We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Clean and Coming Back!”
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Our room was the ideal accommodation for a one night couples getaway. Super cozy, loads of character, clean and had all of the amenities (coffee maker, fridge, microwave etc.) one could ask for. Loved the Truffle Pig touches of soap and pillow chocolates. GREAT dining as well. This place is super cute.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hschultzy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 280 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you're looking for luxury in the mountains, go stay in Lake Louise for $500/night. If you're looking for a fun, quaint, interesting hotel with seriously good food, stay here.

We stayed one night in August, at the beginning of our trip, and really enjoyed it. The room was quirky and comfortable, the food was amazing, and the service was quite good. It's all very laid back, but with some very nice touches. The "wet bar" items in the room were fun, tasty and practical (try the oatmeal...so good!).

We'll definitely be staying there again if we pass through that way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken_Shannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is a place to stay, nothing fancy but great after a day of skiing. The food at Truffle Pig is the drawing card though. When we stay in Lake Louise will make the drive just for supper. Small - not large noisy crowds-family atmosphere and the food has always been amazing. Of course prices are a little high but you are paying for quality. No complaints on portion size, just right. We will keep coming back...stands out in my books. A hidden treasure for sure, be sure you don't mind trains though! Have stayed in Louise paid huge dollars and gotten much less for money and the train also goes through there as well as Canmore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waywer2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have made notes as we travelled for all the hotels we stayed in to be as accurate as possible. Check in at the lodge was a bit strange, due to the fact that the staff seem to multitask, in the bar, serving tables etc. It was all a bit casual. Our room was upstairs. It was fairly spacious, but with a tiny window, and decorated in a strange mustard yellow that made it look even darker. There were two dark leather chairs and small table. Two bedside tables, lamp, clock and phone. There was hanging unit for clothes, and a suitcase stand. The small fridge was stocked with drinks for you to purchase. Also a microwave, coffeemaker, and a long TV unit with flat screen TV. The bathroom was tiny, with a china bowl on top of a wooden unit and very little space to put anything down. There was good power in the shower, and a hairdryer was provided. It was all clean, and the bed was lovely. There is train noise at night, as the lodge is right next to the yard, and I could hear the engine noise at night although they did not blow the hooters. However, if you are a light sleeper, earplugs might be advisable. Down in the basement there was a laundry room where you could do a wash for two dollars. We had booked to eat in the Bistro first night for 7 30pm. We were given a table outside, and had to wait a whole HOUR to get our dinner, by which time we were pretty cold. The food was nice. My husband ate a rib eye, which was the equivalent to £24. I had the bourginon, which was served with half a baguette which I found off putting. Wines on the menu were very expensive. The second night we requested an indoor table, but again had to wait 45 minutes for our meal. My husband ordered a pork chop, which I thought looked a bit bloody when it finally came, and indeed, it was not properly cooked. After I complained about this we were given a discount. The last two nights we decided to eat at the Siding café just across the road, as they were open until 9pm, and although the menu is limited mostly to burgers and soup, it came quickly, was good, and a great deal less expensive. They also did a good breakfast. We have no real issues with our stay at Truffle Pigs. It was a bit quirky, and we would have enjoyed the evening dinners more had it not been for the long waits. Field is a funny little place, and am not sure if I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spending time in the mountains hiking with friends was the order of the weekend. Staying with Sean and Jen and having them take care of us made it all the better. From Box lunches for our hike, to the super 4 course gluten free dinner Saturday night, to our hung-over complimentary brunch Sunday, your team did a bang up job. It was a weekend done right. Thank you!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ChzBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

the lodge is cute, and is nicely situated in Field. Stayed one night on a hiking trip in the area, so was convenient enough. Staff was pleasant and the room was big and clean. Nothing fancy. The restaurant attached aimed high, food presentation was quite lovely, and good enough, but not exactly hitting their target. Nonetheless, restaurant staff was wonderfully attentive, and made the stay overall pleasant. Overall, the lodge is sort of middle of the road, in the seemingly middle of nowhere. but if I were in the area again, I'd keep this option in mind!

Room Tip: Stayed in lowest level, which gave no view whatsoever. but it was quiet at night! so, would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icybeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Kicking Horse Lodge is connected to the Truffle Pig restaurant in Field. The restaurant is very nice - high quality food and good service but...the lodge is basically an updated motel room. It is very clean but has no amenities except a laundry facility and a game room. It is located about 100 yards from the train yard which operates all night and is very noisy. The beds were not particularly comfortable and the room was hot (not even a fan). Long story short it isn't worth $200 a night . The town of Field is also about 1/4 mile right off the highway. All in all it is expensive in a bad location. I can't say that I would recommend staying there if you have other options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotalOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,429 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
12.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
13.5 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,038 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing