We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General Store?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Siding Cafe

The Siding Cafe
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Field
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“General Store?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Siding General Store and Restaurant is a neat little gem of a place in a town that doesn't have much to it. However, the name is really a stretch for what it is. As a "general store" it has a small collection of a few canned and frozen food items and some notions, but really too few to be considered as a "general store". And as a restaurant, it has a really limited menu. So, don't think you're going to be able to stock up on stuff you might need here, or having lots to choose from.

Having said that, it's real value is having a place to pick up a coffee and home made muffin in the morning, and in having a bite to eat in the afternoon. The home made muffins are really good, but nothing special.

Hours are limited to 8am to 6pm.

I really enjoyed getting up in the morning, walking out into the crisp morning air, walking down to the Siding, and grabbing a coffee and muffin, thinking about what was in store for me in the area parks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    88
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Field burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have been here twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both of our meals were very good. The little general store has beer/wine to take out and grocery supplies. I bought a little hand knitted dress there for a granddaughter. the also have scarves/purses art/jewelry and other items for sale. The food can be organic if you want. They close early, I think around 6 or so, get there early for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Casual Food - just watch the garlic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I had a good casual dinner here on a Friday night. I went with their version of a chicken Quesadilla - with a corn salsa. It was very good. My wife went with one of their rice bowls with shrimp. While tasty, my wife found it a bit heavy on the garlic, so much so that she started picking out garlic slices. By the time she was done, it looked as if they had put a whole head (yes a head, not a glove) of garlic into the rice bowl!
Great raspberry squares and other baked goods.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great tasting food at reasonable prices in a nice atmosphere. After being disappointed by the Truffle Pigs next door this place was great. I would recommend the chick and brie sandwich or the pulled pork sandwich, both were excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob1234560805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Who Would've Thought?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

That a place so quaint and with awesome food would be hidden away here? My sister-in-law led us here, and we were not disappointed. My girls shared a rice bowl and my husband and I shared a panini. All very delicious. We were lucky that we got here during an off time, and the place wasn't too crowded. But I can imagine it can get pretty busy here during peak meal hours. The food, ambience and service here is great all around. Definitely worth a visit when passing through.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Siding Cafe also viewed

 
Field, Yoho National Park
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 
Field, Yoho National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Siding Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing