We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for a Hiking Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Rockies Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Base for a Hiking Family”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family stayed here in August and this was the perfect home base for us. My husband and I had previously stayed in Field so we knew it was a wonderful base for hiking Lake Louise, Lake O'Hara, and the Iceline trail. With a king in one bedroom and a pair of twins in the other, Suite 3 is perfect for any family of four. Everything was extremely clean, the beds were comfortable, and the owner was very helpful in providing additional hiking suggestions. If you're looking to cook in, this is not your place since the refrigerator is small, there's no stove or freezer, and the kitchen doesn't have a lot of supplies (we could have used a paring knife). But it's fine if you're just doing cereal and bagels for breakfast. The refrigerator does barely hold a gallon of milk, a quart of juice, and four hydration packs. It's only a block from here to the Siding Restaurant for sandwiches or to the laundry facilities in the basement of the Truffle Pig Lodge. Field does have trains coming through at all hours and wifi is a little sketchy at times, but it's a much better value and far less crowded than staying in Lake Louise. We hope to return some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JELion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose Field to stay in as it was close to Lake Louise, Takakkaw Falls and Emerald Lake. It proved as a great base and a quiet place. We stayed in the Canadian Rockies in the third suite. the suite itself is very spacious, and Luc your host is very accommodating. The suite has a good king sized bed and if your a family, the room make for great value for money as it has another room with a twin bed.
The only thing I think is a phone in the room (if you want to call home and don't have a cell phone). Still, there is a public phone at the post office right across the street.
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freckle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this accommodation during our vacation and trip across the Rockies coming from Jasper. We choose Field as an ideal place for YOHO NP, the South of the Icefield Parkway and all activities around Lake Louise and Moraine Lake, since all three areas are very close. Its also a lot less busy as Lake Louise and prices are on another level as well.
Pretty much everything around this accommodation was really great, proofing the rating of the B&B is absolutely justified. We had a warm welcome by the host giving us lots of options and information about to-dos, dining and shopping (no too many though in this area). We were impressed how immaculate and clean our suite was, also about the size as well as about the presence of pretty much every little thing you would need in a kitchen. So no problem at all to self-supply dinner and breakfast. The view is nice towards the front where our suite was facing, while there are still buildings and a railway track, yet down the road. Parking is in front and on the side of the building, the bedroom was facing the backside.
The only thing we noticed as a down was a very occasional disturbance at night, at least for sensitive sleepers, by a train going thru the town blowing the horn. However,this did not have any impact on our comfort and thus not on the rating, Should we return to this area again some time, this place would be our first choice.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank UWadlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stayner
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a wonderful stay, the best bed and most well appointed suite we encountered during our two week vacation in western Canada. Not to mention the incredible views, weather, skiing and wildlife, Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LL_alumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for one nite before our trip to Lake O'hara on the next day. We chose here becaue field is very close to O'hara and offers more affordable accomdation than Lake Louise. The suite we stayed is very spacious and comfortable, equipped with full kitchen. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here after a bad experience at another lodge in the Rockies. Simple accommodation but clean, friendly and everything that you need as a base for exploring and touring. Excellent value for money.

It's close to the railway as well so good for spotting bears!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the Canadian Rockies Inn for a couple of nights earlier this week. We found this stay to be nice and of good value.

Our room featured a king sized bed (which was comfortable), microwave, small refrigerator, TV and clock. The bathroom featured a shower/tub, toilet, and sink. (The bathroom was a really big room, and seemed over sized for the bathroom fixtures it contained. There could have easily been a big shower and a separate tub, for example, or even a Jacuzzi.) There was no closet, but there was a chest of drawers.

The unit was very clean and appeared fairly newly renovated. As others have mentioned, Luc (the manager) was gracious and helpful.

However, there was no breakfast included, and in my book that would disqualify this as a B&B, which is how it is categorized on Trip Adviser.

Field is a location with very few amenities or activities, and so you'll want to plan to use the Canadian Rockies Inn as a home base for excursions out in the Parks, of which there are many.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.0 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Inn

Property: Canadian Rockies Inn
Address: 308 Stephen ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in the heart of the Canadian Rockies.Please be aware these are not basement suites. Daily housekeeping is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canadian Rockies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Hotel Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing