We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Setting Is Not Everything”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Emerald Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emerald Lake Lodge
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Setting Is Not Everything”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

On our Canadian trip, we wanted to see Emerald Lake, and what better place to stay than the Emerald Lake Lodge??? Yes, it is right on the lake, and that was the view we had. Lovely! There is a hot tub, and you can pursue hiking and water activities to your heart's content. But nature goes just so far.

When you arrive, you park your car in a lower lot, and take a shuttle bus up the hill to the Lodge. That's a good and a bad thing. The good thing...the Lodge is very quiet; the bad thing...you are dependent upon the shuttle if you chose to leave the premises.

We stayed in a "suite" that was one of four in a structure. If you like shabby chic, then the decor is for you. I would call it shop worn at best. Then there was the grounded plug in the bathroom that didn't work. To the living room for a mirror and plug to dry my hair! The floor in the bathroom was in disrepair. If you sat on the toilet, you could look under the moulding and see broken pieces of slate. Coffee in the morning would have been a nice touch. The coffee was available, as was tea. Alas, no pot for brewing. Our living room had a fireplace, the real McCoy. There was a caution that if you didn't know what you were doing, contact a staff member who would put you in business. I did not see a fire extinguisher--I guess the staff provides that as well.

We took a walk around the property, which appears to be left to nature. Some beautiful flowers, especially in the hanging baskets. But other places were overgrown, and given over to weeds. Our walk across the bridge was of particular interest. (This is the same bridge the shuttle uses .) There was dry rot every where; actual holes you could look through to see what was underneath. This same disrepair was evident in the lodge structures as well. Roofs in need of replacing, steps, stairs, porches and structures that had seen better days. Also, be careful where you book your accomodation. While we were at the foot of the hill and a short distance from the Lodge, other guests had to navigate steep hills to reach the Lodge. Not easy if you aren't in shape or you would classify yourself as "no spring chicken."

Our food was good, although my morning oatmeal came to the table tepid. Our relations with the staff were pleasant. However, we stayed just one night. If our commitment were longer, I do not know how long it would have taken to correct the issues we brought up to the desk clerk. He indicated that the plug situation was an common issue, but was surprised about the coffee pot.

So...pick nature or pick comfortable accomodations that are well maintained. Staying at the Lodge is expensive...you have to decide how much you will pay, and how much you are willing to endure for a view and quietness.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We would like to assure guests we appreciate all feedback and use this to continually improve upon our offering. We would like to apologize for the issues with the bathroom as this is certainly not the standard we strive to provide. As a note the guest rooms are located in 24 cabin style buildings on the property – and so we would encourage guests to make a request when booking their accommodations to be close to the main lodge if that is a priority or preference.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    454
    238
    152
    76
See reviews for
362
1,017
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ammerbuch
Level Contributor
292 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a Lake View Room with excellent views on the lake and the mountains. The fireplace in the room was already prepared (real fireplace, not gas). Shuttle Service from the remote overnight parking lot to the reception and then to the lodge. Very quiet Setting.

Room Tip: Definitely a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mai3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Emerald Lake has a green hue that is amazing. The water is clear, and very still like a mirror. The reflection of the mountains is exquisite. Rent a canoe for an hour, you will remember it forever. THere are many walks and hikes from easy to arduous. Staff seemed knowledgeable about the area. Gourmet meals, excellent wine list. Dinner in the Lodge included halibut, elk, duck, and a chicken dinner to die for. Service was wonderful. Staff friendly, willing to help, service was better than expected. Cottages a bit rustic but many had a view of the lake. Truly worth visiting, and off season the rates are very good.

Room Tip: Our cabin was upstairs, and the stairs were steep. It was uphill from the Lodge. I think I would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us including Dining on site. In the Mount Burgess Dining Room we offer Rocky Mountain Cuisine which showcases game meat that is raised on our farm just outside of Calgary. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has the most fantastic setting and I think this makes one forgive the shortcomings and the rooms which probably need refurbishing. We arrived on a busy afternoon and had to wait over 30 minutes for a plate of cheese which was good when it arrived. We tried to book the restaurant for dinner but we were told we would have to eat in the bar. this was a disappointment especially as we sat in the bar/lounge that evening we could see that the restaurant was not full. However food in the bar was very good and excellent value. The next night we ate in the restaurant where the cooking was fine dining though expensive. Breakfast was very good though the restaurant manageress was very gloomy. Heated floors in the bathroom were a delicious comfort but the rooms although clean and comfortable are in need of refurbishment. Walking opportunities are excellent and we enjoyed our stay. It took four reports to reception of a broken plug before being mended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, KY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had reservations for three nights at Emerald Lake Lodge and this was the end of our vacation. We arrived to find that you can't park at the facility. You park at a lot a little under a mile away and call for a shuttle. This proved to be a bit annoying during the visit because you always had to wait on it to come and go and it wasn't always right there when you wanted it.

We stayed in Room 242. The front door had a weed/landscaping growing over it and you had to touch it to get into the room. The eaves of of the building were coated in webs and from the outside it looked like the building hadn't been touched in a long time. Knowing we were paying $500 (US) a night, we knew the room would be spectacular. Wrong. We got the top of the stairs again to find more dead bugs hanging from webs and in the light. We opened the door to our room and it smelled of wood smoke (expected since there is a fireplace) and it also looked like it hadn't been occupied or cared for in awhile. The balcony had two chairs that were covered in droppings from the trees and again more webs and bugs everywhere. The room itself had an old, cheap looking wood kitchen table with chairs in the middle. The coffee maker looks twenty years old, the bedside tables mismatched, crack in the bathroom vanity, very old small bathtub with chips in the porcelain and corners of the floor in the bathroom that had not been mopped in a long time. There was a patch of thick dust on the carpet under the bedside table with an Advil (or some other similar-looking pill - I didn't pick it up) from another guest before us. We complained to the front desk and asked to be moved (or to at least see another unit) and she told us she would try to find someone but she was very busy and working the desk alone. We waited about an hour and checked with her again and she said she was trying. About two hours after our arrival a gentleman came to our room and showed us another one. He was very nice and the room was smaller than ours and far out so we decided to stay in our original room after all.

We ate at the lounge, not the main restaurant, and the food was nice. The service was lukewarm the first night and good the second. The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant was very good.

Hot tub was very nice but the second night we went to get in after hiking all day and it was closed. We called the front desk and were told they had to clean it and it wasn't up to temperature yet. She said they hoped to have it ready by midnight, but the closing time is 11 pm. We were leaving the next day so that didn't help us.

They have a 72-hour cancellation policy so we immediately cancelled out last night and headed back to Banff on our third night we were scheduled to be there.

The lake is very pretty and the room from our room was great. The area is a bit secluded. Natural Bridge down the road is a nice attraction. Truffle Pigs in Field is a nice restaurant.

Did not feel warmth from the staff or interest that we were there or not. Not what we expected at all. We were really looking forward to our last days at Emerald Lake. If we return to the area, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I took my girfriend for dinner, only complaint was my plate had a small pivot point on it so when i went to cut my elk strip loin (best i ever had) it spun slightly. They decorated the dessert for me when i asked and it impressed me and my gf. would recommend this place to anyone! and everyone. also the view of the lake was incredible. I am also now broke... but it was well worth it!... will be returning once i hit it big in the stock market....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_cheese759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a lovely night we spent in our cabin overlooking the lake at these premises. Loads of wood (naturally) but very comfortable, rustic room with balcony. We had a good meal and afterwards people gathered around a fire pit toasting s'mores by the light of the fire. Extremely relaxing premises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Emerald Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Emerald Lake Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and the private balcony, which all rooms on site do have. We are also pleased you were able to enjoy s’mores on the outdoor fire pit on site that overlooks the lake. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Emerald Lake Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
15.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
14.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
15.4 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
21.2 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Lake Lodge

Property: Emerald Lake Lodge
Address: Emerald Lake Road | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emerald Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Lake Hotel Field
Emerald Lake Lodge Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing