We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, friendly and sociable place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote's Den Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, friendly and sociable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We chose the Coyote's Den Guesthouse from reading Trip Advisor and it lived up to the reviews. Elaine is a fabulous host as she made us, and all her other guests, feel very welcome. A very relaxing and sociable log cabin home. Elaine is very knowledgable about local hikes and the surrounding national parks - she gave us invaluable advice which improved our holiday. All guests are welcome cook in her kitchen, where breakfast was also served, so you need to be sociable while staying here. We met some lovely people - fellow guests and Elaine's friends and neighbours, We had a good-size double room (for 3 nights) with spectacular views across the valley. All rooms share a common bathroom but that was fine with us. We would love to return to Field someday and stay with Elaine again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had booked for two nights at the Coyote’s Den with my husband in June 2013 but we ended up staying three nights as we couldn’t get to Canmore because of the floods. I must say that if you are going to get stuck anywhere, Field (and the Coyote’s Den) is not a bad place to be.

The B&B has three bedrooms, access to the kitchen and living room and a shared bathroom; the owner lives downstairs and there is a very homely feel. Breakfasts were good – cereal, fruit, croissants etc.

We had the king size room which was very cosy and nicely decorated and had views across Field.

Field is a really good option for visiting Banff and Yoho national Parks, and Lake Louise as it’s much cheaper and has loads more character than Lake Louise village.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Coyote's Den is a very nice B&B in a very small and quiet village named Field. It is the excellent starting point for trips to Lake Louise, Moraine Lake, the spiral tunnels, the Emerald Lake and the Takkakaw falls. Elaine is a very friendly host and make you feel at home. The breakfast is very good and consist of fresh products, a large room for guests is available, the only downside is that the 3 guests rooms have to share one bathroom, but it was easy to agree who uses the bathroom when.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 19travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July whilst visiting Yoho National Park.
The owner Elaine is very friendly and welcoming. Really relaxed atmosphere and guests are able to sit around and chat. Good breakfast. We had the room with the king sized bed and it was very comfortable. The bathroom is shared between three rooms. This was ok. An additional separate toilet would be a really good idea.
Elaine provided lots of information on walks for different levels and even lend us a map.
Definitley reccommend a stay here in Field, a quiet little town and Yoho is the best!

Room Tip: King Size Bed room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The owner of this bed and breakfast was warm and welcoming, and does a lovely breakfast. The room was clean, but quite cramped given the amount of stuff we had with us. The bathroom was shared - again very clean and nice decor as well. Good local restaurant and a lovely location. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggxdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved this bed and breakfast. Very knowledgable host. Knows the park very well and gave us great recommendations for hiking. Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was also outstanding. Really nice to have such a great place to stay away from the crowds at Lake Louise but still close enough to go during the day if we wanted although exploring Yoho was reason enough to stay nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just returned after spending 2 nights with Elaine at Coyote's Den. We felt welcomed and very much at home from the moment we arrived. Elaine creates varied and delicous home cooked breakfasts that are to die for!! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom that was shared was never a problem, in fact we enjoyed long baths in a wonderful soaker tub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.5 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
12.1 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.9 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
2.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyote's Den Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyote's Den Guesthouse

Property: Coyote's Den Guesthouse
Address: 213 2nd Avenue | Box 136, Field,, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing