We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunningly beautiful setting with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Lake Lodge
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Stunningly beautiful setting with exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had the pleasure of celebrating our daughter's wedding here. (Travelling all the way from Australia). What an amazing location- it was surreal , out of a fairy tale with snow clad trees and steep mountains. The cross country skiing across the frozen lake was spectacular. The staff went out of their way to ensure that the wedding went off without a hitch. The food and service was exceptional. The accommodation was great with the fire place set ready to light each night. We would certainly recommend Emerald Lake Lodge for a truly unique and first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    454
    238
    152
    76
See reviews for
361
1,015
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neerim South, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Amazing, stayed here in March for 2 nights and the staff were so friendly, even have some Aussies working here. The main lodge has everything you need and very comfortable. The surrounding mountains are just so beautiful and the frozen lake. Great place for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: The room was great with a balcony overlooking the lake and the fireplace was so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wow! Its off the beaten trail, but what a spot. Its worth the drive and the price. Came here for a friends wedding. The lodge and grounds didn't disappoint. Only stayed for a night, wish we could have stayed longer. If you want a comfy, cozy retreat this is it. From the fireplace in the rooms to the restaurant and the bar staff, this place is top shelf. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge! We are so glad to hear your enjoyed your time at our beautiful property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here last winter at a discounted ($125/night) rate and it was really gorgeous. Real fireplace in the room, cheerful staff and a fantastic location with crosscountry skiing right out your door. I'm not sure I would pay full price to stay here but I understand that that keeping a place so far out in the middle of nowhere running must be expensive! If you want to pay to stay in your own room in an absolutely gorgeous location then this is the place. If you don't care about your own room I highly recommend many of the campgrouds or ACC huts in the backcountry :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was our 2nd trip to the lodge -- first time in winter. It was exactly what I was looking for. A quiet escape into the snowy woods in an "Eddie Bauer" cabin complete with fireplace. Staff were all friendly and helpful, food was good, and the trail around the lake made for a fabulous afternoon of snowshoeing. The Lodge surprised us with the effort they put into their New Years party -- band hired, party favours, ice carvings -- they really tried to make it special for guests staying at the Lodge. Pet friendly rooms available too! We brought our dogs with us and they had a good time too!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and was able to bring your dogs along as well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I spend a wonderful long weekend at the Emerald Lake Lodge, and thoroughly enjoyed the breathtaking landscape!

What did we love?
- The environment with all the snow and ice is just awesome!
- The rooms are very comfortable.
- The fireplace (set ready to light a match) is fantastic, we really enjoyed this at night.
- No phone reception and wireless (so peace and quiet!), but wireless available in the main building to check up on weather, news, etc. during breakfast;
- Snowshoeing and cross-country equipment for rent, and a fantastic trail around the lake. We booked a guided snowshoeing tour in Lake Louise during that same weekend, but enjoyed this trail by ourselves much more (and it was much cheaper!). The ladies at the gift shop / equipment rental were very friendly.

What could be improved?
- Rooms are not very well sound insulated. We were happy we had an upstairs room, but still during the night it whenever fellow cabin inhabitants arrived or left the cabin, it made a lot of noise (door slamming, etc.).
- When checking out during a busy time, it can take a while before the shuttle bus is ready to transport you (especially when there are some big groups with lots of luggage leaving at the same time).

Overall we had a wonderful time, and we plan to come back in summer to enjoy the lake and scenery under completely different circumstances!

Room Tip: When staying in one of the cabins, try to get a room upstairs. As the floors are not very well sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HobbesDeBruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge, I do apologize that you found your room to be noisy; I can assure you we are continually working on upgrading our guest rooms. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nestled in the Canadian Rockies this historic lodge built of hand hewn logs combines rustic with luxury. The comfortable well appointed rooms come with unlimited birch firewood to create the warmth and ambience that can only come with a real wood fire. If spectacular scenery, excellent food and fun winter activities appeal to you this the place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 369Canuck963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
15.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
15.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
21.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Property: Emerald Lake Lodge
Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing