We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delighted! Truly the Highlight of our Trip”
other travelers have booked this property
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Cabin in Winter Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Primary view of Cabin - late Summer evening
Cabin in Winter
Living Room
Dining, Kitchen & Entrance
Kitchen
Loft 2
Bathroom
Loft Bedroom - queen Bed
Loft Bedroom # 2
Loft Bedroom # 3
Loft view over the living room
Front Garden and Meadow Flowers
Front Deck, side garden & setting
Entrance (autumn)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Field, Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RollingSt...
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delighted! Truly the Highlight of our Trip”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Having read all the top-rated reviews, our expectations were high for Burgess Lookout Guest Cabin. But they were exceeded in every way. This is what other vacation rentals should aspire to! We had such a good time here, and the proximity to outdoor destinations (hikes and sights) is enhanced by such perfect accommodations.

For starters, my wife and I were impressed by the cleanliness: this place is spotless! Being almost-new construction might make that easier: beautiful woodwork and expert trim, no cracks or crevasses, and the cabin is amazingly air tight. During our stay we continually appreciated the high quality of furnishings, equipment, and cookware. Everything we could possibly want is here, and it all just works! Thanks for the loan of bear spray and headlamps. The gas-fired stove was especially delightful on chilly mornings... just flip a switch. Also loved the heated bathroom floor!

The cabin's interior layout is quite functional and for two guests it feels extremely spacious. Somehow the interior seems much bigger than looks possible from the outside. The bed is ultra comfortable, and we appreciated having a writing desk. The antiques and decorations are adorable, and there are lights and lamps everywhere you could wish. Obviously a lot of thought went into the design and decor. Attention to detail is everywhere, from photos and wall art down to the quaint hand-painted signs inside and out (plus extensive information provided for guests). Outdoors, the large roof overhangs are welcome shelter for grilling in a drizzle or putting on boots.

One thing I had not fully appreciated when comparing accommodations in Field: Burgess Lookout Guest Cabin has the ideal location. It's at the quiet top of the town, close to a cascading creek and the gorgeous moss-floored forest (we explored a trail up the creek). The railroad seems distant from here: we barely noticed the train noise, but reviews from other rentals suggest they do run frequently during the night. Yet Field is small enough that walking to the restaurants is quick and easy. While the cabin is not secluded, the location is very quiet and there are almost no neighbors.

Obviously Field works well as a base for all the Yoho destinations, especially Emerald Lake and the Lake O’Hara access. But we also found Field to be convenient to the Lake Louise area and the southern portions of the Icefields Parkway. Getting to Moraine Lake or Bow Summit for sunrise was fine (drive doesn’t seem long).

I could go on and on, but in summary: we love this cabin! I look forward to returning – hopefully for a long stay!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarryTrav...
Millersville, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely place with excellent supplies. Quiet and comfortable. Close to some excellent hikes in Yoho. Hope to return.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechnutC...
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 16, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful, cozy and well-appointed cottage. On arrival it was spotlessly clean and we found everything we needed for our stay. A perfect pied-a-terre to explore the wonders of Yoho National Park, centrally located to all the attractions. Our only regret was that our stay was too short!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: No stores nearby so need to plan ahead for groceries, but we were advised so not an issue for us
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ammenities inside the cabin and location
Liked least: lack of local grocery isnt great but not terriblke
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skiergirl...
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So glad to be back”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I love staying at the Burgess Lookout Guest Cabin! It truly is our home away from home, and I look forward to our annual trip there all year! The cabin is so beautifully decorated and is extremely well equipped. When we walk in the door, John has left the radio on with classical music, and my cares and worries fade away in an instant! Cooking in the kitchen area is such a pleasure, and the view out the window is so pretty! John has thought of every detail, from the heated bathroom floor to extra blankets and bathrobes. We have already booked for February 2016, and we're counting the days until our return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marynj
ringwood, nj
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“home away from home”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I liked the place very much. Everything you could possibly want was in this place. Super comfortable. The only thing is from the picture I got the impression it was very secluded but that is not the case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very orderly and immaculate
Liked least: bathroom not on same floor as bedroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller...
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No detail is overlooked; perfect and very private cabin”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the tiny perfect cabin for two nights. We would have liked to stay longer but our schedule this trip would not permit it. There is no detail that John has overlooked. If I could not find something immediately, I knew it was a matter of seconds before I would find detergent, hand lotion, obscure kitchen items, heated bathroom floor, BBQ utensils, flashlight, bear spray. The complete kitchen and very quiet washer and dryer were a treat after two weeks on the road. The cabin is tastefully decorated and very very quiet. We will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing