We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Layout”
Review of Fort Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Nelson Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed here during the off season so I thought I had a pretty good stay. It was quiet and the room was equipped with refrigerator and a microwave. The room had a lot of space, bed was comfortable and bathroom clean although I thought that the bathtub could be deeper.

I studied the layout and it appears that all the rooms had their back to the interior court where there is a swimming pool (closed in April) and a Hawaii Tiki place (also closed). People on the first floor have a lanai door that can be opened up to the court while rooms on the second floor got a lanai that overlook it. Of course, interesting thing is, when the Tiki Room and the swimming pool open up, how much noise do the guest have to deal with???

The hotel is definitely old but it seem to be well kept. Floors are creaky and it got the 1970s feel to it. The hotel is also a home to Fort Nelson Cafe where the food is pretty decent and service quite good. While there are other fancy hotels and motels out there, I found staying here to be quite pleasant....at least in the month of April before the rush north....or rush South begin.

Room Tip: I would read more for the time period you might be staying. I stayed there during the"quiet pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Fort Nelson hotel is emblazoned on the outside with signs that claim a pool, sauna, and other amenities starting at $99. Once inside, you find out that new management has raised this to $109.99 and has not removed the sign although prices have been higher since "last summer" (I am here in March of the following year). The very lackadaisical staff don't bother to tell you while checking in that neither the pool nor sauna are working, and just shrug and smirk when asked about it. There is nothing special about this place, and the price is too high for what one gets. If coming through Fort Nelson, keep driving.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsetska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We did not stay here but were told by locals that it was the best place in town for food, and it was!! We will always eat there when traveling the Alcan, and the restrooms were spotless!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank BrendaBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I have eaten in this hotel numerous times and it is one of the better places to eat in Fort Nelson (although I have tried few other places). So I figured it was about time to stay there, especially so I could check out the very varied reviews on this site. A major reason was to chill in the room and read emails that would have accumulated in four days away from internet. Having used the web service in the restaurant I figured this would be good. However, the web service in the rooms was not working, so I ended up spending three hours in the lobby! When I got there and needed to shave (again, after four days away from civilization) there was no hot water. I had figured I might take advantage of the pool and sauna but the area was never lit up in the evening. So there were a few things I thought I would be getting that I did not really get (the hot water did return with a vengeance and was fine later in the evening). The hotel has seen better days, with an access door that behaved strangely due to the warped floor. Room clean enough and bathroom recently redone. But if one views the fact that this has a Tiki theme and how old that is, one sees that the place is getting a bit past its prime. Anyway, I can't agree with the rave review and I think the really bad one is not what the average tourist will experience. So I rate this as OK to stay in, but look for my other Fort Nelson review for a better deal.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Craxiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2006

The hotel has two personalities, the front part is a long term stay place for low budget folks. But the back is a very nice hotel, with pool, large well appointed rooms.

Walking in the front door will give you pause to consider, complete with a bar and exotic dancers. But continue through and you are rewarded with a first class hotel at very reasonable prices.

Have stayed here several times and will continue to bring my tour customers here.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrCycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Nelson, BC
114
Reviewed March 28, 2004

Upon relocating from Vancouver to Fort Nelson, my girlfriend and I found ourselves having to live in The Fort Nelson Motor Inn for a couple of months (due to the rental housing shortage here.) I'm sure there is not enough room here to describe all that is very wrong with this hotel. We only stayed as long as we did because my company paid for the stay. We were woken up constantly by drunken idiots in the halls, people fighting, fire alarms getting pulled by drunken idiots, people just walking in off the street to do drugs in the hallway outside our room. My girlfriend was harassed verbally a couple of times as she went to use the hotels less-than-deluxe laundry facilities by some of the high-class (note my sarcasm) clientele.Over two months we had to call the police 3 times. The police indicated that they were not at all surprised that they had to show up at the hotel. The swimming pool was unusable due to the fact that the "water" resembled the Ganges river, after they finally drained it it began to accumulate garbage. We complained to management a couple of times and recieved just a bunch of irritated lip-service and a shrug of the shoulders. If we didn't like it we could find another place to stay. The restaurant was only sporadically open and during the last few weeks of our stay was just "closed until further notice". Peeling paint, poorly maintained rooms, broken heaters, mirrors falling off the wall, leaking water and poor security...I could go on and on. I have stayed in many hotels accross BC and Alberta and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.
To call this place a "crackhouse" isn't far from the truth, only stay here as an alternative to sleeping in a dumspster or under a store awning. If it wasn't -20 we might have even availed ourselves of the awning or garbage can...yes it's that bad. If you like drugs, drunkeness and fighting I highly recommend The Fort Nelson Motor Inn.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 8, 2004

We remember you to. We remember your everyday complaining about everything including your accusation of theft from your room. We remember you, your girlfriend and the two children. We remember your refusal to move to a suite at no charge and we remember your inability to settle your complete account upon exiting. We remember our cleaning staff reporting after you left finding what would appear to be drug paraphernalia left in the room where children could have been.
We would ask you to please choose another lodging in the beautiful community of Fort Nelson should you return. By the way the pool is open and as usual is beautiful after we did our yearly paint job.
By the way it's called the Fort Nelson Motor Hotel. We were wondering if you are sure of exactly where you stayed?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Nelson hotels
1.1 mi away
Woodlands Inn & Suites
Woodlands Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Fort Nelson
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
Ramada Limited Fort Nelson
#6 of 10 in Fort Nelson
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites Fort Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
Super 8 Fort Nelson BC
#2 of 10 in Fort Nelson
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 - Fort Nelson
Motel 6 - Fort Nelson
#5 of 10 in Fort Nelson
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kacee's Northern Suites
Kacee's Northern Suites
#8 of 10 in Fort Nelson
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Nelson Hotel

Address: 5100 50th Avenue North, Fort Nelson, British Columbia V0C 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Fort Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Fort Nelson
Price Range: $68 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated hotel Indoor pool Sauna Free Wifi access Free shuttle service to and from the airport Complimentary hot breakfast buffet from 6am - 9am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fort Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing