We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pigs flys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Save
You added Truffle Pigs Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pigs flys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Driving through Field looking for a coffee shop it seemed everything was still closed from winter- until we stumbled across trotting this fabulous place. Food service and ambience you would expect to find in a big city. It was really fabulous- highly recommend it as a place to eat, drink and soak up the views. We certainly did - best meal we had in BC. Thank you

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    67
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
123
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Truffle Pigs lodge is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for that quiet getaway, or even if you just need to rest for a night.

Be sure to head down to the restaurant, where you will find a nice, cozy, and very beautiful dining room. The friendly staff will make you feel like your one of the locals while you dine and enjoy some of the amazing food.

The guest rooms are newly renovated, and are absolutely gorgeous! There are some in room snacks and cold beverages available for purchase if you arrived late and missed dinner!

Overall, a great place to stay or stop for a bite to eat!

Cheers!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilstaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank yo for taking the time to write your last review. We appreciate the time you took to inform other like minded customers who travel to our area. We strive to make everyones experience of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lodge remarkable. I am elated that we succeeded in offering you a remarkable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hubby and I were travelling to Field with four friends to do a bit of skiing over at Lake Louise and they all suggested we stay in Field at the Truffle Pigs Lodge. We all shared a room which was excellent and had dinner in the restaurant - Truffle Pigs Bistro - the food was outstanding! Atmosphere was superb too!

Great lodgings in a superb location with excellent food...what more do you need???

Room Tip: The family room, 201 is superb for friends or a group as it has two queen beds and a sofa bed, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlipperClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and Lodge. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back in the future - Chef Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place was suggested by a great friend of mine to have dinner on my trip to the rocky mountains. Lovely place, decided to stay for the night. Little railroad town just past the BC boarder. The place is clean and cosy place. fine cuisine for dinner, nice piece of meat! beautiful decor.

Room Tip: Take the highest floor, better view, and less traffic in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JF_scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the Kicking Horse Lodge. It was the first time in my many years of travelling that I had to call the front desk and ask them to change to another room - which was worse than the first one.

Please note: - the food at the Truffle Pigs Bistro is really good - especially the boar pâté - and the lodge itself as well as the rooms are attractive and clean, with nice touches such as the original water-colours on the walls and the Truffle Pig chocolates on the bed. But both rooms at the lodge that we stayed in were terrible noisy, not from the other guests, but from something in their infrastructure.

The first room had a non-stop, loud dripping noise coming from somewhere. We asked to change rooms and were given one on the other side of the building. Again, the room looked nice, but it creaked and cracked, banged and rattled, wheezed and groaned like it was falling apart - and this went on all night long. It was quite unbelievable. We suspect it had something to do with the building contracting from the cold outside. Perhaps there is a problem with the plumbing or the insulation, or maybe it was the roof.

We did not complain to the front desk staff since - every time we went there - they were busy in the dining room dealing with a crowd of noisy, festive guests. Besides, there's hardly any point in complaining if you don't know what's causing the cacophony. If you go to this lodge in Winter, I don't think your chances of a quiet night's sleep are very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrufflePigs, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We apologized for the problem and have had our heating system adjusted. BY all accounts my staff did try to keep you happy and satisfied. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we pride ourselves on exceeding our customers expectations. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Kicking Horse Lodge on business but my husband came along and we had a fantastic time. The room was clean and comfy and the staff was friendly and professional. Even though it was off season there was a good atmosphere at the pub. The best part of our stay was certainly the food and hanging out with the friendly locals at night. You can't miss the green salt duck cassoulet or the duck torchon poutine part of the winter menu!! Thanks to Sean, Jen and the staff for this memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieKootenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Field during what turned out to be an unexpected exceptionally cold and snowy October week for some hiking. Needed a place to stay near Emerald Lake, and Lodge there was closed so chose Kicking Horse Lodge and Truffle Pigs Bistro. Originally planned on 3 nights but stayed only 2. Dinner was outstanding (at TP Bistro) on our first night but restaurant closed for next 2 days - and no other food nearby. Had 30 min drive each way next night to Lake Louise. Room at lodge was adequate but no service to room while we were there - including no replacement of tea bags so even no morning tea (ouch!) I think we were only people in entire lodge. Owner/chef a delightful person who gave us many good ideas for hiking and a recommendation for dinner when back in Banff. That dinner (at Nourish, a vegan/vegetarian resto) was also outstanding and we got a discount on our bill by mentioning the TP chef's recommendation. So, if going off season, know when TP restaurant is open/closed, bring own supplies - but revel in the Elk right outside your door, spectacular scenery and a very friendly host.

Room Tip: Others have complained about the trains which pass regularly right outside hotel, but since they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
6.8 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
13.5 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
13.5 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Property: Truffle Pigs Lodge
Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing