We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great service.”
Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriage House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Met by a very accommodating host. We arrived early but were allowed to leave our bags and could get tea or coffee. Lots of information given about the local area and where to eat. The room was large, beautifully decorated and clean. The staff were very helpful because we couldn't get get the DVD player to work but we got it going with help from the host and we could do our washing (as we were on a long trip ) for free For.breakfast there was a choice of cereals,juice, toast or cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outraged2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 175 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perhaps not quite the “country inn” I imagined, this lovingly decorated large country-style home is located on the just on the edge of the town. I believe there were about 11 rooms. Ours was smallish with the double bed barely squeezing into the room. There was a small desk, a small bedside table and window air conditioner. The bathroom was also quite small, in fact, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen a smaller shower stall. There was a DVD player but we weren't able to get it to work. That being said, our room was incredibly clean, tastefully decorated and the linen & towels were of excellent quality. There was a small sitting room in the common area which could have been used, but it is close to other rooms. As others mentioned, we weren’t offered a choice for breakfast but noticed other guests enjoying a variety of eggs, omelets and French toast. Regardless, no complaints, our home-style breakfast was delicious and quite filling and we enjoyed the conversation with other guests at our table. The host was pleasant, not overly warm, more business like.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B and B. Elizabeth helpful with selection of a restaurant for dinner. Gibsons provided excellent fish and chips along with muscles. We were confused with breakfast as we were just served an omelet and brown toast but other guests appeared to have a choice. Make sure if you stay here to clarify how the breastfast selection works. Although what we had was good, we would have selected a different choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent one night at this bed breakfast. Booked my room via website and chose the room I wanted by looking at the pictures on the website. My room was exactly like the picture and even better. The ac in our room worked fine and was able to open the window. Very clean. For breakfast, we were served French toast and bacon which was very good. There was little envelopes of instant oatmeal if we wanted that instead. Elizabeth the lady who received us is a quiet lady. But she showed us were we can make tea and coffee. There was nice cookies also. I understand that some people might feel uncomfortable by her greeting, but it is not a big deal. We were just happy to go to our nice room and relax. I would stay there again! Before I forget, we used the washer and dryer to make a load of laundry just be aware that the washer and dryer seems to take forever. But it was nice to have the option to use them.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gway72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here with another couple. The building is nice. The lady who owns this B&B greeted us somewhat brusquely and asked for payment in advance. Our room was smallish and had an air conditioner that sat on the floor and had a pipe vent out the window. It was very noisy but our only alternative, since the window could not be opened, was to bake. In the morning we were served an egg dish and toast which was fine for us but our friends cannot eat wheat and one of them dislikes eggs. There was no alternative offered, the owner had not even asked about food issues and was not available after our immediate arrival to make requests of.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived late in the evening, and planned to leave before breakfast time the next morning. Elizabeth took the time to discuss our plans with us, showed us where the instant oatmeal was, and told us that she would defrost some fresh fruit for us and have it ready. When we went downstairs the next morning, we were delighted to find a simmering crockpot of oatmeal already prepared, the fresh fruit waiting for us, and a lovely note.

The room was perfect: clean, comfortable, all necessary amenities (including flatscreen TV, jet tub, good WIFI, etc.).

We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed twice at the Carriage House Inn, one week apart, trying the Burnett and Soiree rooms on the first level, right next to the common areas. While rather small, the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The common areas are very nice; we appreciated the free teas and coffees (in large mugs!) as well as the delicious baking in the evening. The breakfasts were very nice.

Our only negative comment is regarding the use of the common areas. On our return trip, we were awakened at night by several guests returning noisily to the home at 1AM. They then sat down in the common area (directly outside several of the rooms) and proceeded to chat loudly about their day. After about ten minutes of this I went out there (wearing the housecoat thankfully provided in the room) and pointed out that guests were sleeping right next to that area. Fortunately the revelers did go quietly to their rooms at this point. I would recommend that the owner institute a policy restricting the use of the common area during the hours of 11PM to 6AM, posting a notice and reminding guests of this when they check in. Surely the rights of some guests to sleep trump the rights of other guests to party.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Address: 181 Grenfell Hts, Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland and Labrador A2A 2J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Grand Falls Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Falls Windsor
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carriage House Inn is a boutique bed and breakfast offering warmth, comfort, and pleasant memories. Whether it's a bed & breakfast atmosphere or the privacy of a country inn you're looking for, you will find it at the Carriage House Inn. Close to downtown and shopping. Easy to find, exit 20 and turn right on Grenfell Heights. Comfortable beds, luxurious linens, and a hearty breakfast awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Grand Falls Windsor
Carriage House Inn Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing