We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife and Spectacular Scenery!!!”

Muncho Lake Provincial Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Fort Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wildlife and Spectacular Scenery!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful places on the planet. We drive the Alcan twice a year and the trip through this park is always the highlight of our trip. From seeing stone sheep to scenic vistas this is one beautiful spot. The emerald waters of Muncho Lake is with mountains rising on all sides is the highlight of the park and there is a wonderful campsite right off the Alaskan Highway. If there has to be a downside it is the traffic travelling the highway along the lake shore but it doesn't seem to bother any of the wildlife.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mike y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

No matter how many times we travel the road in Muncho Lake Provincial Park, I never get tired of it. It is "Just Awesome".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Devotedyukoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Scenery on the Alaska Highway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We try to spend at least a week every June at Muncho Lake. The fishing in June is great and the weather is usually nice as well. We camp at Muncho Lake Lodge and RV Park. Owned and operated by Brian McDonald and Joanne Middleton, They have one of the nicest spots on the lake. They have full hookups, showers and reasonable rates. There is no lodge yet. The wildlife viewing is unbelievable, we have seen Grizzly and Black Bear, Moose, Caribou, Sheep and Eagles. A perfect spot to spend some lazy summer days, or to hike and explore. Mineral licks and the Liard Hot Springs are in close proximity . Words cannot do it justice, just go there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days here at GG services camping and hiking in the region and don't regret it the views are beautiful the hikes spectacular and the owner super friendly! We would rather recommend GG as the place to stop an stay as it is far cheaper than the norther Rockies lodge and a good base to explore the beautiful park! :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We camped over night at the lake. It was beautiful, clean, quiet, and serene. It didn't cost much to camp (I no services) but they had nice camping pads with firepits and tables. For a small fee you could purchase firewood. There are lots of hiking trails throughout the park, there's lots of wildlife to see, and the scenery is amazing. There is lots of fishing in the area as well. Definitely recommend stopping here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muncho Lake Provincial Park also viewed

Queen Charlotte City, Graham Island
 

Been to Muncho Lake Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing