We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly managed, poor upkeeping, poor service...poor me” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Nelson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
A TripAdvisor Member
“Poorly managed, poor upkeeping, poor service...poor me”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2004

Upon relocating from Vancouver to Fort Nelson, my girlfriend and I found ourselves having to live in The Fort Nelson Motor Inn for a couple of months (due to the rental housing shortage here.) I'm sure there is not enough room here to describe all that is very wrong with this hotel. We only stayed as long as we did because my company paid for the stay. We were woken up constantly by drunken idiots in the halls, people fighting, fire alarms getting pulled by drunken idiots, people just walking in off the street to do drugs in the hallway outside our room. My girlfriend was harassed verbally a couple of times as she went to use the hotels less-than-deluxe laundry facilities by some of the high-class (note my sarcasm) clientele.Over two months we had to call the police 3 times. The police indicated that they were not at all surprised that they had to show up at the hotel. The swimming pool was unusable due to the fact that the "water" resembled the Ganges river, after they finally drained it it began to accumulate garbage. We complained to management a couple of times and recieved just a bunch of irritated lip-service and a shrug of the shoulders. If we didn't like it we could find another place to stay. The restaurant was only sporadically open and during the last few weeks of our stay was just "closed until further notice". Peeling paint, poorly maintained rooms, broken heaters, mirrors falling off the wall, leaking water and poor security...I could go on and on. I have stayed in many hotels accross BC and Alberta and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.
To call this place a "crackhouse" isn't far from the truth, only stay here as an alternative to sleeping in a dumspster or under a store awning. If it wasn't -20 we might have even availed ourselves of the awning or garbage can...yes it's that bad. If you like drugs, drunkeness and fighting I highly recommend The Fort Nelson Motor Inn.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Desk Manager at Fort Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2004
We remember you to. We remember your everyday complaining about everything including your accusation of theft from your room. We remember you, your girlfriend and the two children. We remember your refusal to move to a suite at no charge and we remember your inability to settle your complete account upon exiting. We remember our cleaning staff reporting after you left finding what would appear to be drug paraphernalia left in the room where children could have been.
We would ask you to please choose another lodging in the beautiful community of Fort Nelson should you return. By the way the pool is open and as usual is beautiful after we did our yearly paint job.
By the way it's called the Fort Nelson Motor Hotel. We were wondering if you are sure of exactly where you stayed?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
6
14
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
#4 of 10 in Fort Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Inn & Suites
Woodlands Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Fort Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites Fort Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Inn and Suites
Sunrise Inn and Suites
#6 of 10 in Fort Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
#3 of 10 in Fort Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Bell Inn
Blue Bell Inn
#9 of 10 in Fort Nelson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Nelson Hotel

Property: Fort Nelson Hotel
Address: 5100 - 50th Avenue, North, Fort Nelson, British Columbia V0C 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Fort Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated hotel Indoor pool Sauna Free Wifi access Free shuttle service to and from the airport Complimentary hot breakfast buffet from 6am - 9am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Fort Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing