We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Yoho”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yoho Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoho Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Yoho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for three nights in the one bedroom apartment on the lower level. The location was perfect for exploring Yoho National Park and also Lake Louise. The apartment had everything that we needed for a very pleasant stay. The kitchen was very well equipped, with a large refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and all necessary cooking equipment and dishes that we needed, and more. The kitchen was large and there was a dinette with a small table and chairs. The internet worked great. The sofa and chair in the living room were very comfortable. We slept well in the separate bedroom - queen bed with a very comfortable mattress.
Ron always answered our emails promptly - gave us directions to the guesthouse from the airport, and left the key for us since we arrived late (~ 11:00pm)
We had dinner on two nights at the excellent Truffle Pig Restaurant - around a half block away from the guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was the cheapest accomodation we stayed at while in Canada and, honestly, one of the best. We stayed in the top floor two bedroom flat, perfect for us, spacious, quiet, very clean (everything smelled so good!), with a very well equipped kitchen, cable TV, and wi-fi.
Field is a tiny town which provides easy access not only to Yoho NP but also to the Lake Louise area (at 1/3of the price.....).
And it is served by a surprisingly good restaurant: the Truffle Pig!
Would go back in a beat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed in the lower level apartment and it served our needs well. It has a fully-equipped kitchen and a comfortable bedroom and was clean and well-kept. We didn't watch it, but there is a satellite TV and a wireless network

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in the lower level 1-bedroom suite. Although it's partially below ground, there is a window in every room except the bathroom, so it still seems bright and cheerful. The kitchen has a good selection of pots, pans and other cookware, coffee, sugar, and even some containers for storing leftovers, and a full-size refrigerator and range. The bed was comfortable, shower worked well, and there's plenty of closet space. With wi-fi and a tv, it was like a home away from home. The location is convenient for visits to Emerald Lake, Lake Louise, Golden, and the northern part of Kootenay National Park. Do plan on bringing most of your groceries with you, since there are only two places in Field with a VERY limited selection of items. The only thing we had to buy when we arrived was milk, and there was a pretty big price difference between the two stores (Siding Cafe and Yoho Brothers).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the 1-bedroom suite in the lower level. It was perfect. The suite was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a good shower and the kitchen was stocked with the basics like coffee, tea, salt and pepper, sugar and oil and dish detergent. It offered us the option of cooking all our meals.

It also has wi-fi which was great!

Based on other reviews we took their advice and stopped at a supermarket in Calgary on our way from the airport into Field. The closest supermarket is in Golden about 60 km west of Field which really isn't that far - we went there one afternoon to pick up some extra supplies.

The location is perfect for exploring Yoho National Park and is close to Emerald Lake, Lake O'Hara and only about 15 minutes to Lake Louise. The visitor's centre is right off the highway at the entrance into town which is terrific for getting trail maps etc.

Ron was great to deal with. We highly recommend Yoho Guesthouse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have stayed twice now at Yoho Accommodation. Both times, we booked the 2 connecting units for our group of 4 which allowed bit more privacy than many of the 2 bedrooms/1 bathroom units in the area. The upstairs unit is a bit larger and has comfortable beds (1 queen and 1 single). The kitchen allows to cook a full meal - but like another review said, make sure you bring your food in before arriving in Field as the choice is limited at the general store. The basement unit is a bit smaller, but very adequate for a couple, with a smaller but also complete kitchen. The place is clean and provides some basic stock such as coffee, tea, sugar, salt, pepper, oil, etc. It also has WIFI access which is great.
Huguette & David, Calgary
Ron and Hélène are great hosts. While they live next door, they respect your privacy and you hardly notice that they are there except if you need anything.

This is indeed a wonderful option to some of those expensive hotels, motels in Banff and Lake Louise. Yet Field is 27 km away from Lalke Louise and close to many of the popular tourist sites. Field also offers a great restaurant, the Truffle Pig - so if cooking is not your thing, you have options. I highly recommend Yoho GUesthouse and we will be back there for sure on our next trip to the Rockies. Thanks Ron & Hélène.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fernmonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, in the larger suite, while on our way to Jasper. The suite is clean and comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge and good sized bedroom with a decent bed. A small patio backs off the lounge, no views but a nice relaxing space. The guesthouse is located within walking distance of the few shops, restaurant and many walking trails, since Field is a small place. The owner was friendly and welcoming, and the suite has satellite tv and wireless Internet, also quite a lot of informational books about the area. Considering the price, we thought this much more worthwhile than taking a bed and breakfast, though be warned to stock up on food before you get to Field as there is only a very limited grocery store. Field is a lovely small town close to all the great sights in Yoho and Lake Louise, and staying at this Guesthouse made our stay comfortable and flexible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MippyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
0.0 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
0.0 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
0.0 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoho Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoho Guesthouse

Property: Yoho Guesthouse
Address: Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Yoho Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing