We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emerald Lake Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
$500
$463
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
$130
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
$96
$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)
$257
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,121)
Filter reviews
2,121 results
Traveler rating
894
564
330
211
122
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
894
564
330
211
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubshuttle busemerald lakebeautiful locationwinter wonderlandcar parkshuttle serviceget awayday tripperscilantro restaurantcross country skiingwood burningguest parkingparking lotmain restaurantdining roomcanadian rockies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,920 - 1,925 of 2,121 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Quiet, no radio, no tv... a fire place, a view of the lake, a hot tub. And especially, the food and wine!! (always at the restaurant at the main lodge, not the bistro type at the entrance). We had a wonderful experience here on our honeymoon, and after reading reviews of poor service had to refute. Service was lovely, everyone was nice, helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: May 2006
Thank xpatgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Unfortunately I have to agree with the previous reviewers that the quality of Emerald Lake Lodge has definitely slipped in the last few years. We stayed there four years ago and had an absolutely "magical" experience. This past December, 2007 we returned expecting the same and were extremely disappointed. The rooms have definitely not been kept up to the standard of a 4 or 5 star resort. We asked to switch out of the first room that we were given due to: burn marks on the bedside table, holes poked into the heat register, terribly worn out carpet, and unsightly water stains in the roof above the shower due to leakage from above. The second room we were given was the handicapped suite. It was moderately better however the mismatched bedside tables (one glass topped, one wooden) and other decorating mishaps did little to impress us. We have a feeling that the housekeeping is minimal and that nobody is checking to make sure cleanliness is kept up.

The food in the restaurant is very pricey and the menu hadn't changed in the four years we had been there. The food in the restaurant is very tasty although I agree that more fish and vegetarian options should be provided. The food in the bar is a waste of time- strange options that don't even taste good.

The small shop on the lake is quaint and we had a great time renting snowshoes and going all around the lake with them. Overall, the view and location can't be beat, however, the hotel is in need of major renovations if they hope to keep their regular clients coming back.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank edmonton_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Stayed at the lodge for just one night with the girlfriend, right before new year's eve.

Pros: secluded, lots and lots of fluffy snow, ski/snowshoe rental right beside the lodge, very scenic, excellent hottub located in the trees, fireplace in-room

Cons: stayed in a standard room with no queen but two doubles of average comfort, no view, very creaky hot water heater kept us awake half the night, fireplace wood all wet so took an hour to get one going (no TV in room so you need something to do!)

all in all a nice place. If I go back, I'd try the summertime as again the location is pristine, however I might try an upgraded room/lodge that has a view, a larger bed, and hopefully quieter heaters.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We stayed three nights at Emerald Lake during our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it. Our room was in one of the duplexes, 2nd floor, overlooking the lake. The accommodations are rustic yet seemed luxurious at the same time. We spent hours out on our balcony just staring at the lake, sipping wine and having pate, cheese and crackers purchased at the Truffle Pigs store in Field. We knew we would be taking the shuttle bus to the lodge and leaving our car behind. No problems - the shuttle came fairly quickly every time. We didn't have any problems with it, other than tourists holding us up at the bridge that goes over to the property (it's a one lane bridge that they like to stand on to take pictures). It was nice not to have cars parked everywhere and making noise. This place is peaceful... We had a fire every night in our fireplace, and the firewood was replenished and ashes swept out daily. It was cozy, comfy, and very romantic. We took an early morning hike around the lake and took some amazing pictures. We took a canoe ride one afternoon, but my husband was convinced we were going to flip over and freeze to death. It is a glacier fed lake, so I suppose he had a valid point.... We didn't eat in the Lodge, just had a few beers on the deck. The room cost us a small fortune so we ate quite a few meals out of our cooler, and also ate at the Truffle Pigs Cafe in Field which was good fun. Emerald Lake is enchanting, and so was the town of Field. We hung out there after dinner watching the trains come into the train yard. We also saw a bear feeding in a clearing near the turnoff to the Lodge from Field! Our parents have decided to take a similar trip based on our experience and plan to stay at Emerald Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank girlygirl8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Yes, you still get what you pay for...this is my second stay at the lodge and it was, without hesitation, another exceptional experience. This time the snow has arrived and the views even more spectacular. The service - still youthful and friendly, the food - still satisfiying to say the least, great coffee. The rather large outdoor hottub and indoor sauna is a must. And the cross country skiing, an experience that most everyone should do at least once - simply awesome for lack of a better word. Once again, to confirm, this exquisite place with the view is on my Top 25 Places-To-Go-Before-You-Go list.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank energywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews