We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge, Not Quite Dog-Friendly”
Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Lake Lodge
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge, Not Quite Dog-Friendly”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

First of all, I love Emerald Lake Lodge—I attended a romantic New Years Eve celebration there a while ago, and was very happy with everything.

This time, my husband and I decided to bring our dog along, as they offer dog-friendly accommodations. The dog-friendly room was very clean, and the accommodations were excellent, as I expected.

Unfortunately, my only gripe has to do with the eating situation. I completely, 100% understand that pets are not allowed in dining rooms—it can be unsanitary, and not everyone shares my affection for our furry friend. I also understand that the lodge rooms do not have kitchens, and they do not want patrons to bring in outside food—their restaurants are delicious, so that's certainly not a problem. However, I don't understand how they can be dog-friendly if a) they do not allow room service, b) do not allow you to leave the dog unattended, and c) do not allow you to eat with your dog in a cordoned off part of the lodge. Now, granted, we were allowed to enjoy a meal in a very specific part of the lobby after some prodding, but I get the impression that's not the norm. I suppose you could tie the dog up outside while you eat inside, but on a rain day, such as the one we had, that doesn't seem like the best solution. I'm still not clear how patrons are supposed to eat at their lovely restaurants if they have brought their pet along?

If you're going to Emerald Lake Lodge as a couple or with your family—it's excellent, and you'll love it. If you're bringing your pet, I'd reconsider.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmm740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. Regarding the pet situation, we do allow pets to be left alone in the room as long as they are kept in a kennel. I apologize that this was not communicated to you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    482
    275
    169
    94
See reviews for
394
1,105
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed in May 2014 when the lake was still frozen and it was as stunning as in summer when the lake has thawed. The room was spacious and immaculate with a very comfortable bed, an open fire place and balcony. There is no wifi or TV in the rooms, which was just what we needed (you can get wifi and watch TV in the lounge in the main building). The complimentary toiletries were luxurious. The hot tub experience was fantastic with very clean and well stocked changing rooms. The food was very good. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to all my friends and family.

However, I do have one gripe; in my opinion, the staff needed a little more training. The lady on the front desk was rather hard around the edges - more efficient than friendly. The lady serving our breakfast was disorganised and forgot our first order and so the food took longer than we expected. Perhaps I'm a little picky, but it detracted from the overall experience for us.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the lower floor, expect to hear floorboard noises from the guests staying above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed only one night which was our biggest mistake. This lodge is amazing and has everything. The rooms were cozy and the wood burning fireplace inside was a treat (and it's impossible to run out of complimentary firewood). The balcony was large and we were right on the lake. We ate at the restaurant for brunch before departing and it was a great meal and reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet and gorgeous getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This has got to be one of the most beautiful places I've ever been! The lake is such a stunning colour and having the view of the lake from our room was amazing! We dined in the hotel restaurant for dinner as the lodge is quite isolated. The food is quite expensive but definitely worth it, even the cocktails were delicious! The service from the waiter was at a level you would find in a Michelin restaurant. I would definitely recommend Emerald Lake Lodge over Lake Louise as a stop over from Banff to Jasper. Also, Truffle Pigs in Field is amazing for breakfast, best breakfast we had in our 3 week stay in Canada!

Room Tip: Request a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our gorgeous mountain scenery. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We just returned from perhaps the loveliest spot on Earth! The Emerald Lake Lodge is situated on a gorgeous lake set deep in the breathtaking mountains of the Yoho Valley in British Columbia. The Rocky Mountains of Canada are indescribably beautiful! The Lodge and it's cottages look like the set of Hansel and Gretel! Completely charming, quaint, well appointed. The views from the cottages are spectacular. The cuisine and service at the Lodge is exemplary....outstanding "Rocky Mountain cuisine" by top Canadian and European chefs. The staff are exceptionally well trained and charming. All together unforgettable!!! Will return again and again!

Room Tip: By all means choose a lake front room! The views are breathtaking and magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We took advantage of this amazing location during the ski season. Our room was small, older furniture, but with a lovely view overlooking the lake. Wood burning fireplace, a little balcony. We really enjoyed the hot tub after a day of XC skiing. The club house (where your hot tub is located) was really clean and well organized. Staff was exceptional, and the scenery absolutely amazing. We happened to be there during -32C, and although the parking lot had plug-ins for your car, there was no electricity going to them. (We can tell because the cord lights up when you have power.) We were told that the power will come on intermittently, but we never saw it happen. Let's just say it was really hard to start the car in those temperatures. Overall, we loved the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I went here to celebrate our 5th Anniversary, and it was awesome. We brought our 19 month old son, and the staff were very accomadating. What made it so relaxing is that there is no cell service, and no wifi in the room, which forces you to relax and enjoy the beauty of the scenery and each other. We have stayed here before, in the summer time, and each season offers much to do.
Some people have commented on the resort being run down. That is what happens when you are in a remote area, with winter condituons such as the canadian rockies. There is no home depot anywhere close for a weekend project. The conditions of the cabins are fine, and are quite stable. There was a ton of snow, and frequently you can hear crashes of snow falling from the rooftops.
The food is very good, and is consistent with their other properties in Banff, and restaurants in Calgary.
The staff were very friendly, and welcoming with any request that we had.
The rooms were hot, and we found the only soulution really to control the heat was use the open windows. I suppose that the wood buring fire we had did not help with a hot room though!
We stayed in Cabin 25, and it offers a close location to the main lodge, and the clubhouse where the hottub is. Also has a very good view of the lake.
For those with children, the 1 bedroom, emerald suite offers more room to relax once the kids have gone to bed.
This place is very special, and always offers a very relaxing, and restful vacation.

Room Tip: Phone to book, and ask what cabins offer good views. Cabin 12 and cabin 25 we have stayed in, and bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainMan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of fireplace in the room! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
14.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,636 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,327 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.6 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
15.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Property: Emerald Lake Lodge
Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing