We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very beautiful

We went to the center early evening so did not get the full experience. What we saw was very... read more

Reviewed September 4, 2018
brockville12
,
Brockville, Canada
Surprisingly fun

Seeing salmon jump was a highlight of my trip. Cool inside view as well. Neat look at how salmon... read more

Reviewed August 20, 2018
Amy T
,
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
71
34
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
34
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon fish ladder viewing area video presentation beautiful spot on site restaurant bus tour holding area gift shop the wait staff short visit central newfoundland lots of parking viewing window exploits upstream falls
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We went to the center early evening so did not get the full experience. What we saw was very beautiful. The Salmon ladder was very interesting. There is a cost to get in.

Thank brockville12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Seeing salmon jump was a highlight of my trip. Cool inside view as well. Neat look at how salmon travel up stream and lots of information on their preservation.

Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thanks for your visit and for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

On a bus tour when we stopped here. Learned about the migration of the salmon from the water and up the ladders. Also inside we were able to see them moving through the water towards the ladders outside.

Thank lcb5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thanks for your visit and for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

A very interesting story of how the river has been adapted to accommodate the migration of the Atlantic Salmon and thereby increased the stock considerably. The Interpretative Centre although small was adequate and included a window on to the river to see the fish at close quarters. Outside convenient viewing platforms enabled good views of the fish in the river and the dramatic engineering works that have facilitated this environmental initiative.

Thank Lancastrians16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thanks for your visit and for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

Under a major dam and hydro-electric plant, the salmon are helped to migrate upstream by a series of "ladders". Plenty of salmon trying and often succeeding to jump the ladders to move upstream to spawn. A fascinating look at this process that is key to maintaining the Atlantic salmon.

2  Thank wilson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thanks for your visit and for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

We stopped here on our way through Grand Falls. From the icket booth, you go down several flights of stairs to a driveway that leads down to the salmon viewing area and further down to a great view of the river.
When we were there there were not a lot of salmon to see (3 in total), it was muggy and the bugs were out.
The Centre is located about a 1/2 mile down a dirt road, note you cross two one lane bridges getting to it.
We thought is was an OK experience

Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thanks for your visit...and your kind words!!
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

The Salmonid Interpretation Center has a tourist shop, a place where you can see salmon in their natural habitat and a restaurant and it is all only about two kilometers into the woods, by a paved road, from GF-W. I go there for the scenery and the restaurant. You can see the Exploits River from your table inside or you can take your meal outside the restaurant on the deck. The food is excellent, the prices are good and the staff is friendly and efficient. The panoramic view of the Exploits River and that relaxed feeling of being out in nature makes it worth the trip for breakfast, lunch or supper.

1  Thank captdevine50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

THanks so much for your kind words, and your visits. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

My husband and I visited when we made a stopover in Grand Falls Windsor. The Centre was very interesting and informative. I would suggest that you watch the video first before touring the outside. The staff were professional and knowledgeable. We would have eaten at the restaurant, but waited too long at an outside table for someone from the wait staff to take our order. When we went back into the restaurant,the person who told us she would be out to take our order was instead taking orders from a large group who came in after us! Maybe she doesn’t have a good memory and forgot we were outside?

Thank Wanderer55535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thanks for your visit, and your review.
Unfortunately we do get very busy at the restaurant at peak times and we're very sorry your wait was long. Our staff work to serve all our tables (deck included) in a timely fashion and apologize for your wait on the day of your visit.
Looking forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

The signage from the highway is poor . We could not find the Fishway only seeing a large sign for a museum.

1  Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

100 Taylor Drive (off Scott Avenue)
There is highway signage along the TCH at both entrances to Grand Falls-Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Happened to be here in June before the centre opened but enjoyed the view and took some lovely pictures of the falls and river - breathtaking. Also had a great conversation with some warm and friendly locals (that how they roll in Newfoundland!) - if you are in Grand Falls - you need to make the effort to come here.

1  Thank Canmoretravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy Q E, General Manager at Salmonid Interpretation Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Thanks for your review and alll the nice words. Looking firward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews