We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
$500
$463
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
$130
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
$96
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
$257
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
111
88
54
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
88
54
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruffle pigssmall townyoho national parklake louisevery small placeour table was readylight sleepercomfortable roomsexcellent restaurantbeef bourguignonfirst floorcoffee makerbeautiful mountainsrail linebar fridgethree nightsnatural bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 285 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hubby and I were travelling to Field with four friends to do a bit of skiing over at Lake Louise and they all suggested we stay in Field at the Truffle Pigs Lodge. We all shared a room which was excellent and had dinner in the restaurant - Truffle Pigs Bistro - the food was outstanding! Atmosphere was superb too!

Great lodgings in a superb location with excellent food...what more do you need???

Room Tip: The family room, 201 is superb for friends or a group as it has two queen beds and a sofa bed, with a massive kitchen area!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipperClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and Lodge. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back in the future - Chef Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This place was suggested by a great friend of mine to have dinner on my trip to the rocky mountains. Lovely place, decided to stay for the night. Little railroad town just past the BC boarder. The place is clean and cosy place. fine cuisine for dinner, nice piece of meat! beautiful decor.

Room Tip: Take the highest floor, better view, and less traffic in front of your door.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JF_scooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night at the Kicking Horse Lodge. It was the first time in my many years of travelling that I had to call the front desk and ask them to change to another room - which was worse than the first one.

Please note: - the food at the Truffle Pigs Bistro is really good - especially the boar pâté - and the lodge itself as well as the rooms are attractive and clean, with nice touches such as the original water-colours on the walls and the Truffle Pig chocolates on the bed. But both rooms at the lodge that we stayed in were terrible noisy, not from the other guests, but from something in their infrastructure.

The first room had a non-stop, loud dripping noise coming from somewhere. We asked to change rooms and were given one on the other side of the building. Again, the room looked nice, but it creaked and cracked, banged and rattled, wheezed and groaned like it was falling apart - and this went on all night long. It was quite unbelievable. We suspect it had something to do with the building contracting from the cold outside. Perhaps there is a problem with the plumbing or the insulation, or maybe it was the roof.

We did not complain to the front desk staff since - every time we went there - they were busy in the dining room dealing with a crowd of noisy, festive guests. Besides, there's hardly any point in complaining if you don't know what's causing the cacophony. If you go to this lodge in Winter, I don't think your chances of a quiet night's sleep are very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez-Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrufflePigs, Owner at Truffle Pigs Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

We apologized for the problem and have had our heating system adjusted. BY all accounts my staff did try to keep you happy and satisfied. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we pride ourselves on exceeding our customers expectations. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed at the Kicking Horse Lodge on business but my husband came along and we had a fantastic time. The room was clean and comfy and the staff was friendly and professional. Even though it was off season there was a good atmosphere at the pub. The best part of our stay was certainly the food and hanging out with the friendly locals at night. You can't miss the green salt duck cassoulet or the duck torchon poutine part of the winter menu!! Thanks to Sean, Jen and the staff for this memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilieKootenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Field during what turned out to be an unexpected exceptionally cold and snowy October week for some hiking. Needed a place to stay near Emerald Lake, and Lodge there was closed so chose Kicking Horse Lodge and Truffle Pigs Bistro. Originally planned on 3 nights but stayed only 2. Dinner was outstanding (at TP Bistro) on our first night but restaurant closed for next 2 days - and no other food nearby. Had 30 min drive each way next night to Lake Louise. Room at lodge was adequate but no service to room while we were there - including no replacement of tea bags so even no morning tea (ouch!) I think we were only people in entire lodge. Owner/chef a delightful person who gave us many good ideas for hiking and a recommendation for dinner when back in Banff. That dinner (at Nourish, a vegan/vegetarian resto) was also outstanding and we got a discount on our bill by mentioning the TP chef's recommendation. So, if going off season, know when TP restaurant is open/closed, bring own supplies - but revel in the Elk right outside your door, spectacular scenery and a very friendly host.

Room Tip: Others have complained about the trains which pass regularly right outside hotel, but since they did not use train whistles, they did not bother us much at all.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zimnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews