally fell asleep from driving nearly 10 hours. Yelling, screaming, loud music, and running on the trans canada highway in the middle of the night, where traffic was slamming on the brakes to avoid them..probably thinking they were some kind of animals!!UNREAL!!! When we went to check out I asked for the manager...who said " well, sometimes that happens" I couldn't believe it!! I told her that i would be posting my comments on tripadvisor to warn others!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jdog1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 188 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

We arrived not knowing what to expect, especially from the reviews on here.
Sandy the owner greeted us and upgraded us to their suites which are 2 stories and newly renovated. There is no alarm clock or coffee maker but we were not expecting the Ritz. We helped ourselves to coffee in the main lobby.
Our 3 suites were connected, had brand new leather couches, new hardwood and were very comfortable beds.
The Staff were all very accommodating and to our surprise the food was amazingly done. From typical bar food to bbq steak and salmon.
Best part of the trip were the Lake Louise staff that have accommodation in a lodge beside the hotel. They entertained us through the 2 nights we were there and participated in our PJ Party!
We will definitely be back, perfect location if you want to go skiing/boarding at Lake Louise or spend a day at the Chateau. They have free shuttles to the hill and from the hill a free shuttle to the Chateau.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrieberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

THIS IS A LAKE LOUISE STAFF DORM..... STAY AWAY... But more on that down below!

We booked this location following links and advice from the Lake Louise Ski resort's own website. It was advertised under "Accommodations" on the ski resort website. We booked the $99 per person Ski and Stay package, and I can say it is not worth the $25 per person a night that you basically pay (a Louise lift ticket is $75).\

Location - about 15KM past the Louise exit from the highway, a very reasonable place to stay with respect to distance from the Lake Louise interchange.

Room - We stayed in room #18. Small, no decoration. You get a double bed on the floor, IKEA nightstand and dresser set, curtains that do not match, a desk-lamp, and a 20inch TV. The hotel website said "newly renovated" this is a blatant lie, the only "renovation" was IKEA dresser and nightstand and a nice new yet tiny tiny tiny TV set. NO PHONE, NO ALARM CLOCK.... thank goodness my cellphopne could act as an alarm clock! The bathroom certainly was not renovated either as the tub and sink were classic 1960's green with layers upon layers of caulking around the tub holding it in place. Toilet lid broken. Plenty of towels, and they were clean, that was a plus! The floor was generally uncomfortable to walk on, very very old stained carpet with plenty of paint around their "renovation" paint-job of the walls. You could not take a step without the floor moving under you and making plenty of noise.

Dinner - The lounge was decent, but was clearly just a Lake Louise staff hang-out. If you want a beer and to watch the TV, you can be satisfied.

Pool - The sign out front said there was one... but good luck finding one!

Quality of sleep - HORRIBLE.... This "hotel" is nothing more than a dormitory for Lake Louise ski staff. Based on my observation of the parking lot, check-out, and the lounge I would estimate there were 2 possibly 3 "paid" guests including myself. At 5:30pm the party started when the Louise ski bus pulled up and offloaded about a dozen ski staff coming home for the night. Their party continued until approx 4am. Running up and down the halls opening and closing doors, yelling, laughing, full on conversations in the hallways. They treated it as exactly what this place actually is.... a dormitory for foreign ski resort workers.

THIS IS NOT.... NOT.... A PLACE FOR TRAVELERS WHO NEED A NIGHT SLEEP! This is simply a staff dormitory, and this alone is reason to stay away from this place. $99 a person including lift ticket sounds great, only $25 for the night basically.... but it is so not worth it. Spend the extra $25 a person and get yourself a real room at a real hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Icelandic_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Booking at relatively late notice, this was the only place near Lake Louise that we could afford (and at over well $100 a night it shouldn't exactly have been a dive). The view from the front of the hotel is great, but other than that it is pretty dodgy. Both rooms we had were dirty; the bathrooms especially hadn't been cleaned in some time (hairy and disgusting!). Otherwise the rooms were generally run-down -- paint spattered carperts, broken doors, etc. We complained and did get a slight reduction in the price -- the staff were helpful if unenthusiastic. The prices in the area mean that people wanting to stay in a hotel on a reasonable budget will probably have to stay here anywhere -- but be warned...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikefsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were camping and it started raining. West Louise Lodge was cheap and the bed was comfortable. At 69$ a night you shouldn't expect luxury but it all you need is a clean bed to sleep in this is the right place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juststudying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Room was freezing, snow in room from fireplace and windows with huge drafts. Was just the beginning, room was filthy, shower needed pliers to turn on, made our own beds which was kinda like home :) . These are just the more major issues that we had. needed to travel to Canmore Ab for a room in a snow storm just to get out of this place. Not worth $20 bucks a night, better off tenting at the base of the Lake Louise Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keepwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

You wont be able to find anywhere less expensive in this area, with the exception of a hostel . It is an interesting stay. It was clean but with some hilarity. The sheets were too large for the twin beds in our room. Our room had a balcony but it was a nice home for the birds so it was covered in their poop. The staff were friendly and we slept well there.
Also it is my understanding that they run on there own generator and they also have a gas pump. At times surrounding communities will loose power and you might have a hard time finding fuel, go to the lodge.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank ecotravelgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
7.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,470 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
6.8 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
75 reviews
7.3 mi away
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
HI Lake Louise Alpine Centre
#4 of 10 in Lake Louise
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing